Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our staff

Head of Department

Professor Miles Lamaremiles_lamare

Office 310 Castle Street, room 103 or PML, room 306
Tel +64 3 479 7463 (campus), +64 3 479 7463 (PML)
Mob +64 21 279 7463
Email miles.lamare@otago.ac.nz

  • Fjord systems, Antarctic biology, Ocean acidification, Climage Change Research Themes
  • Kaiawhina – Māori Student Support Liaison
  • MSc Co-ordinator
  • Chair, University of Otago Research Grants, Life Sciences Panel
  • ^ Top of page

Academic staff

Dr Bridie AllanDr Bridie Allan Image

Office 310 Castle Street, room 148
Tel +64 3 479 8327
Email bridie.allan@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine ecology; swimming performance in fishes; chemical ecology of predator-prey interactions; environmental influences on predator-prey interactions
  • Coastal People: Southern Skies

Ceridwen Fraser imageAssociate Professor Crid Fraser

Office 310 Castle Street, room 143
Tel +64 3 479 8306
Email ceridwen.fraser@otago.ac.nz

  • Biogeography; long-distance dispersal; Antarctic and sub-Antarctic ecology and evolution; how density-dependent processes influence spatial biodiversity patterns
  • Coastal People: Southern Skies

Gaya Gnanalingam imageDr Gaya Gnanalingam

Office 310 Castle Street, room 149
Tel +64 3 479 5369
Email gaya.gnanalingam@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Chris HepburnChris Hepburn in dive gear 2020 Image

Office PML, room 309
Tel +64 3 479 7462
Mob +64 21 279 7462
Email chris.hepburn@otago.ac.nz

Professor Cliff Law

Cliff Law ImageEmail clifford.law@otago.ac.nz

Principal Scientist-Marine Biogeochemistry
Programme Leader - Oceanic Control of Atmospheric Composition
Tel +64 4 386 0478 
Mob +64 27 891 1340
National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research Ltd (NIWA)
301 Evans Bay Parade, Greta Point, Wellington New Zealand
Connect with NIWA: niwa.co.nz Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Instagram

  • Marine biogeochemistry, nutrient cycles and phytoplankton, interaction of Climate Change and the ocean: impacts of ocean acidification and warming, marine trace gases
  • Coastal People: Southern Skies

More information on Cliff Law

Dr Will Raymentwill_rayment

Office 310 Castle Street, room 211a
Tel +64 3 479 8304
Email will.rayment@otago.ac.nz

Dr Christina Riesselmanchristina_riesselman

Office (Marine Science) 310 Castle Street, room 150; (Geology) room GN1
Tel  (Marine Science) +64 3 479 5732; (Geology) +64 3 479 7505
Email christina.riesselman@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Candida Savagecandida_savage

Office PML, room 210
Tel +64 3 479 8324 (PML)
Email candida.savage@otago.ac.nz

Professor Abby Smithabby_smith

Office 310 Castle Street, room 101
Tel +64 3 479 7470
Mob +64 27 606 3552
Email abby.smith@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine sedimentology, skeletal geochemistry
  • Chief Course Advisor

Dr Rob SmithRob_Smith

Office 310 Castle Street, room 152
Tel +64 3 479 5365
Email robert.smith@otago.ac.nz

Professor Steve Wingsteve_wing

Office 310 Castle Street, room 145 or PML, room 211
Tel +64 3 479 9038 (campus), +64 3 479 5827 (PML)
Mob +64 21 279 9038
Email steve.wing@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine ecology, coastal ecosystems, marine conservation, food webs, population biology, fisheries and integrated multi-trophic aquaculture
  • PhD Co-ordinator

^ Top of page

Emeriti

Professor Steve DawsonProfessor Steve Dawson Image 2020

Email steve.dawson@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine conservation, behaviour and ecology of whales, dolphins and other marine mammals.
  • ^ Top of page

Honorary and adjunct staff

Dr Alexander Arkhipkin

AtaSuandaDr Ata Suanda

Email suandas@uncw.edu

  • Circulation and water properties in coastal, estuarine and nearshore environments
  • The interaction of physical processes with biogeochemistry and human interests in the coastal ocean
  • Tides, internal waves, wind- and wave-driven physics
  • Numerical models of ocean circulation and model literacy

Professor Gary Wilsongary_wilson

Email gary.wilson@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine geology, marine sedimentology, paleoceanography, paleoclimatology paleomagnetism

Dr Lucy Wing (née Jack)lucy_wing

Email lucy.wing@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine ecology, food webs, stable isotopes, trace metals, zooarchaeology

^ Top of page

Teaching Fellows

Dr Marta Guerra

Office 310 Castle Street, room 105
Tel +64 3 479 5453
Email marta.guerra@otago.ac.nz

  • Teaching Fellow MARI 112/MARI 302/ZOOL 418

Dr Jean McKinnonjean_mckinnon

Office 310 Castle Street, room 105
Tel +64 3 479 5453
Mob +64 21 279 5453
Email jean.mckinnon@otago.ac.nz

  • MARI 112
  • MARI 202
  • MARI 301
  • OCEN 322
  • NZMSC Education

^ Top of page

Assistant Research Fellows / Research Fellows / Postdoctoral Fellows

Evelyn Armstrong image 2021Dr Evelyn Armstrong

Office Mellor Building, Room 114 or 310 Castle street, room 150
Tel +64 3 479 5376 (Office)
Lab +64 3 479 8463
Email evelyn.armstrong@otago.ac.nz

  • Physiological processes and elemental composition of Subantarctic and Antarctic phytoplankton and effects related to climate change
  • Biodiversity of Subantarctic phytoplankton

Adam Brook

Email adam.brook@otago.ac.nz

Dr Matt Desmond

Office PML, Room 208
Tel +64 3 479 5828
Mob +64 27 331 3844
Email matthew.desmond@otago.ac.nz

  • Macroalgal ecology and physiology
  • Temperate reef ecology
  • Fisheries habitat interactions
  • Seafloor mapping

Leighton Thomas image 2021Dr Leighton Thomas

Office 310 Castle Street, room 209
Tel +64 3 479 7468
Email leighton.thomas@otago.ac.nz

  • Antarctic and New Zealand-based projects and data sets
  • Population genetics and environmental DNA

^ Top of page

Research Assistants

Lucy Coyle

Office PML, room 208
Tel +64 3 479 5828
Email lucy.coyle@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professional staff – campus

Katia Borisova

Office 310 Castle Street, room 153
Tel +64 3 479 4104
Email marine.science@otago.ac.nz

  • Administrator Client Services

Mrs Chris Fitzpatrick

Office 310 Castle Street, room 102
Tel +64 3 479 5085
Mob +64 21 57 5085
Email marine.science@otago.ac.nz

  • Administrator Client Services

Bob Dagg

Office Department of Geology, Leith St, Room 1n21
Mob +64 21 279 5815
Email bob.dagg@otago.ac.nz

  • Scientific Officer / Sediment Core Specialist

Amber West

Office 310 Castle Street, room 131
Tel +64 3 479 7585
Email marine.science@otago.ac.nz

  • Administrator Client Services

Dr Cynthia Winkworth

Office 310 Castle Street, room 153
Tel +64 3 479 4104
Email cynthia.winkworth@otago.ac.nz

  • Project Manager: Antarctic Science Platform project

^ Top of page

Portobello Marine Laboratory and New Zealand Marine Studies Centre reception

Tel +64 3 479 5826
Email portobello.marinescience@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

New Zealand Marine Studies Centre

New Zealand Marine Studies Centre website

Sally Carson 2020 ImageSally Carson

Office PML, room 213
Tel +64 3 479 5842
Mob +64 21 279 5842
Email sally.carson@otago.ac.nz

John CampbellJohn Campbell 2020 Image

Office NZMSC
Tel +64 3 479 5841
Email campbell.john@otago.ac.nz

  • Aquarist / Interpreter

Adelle HeinemanAdelle O'Neill 2020 Image

Office NZMSC
Tel +64 3 479 5841
Email adelle.heineman@otago.ac.nz

  • Curator

Hanna Ravn

Office NZMSC
Tel +64 3 479 5843
Email hanna.ravn@otago.ac.nz

Educator (Secondary Level)

Steve CutlerSteve Cutler 2020 Image

Office NZMSC
Tel +64 3 479 5843
Mob +64 21 279 5621
Email steve.cutler@otago.ac.nz

Shelley Dixon

Office NZMSC
Tel +64 3 479 5843
Email shelley.dixon@otago.ac.nz

  • Educator (Primary level)

Richard de Hamel

Tel 021 4 OCEAN (+64 21 462 326)
Email richard.dehamel@otago.ac.nz

  • Educator (Nelson Region)

Tamlyn SomerfordTamyln Somerford 2020 Image

Office NZMSC
Tel +64 3 479 5845
Email tamlyn.somerford@otago.ac.nz

  • Community engagement co-ordinator

Ella Robinson

Reception NZMSC
Tel +64 3 479 5826
Email portobello.marinescience@otago.ac.nz

  • Administrator Assistant Client Services

^ Top of page

Portobello Marine Laboratory

Dr Doug Mackie

Office PML, room 209
Tel +64 3 479 5811
Mob +64 21 279 5811
Email doug.mackie@otago.ac.nz

  • Manager, Portobello Marine Laboratory

Linda Groenewegen

Office PML, room 211
Tel +64 3 479 5813
Mob +64 21 279 5813
Email linda.groenewegen@otago.ac.nz

  • Laboratory and Aquatic Systems Technician

Shannah Johnson

Office PML, room 211
Tel +64 3 479 5813
Mob +64 21 279 5812
Email shannah.johnson@otago.ac.nz

  • Laboratory and Aquatic Systems Technician

Workshop

Office PML
Tel +64 3 479 5822

^ Top of page

Vessels

Bill Dickson

Office PML, room 207
Tel +64 3 479 5814
Mob +64 21 283 7735
Email bill.dickson@otago.ac.nz

Mark Elder

Office PML, room 207
Tel +64 3 479 5814
Mob +64 21 275 4772
Email m.elder@otago.ac.nz

  • Crewperson / Relief Skipper / Technician of Polaris II

Sean Heseltine

Office PML, room 207
Tel +64 3 479 5814
Mob +64 21 279 5814
Email sean.heseltine@otago.ac.nz