Home icon. The Works of Robert Graves. Exhibition: 1 April to 17 June 2011.

Cabinet 15: Translations

The Twelve Caesars.

Suetonius, The Twelve Caesars. Harmondsworth, England: Penguin, 1957.

The translation itch took hold. In 1954, Graves embarked on two translations for Penguin: Lucan’s Pharsalia (1956) and Suetonius’s Lives of the Twelve Caesars (1957). And then there followed Manuel de Jesús Galván’s The Cross and the Sword (1954), Pedro Antonio de Alarcon’s The Infant with the Globe (1955), George Sand’s Winter in Majorca (1956), Homer’s Iliad as The Anger of Achilles (1959), the Comedies of Terence (1962), and the Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam (1967).

Prior to completing Pharsalia, he also compiled The Greek Myths, which met with critical acclaim when it appeared in May 1955.

During the process of writing, there were occasional distractions. He attended bull-fights and greyhound racing, and had to face the realities of domestic life by having to organise schooling for his children in nearby Palma.

On display are three translations and a third impression of the very successful Penguin edition of The Greek Myths.

The Cross and the Sword.

Manuel de Jesús Galván, The Cross and the Sword. London: Gollancz, 1956.

Winter in Majorca.

George Sand, Winter in Majorca. Mallorca: Valldemosa Edition, 1956.

The Greek Myths.

Robert Graves, The Greek Myths. Harmonds-worth, England: Penguin, 1957.