Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our staff

Head of Department

Professor Steve Dawsonsteve_dawson

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 143
Phone: 479-7468
Cell: 021 276 4110
Email: steve.dawson@otago.ac.nz

marine conservation, behaviour and ecology of whales, dolphins and other marine mammals.

^ Top of page

Academic Staff

Dr Bridie AllanBridie Allan

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 149
Phone: 479-8327
Email: bridie.allan@otago.ac.nz

Marine ecology; swimming performance in fishes; chemical ecology of predator-prey interactions; environmental influences on predator-prey interactions

Dr Federico Baltarfederico.baltar

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 102
Phone: 479-5621
Cell: 
Email: federico.baltar@otago.ac.nz

Microbial Oceanography, Marine Biogeochemistry, Aquatic Microbial Ecology, Biophysical processes, Climate change

Associate Professor Chris Hepburnchris_hepburn

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 144 or PML, room 305
Phone: 479-7462 (campus), 479-5820 (PML)
Cell: 021 279 7462
Email: chris.hepburn@otago.ac.nz

customary fisheries, eco-physiology of macroalgae
Director, Aquaculture and Fisheries Programme

Associate Professor Miles Lamaremiles_lamare

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 101 or PML, room 306
Phone: 479-7463 (campus), 479-7463 (PML)
Cell: 021 279 7463
Email: miles.lamare@otago.ac.nz

fjord systems, Antarctic biology

Kaiawhina - Māori Student Support Liaison
MSc Coordinator

Dr Will Raymentwill_rayment

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 211a
Phone: 479-8304
Email: will.rayment@otago.ac.nz

marine mammal ecology, marine conservation

Dr Christina Riesselmanchristina_riesselman

Office: (Marine Science) 310 Castle Street, room 105, (Geology) room GN1
Phone:  (Marine Science) 479-5732, (Geology) 479-7505
Email: christina.riesselman@otago.ac.nz

Cenozoic paleoceanography and paleoclimate

Dr Candida Savagecandida_savage

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 148 or PML, room 210
Phone: 479-8324 (campus), 479-5823
Email: candida.savage@otago.ac.nz

marine ecology and ecosystems, nutrient cycling, palaeoecology

Fourth-year Coordinator

Professor Abby Smithabby_smith

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 103
Phone: 479-7470
Cell:027 606 3552
Email: abby.smith@otago.ac.nz

Marine sedimentology, skeletal geochemistry

Chief Course Advisor

Dr Rob SmithRob_Smith

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 150
Phone: 479-5365
Email: robert.smith@otago.ac.nz

Physical Oceanography

Dr Ata SuandaAtaSuanda

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 152
Phone: 479-5369
Cell:021 279 5369
Email: ata.suanda@otago.ac.nz

Coastal physical oceanography

Associate Professor Ross VennellRoss Vennell

Office: 310 Castle Street
Phone: 
Email: ross.vennell@otago.ac.nz

physical oceanography/ocean physics, tidal physics, oceanography of estuaries, straits and channels, headland and island eddies

Professor Gary Wilsongary_wilson

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 147
Phone: 479-7509
Email: gary.wilson@otago.ac.nz

marine geology, marine sedimentology, paleoceanography, paleoclimatology paleomagnetism

Dr Lucy Wing (née Jack)lucy_wing

Office: 310 Castle Street
Phone: 
Email: lucy.wing@otago.ac.nz

marine ecology, food webs, stable isotopes, trace metals, zooarchaeology

Statistical Advisor  

Professor Steve Wingsteve_wing

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 145 or PML, room 211
Phone: 479-9038 (campus), 479-5827 (PML)
Cell: 021 279 9038
Email: steve.wing@otago.ac.nz

marine ecology, coastal ecosystems, marine conservation, food webs, population biology, fisheries

PhD Coordinator

^ Top of page

Honorary Staff

Dr Trudi Webster

^ Top of page

Teaching Fellows

Steve Cutlersteve_cutler

Office: PML, room 309
Phone: 479-5843
Cell:021 279 5621
Email: steve.cutler@otago.ac.nz

MARI112
NZMSC Public Education

Dr Jean McKinnonjean_mckinnon

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 141
Phone: 479-5453
Cell:021 279 5453
Email: jean.mckinnon@otago.ac.nz

MARI 112
MARI 202
MARI 301
OCEN 322
NZMSC Education

Sorrel O'Connell-Milne

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 105
Phone: 479-5746
Email: sorrel.oconnell-milne@otago.ac.nz

Teaching Fellow AQFI 252/352

 

Dr Pete Russellpeter_russell

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 141
Phone: 479-5453
Email: peter.russell@otago.ac.nz

AQFI 251, AQFI 301, AQFI 421
MARI 112, MARI 401
OCEN 201, OCEN 301, OCEN 322, OCEN 323

^ Top of page

Senior Research Fellows

Dr Catherine Beltran

Office: Chemistry Building
Phone: 021 674 582
Email: catherine.beltran@otago.ac.nz

NZARI Senior Research Fellow

^ Top of page

Postdoctoral fellows

^ Top of page

Support staff - Campus

Mrs Chris Fitzpatrick

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 102
Phone: 479-5085
Cell: 021 57 5085
Email: chris.fitzpatrick@otago.ac.nz

Department Manager

Daryl Coup

Office: 310 Castle Street, room G40
Phone: 479-8308
Email: daryl.coup@otago.ac.nz

Computer Support/Programmer

Bob Dagg

Office: 310 Castle Street, room G40 or PML room 301
Phone: 479-8308 (campus), 479-5815 (PML)
Cell: 021 279 5815
Email: bob.dagg@otago.ac.nz

Scientific Officer / Sediment Core Specialist

Helen Dunn

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 146
Phone:479-4104
Email: helen.dunn@otago.ac.nz

Special Projects Administrator

Julie-Anne Parsons

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 153
Phone: 479-8306
Cell: 021 279 8306
Email: julie-anne.parsons@otago.ac.nz

Fieldwork & Outreach Facilities Administrator

Dr James Rodgers

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 142
Phone: 479-5759
Email: pahod.marinescience@otago.ac.nz

Academic Administrator/PA to HoD

^ Top of page

Portobello Marine Laboratory and New Zealand Marine Studies Centre Reception

Cher Da-Rin

Phone: 479-5826
Fax: 479-5844
Email: portobello.marinescience@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

New Zealand Marine Studies Centre

Sally Carson

Office: PML, room 213
Phone: 479-5842
Cell: 021 279 5842
Email: sally.carson@otago.ac.nz

Director

Tessa Mills

Office: NZMSC
Phone: 479-5845
Email: tessa.mills@otago.ac.nz

Manager

John Campbell

Office: NZMSC
Phone: 479-5841
Email: campbell.john@otago.ac.nz

Aquarist/Interpreter

Adelle O’Neill

Office: NZMSC
Phone: 479-5841
Email: adelle.oneill@otago.ac.nz

Curator

Shelley Dixon

Office: PML, room 309
Phone: 479-5843
Email: shelley.dixon@otago.ac.nz

Educator

^ Top of page

Portobello Marine Laboratory

Dr Doug Mackie

Office: PML, room 209
Phone: 479-5811
Cell: 021 279 5811
Email: doug.mackie@otago.ac.nz

Manager, Portobello Marine Laboratory

Linda Groenewegen

Office: PML, room 211
Phone: 479-5813
Email: linda.groenewegen@otago.ac.nz

Laboratory and Instruments Technician

Reuben Pooley

Office: PML, room 211
Phone: 479-5813
Email: reuben.pooley@otago.ac.nz

Aquatic Systems Technician

Dave Wilson

Office: PML, workshop
Phone: 479-5822
Email: dave.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Workshop Technician

^ Top of page

Vessels

Steve Little

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 209
Phone: 479-7465
Email: steve.little@otago.ac.nz

Chief Skipper

Bill Dickson

Office: PML, room 207
Phone: 479-5814
Cell: 021 283 7735
Email: bill.dickson@otago.ac.nz

Master of Polaris II

Sean Heseltine

Office: PML, room 207
Phone: 479-5814
Cell: 021 279 5814
Email: sean.heseltine@otago.ac.nz

Field Technician/Skipper

Evan Kenton

Office: PML, room 207
Phone: 479-5814
Cell: 021 248 3311
Email: evan.kenton@otago.ac.nz

Research Vessel Crew Person/Technician