Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Mō Tātou : About Us


Office of Māori Development

While all staff are involved in the implementation of the University's Māori Strategic Framework, ultimate responsibility for this resides with the Office of Māori Development and with the University's senior management team.

The University established the Office of Māori Development (OMD) following Council’s endorsement of its Māori Strategic Framework (MSF) in 2007 (see also information on the MSF's developmental history). The 2005 Treaty of Waitangi Stocktake clearly identified that while a large and varied range of activity was occurring in the area of Māori development, it lacked a cohesive ‘map’ as well as clear, centralised leadership. The development and implementation of the MSF therefore initiated an institutional change for the University, led from the Vice-Chancellor’s Office. It ‘normalised’ Māori development at the University, and has since become a natural part of life across all of the University’s four campuses.

The main role of the OMD is to provide leadership to both academic and service divisions and to create opportunities for information sharing, clear communication and collaboration, enabling the MSF to move off the page and into the workplace.

The Office also manages the University’s Treaty partnerships and a variety of other projects associated with Māori development.

Director

Tuari Potiki image 2021Tuari Potiki

Kāi Tahu, Kāti Mamoe, Waitaha
Tel +64 3 479 8420
Email tuari.potiki@otago.ac.nz

Executive Assistant

Rhonda Bryant

Kāi Tahu | Ngāpuhi
Tel +64 3 479 8738
Email rhonda.bryant@otago.ac.nz

Associate Dean Māori

Anaru Eketone

Ngati Maniapoto, Waikato
Tel +64 3 479 5051
Email anaru.eketone@otago.ac.nz

Research Manager Māori / Senior Project Manager

Claire Porima

Waikato, Ngāti Hikairo
Tel +64 3 479 7461
Email claire.porima@otago.ac.nz

Project Manager

Kelly-Ann Tahitahi

Te Aupōuri, Te Rarawa, Waikato
Tel +64 3 479 8074
Email kelly-ann.tahitahi@otago.ac.nz

Project Manager

Thomas Aerepo-Morgan

Te Arawa, Ngāi Tahu, Waikato, Kuki Airani
Tel +64 3 479 4272
Email thomas.aerepo-morgan@otago.ac.nz

Kaitohu Mātauraka

Megan Potiki

Kāi Tahu, Te Ātiawa
Tel +64 3 479 7425
Email megan.potiki@otago.ac.nz

Kaitohutohu Māori

Hata Temo

Tūhoe
Tel +64 3 479 4277
Email hata.temo@otago.ac.nz

Te Poutama Māori Kaituitui

Hinerangi Nielsen

Waikato, Ngāti Apakura
Tel +64 3 479 8081
Email hinerangi.nielsen@otago.ac.nz

Contact Rhonda to receive a copy of the Māori Strategic Framework.