Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our staff

Head of Department

Professor Steve Dawsonsteve_dawson

Office 310 Castle Street, room 103
Tel +64 3 479 7468
Mob +64 21 276 4110
Email steve.dawson@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine conservation, behaviour and ecology of whales, dolphins and other marine mammals.

^ Top of page

Academic staff

Dr Bridie AllanBridie Allan

Office 310 Castle Street, room 149
Tel +64 3 479 8327
Email bridie.allan@otago.ac.nz

Ceridwen Fraser imageAssociate Professor Crid Fraser

Office 310 Castle Street, room TBA
Tel TBA
Email ceridwen.fraser@otago.ac.nz

  • Biogeography; long-distance dispersal; Antarctic and sub-Antarctic ecology and evolution; how density-dependent processes influence spatial biodiversity patterns
  • Coastal People: Southern Skies
  • ^ Top of page

Associate Professor Chris Hepburnchris_hepburn

Office 310 Castle Street, room 144 or PML, room 305
Tel +64 3 479 7462 (campus), +64 3 479 5820 (PML)
Mob +64 21 279 7462
Email chris.hepburn@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Miles Lamaremiles_lamare

Office 310 Castle Street, room 101 or PML, room 306
Tel +64 3 479 7463 (campus), +64 3 479 7463 (PML)
Mob +64 21 279 7463
Email miles.lamare@otago.ac.nz

  • Fjord systems, Antarctic biology
  • Kaiawhina - Māori Student Support Liaison
  • MSc Coordinator
  • ^ Top of page

Professor Cliff Law

Cliff Law ImageEmail clifford.law@otago.ac.nz

Principal Scientist-Marine Biogeochemistry
Programme Leader - Oceanic Control of Atmospheric Composition
Tel +64 4 386 0478 
Mob +64 27 891 1340
National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research Ltd (NIWA)
301 Evans Bay Parade, Greta Point, Wellington New Zealand
Connect with NIWA: niwa.co.nz Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Instagram

  • Marine biogeochemistry, nutrient cycles and phytoplankton, interaction of Climate Change and the ocean: impacts of ocean acidification and warming, marine trace gases
  • Coastal People: Southern Skies

More information on Cliff Law

^ Top of page

Dr Will Raymentwill_rayment

Office 310 Castle Street, room 211a
Tel +64 3 479 8304
Email will.rayment@otago.ac.nz

Dr Christina Riesselmanchristina_riesselman

Office (Marine Science) 310 Castle Street, room 105, (Geology) room GN1
Tel  (Marine Science) +64 3 479 5732, (Geology) +64 3 479 7505
Email christina.riesselman@otago.ac.nz

Dr Candida Savagecandida_savage

Office 310 Castle Street, room 148 or PML, room 210
Tel +64 479 8324 (campus), +64 3 479 5823
Email candida.savage@otago.ac.nz

Professor Abby Smithabby_smith

Office 310 Castle Street, room 143
Tel +64 3 479 7470
Mob +64 27 606 3552
Email abby.smith@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine sedimentology, skeletal geochemistry
  • Chief Course Advisor
  • ^ Top of page

Dr Rob SmithRob_Smith

Office 310 Castle Street, room 150
Tel +64 3 479 5365
Email robert.smith@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ata SuandaAtaSuanda

Office 310 Castle Street, room 152
Tel +64 3 479 5369
Mob +64 21 279 5369
Email ata.suanda@otago.ac.nz

Professor Steve Wingsteve_wing

Office 310 Castle Street, room 145 or PML, room 211
Tel +64 3 479 9038 (campus), +64 3 479 5827 (PML)
Mob +64 21 279 9038
Email steve.wing@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine ecology, coastal ecosystems, marine conservation, food webs, population biology, fisheries
  • PhD Coordinator

^ Top of page

Honorary staff

Dr Alexander Arkhipkin

Dr Trudi Webster

Professor Gary Wilsongary_wilson

Email gary.wilson@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine geology, marine sedimentology, paleoceanography, paleoclimatology paleomagnetism
  • ^ Top of page

Dr Lucy Wing (née Jack)lucy_wing

Email lucy.wing@otago.ac.nz

  • Marine ecology, food webs, stable isotopes, trace metals, zooarchaeology

^ Top of page

Research/Teaching Fellows

Dr Marta Guerra

Office 310 Castle Street, room 142
Tel +64 3 479 5453
Email marta.guerra@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jean McKinnonjean_mckinnon

Office 310 Castle Street, room 141
Tel +64 3 479 5453
Mob +64 21 279 5453
Email jean.mckinnon@otago.ac.nz

  • MARI 112
  • MARI 202
  • MARI 301
  • OCEN 322
  • NZMSC Education
  • ^ Top of page

Dr Matt Desmond

Office 310 Castle Street, room 105
Tel +64 3 479 5746
Email matthew.desmond@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Postdoctoral Fellows

Gaya Gnanalingam imageDr Gaya Gnanalingam

Office 310 Castle Street, Room 105
Email gaya.gnanalingam@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Assistants

Lucy Coyle

Office 310 Castle Street, room 105
Tel +64 3 479 5746
Email lucy.coyle@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professional staff - campus

Mrs Chris Fitzpatrick

Office 310 Castle Street, room 102
Tel +64 3 479 5085
Mob +64 21 57 5085
Email marine.science@otago.ac.nz

Bob Dagg

Office 310 Castle Street, room 141 or PML room 301
Tel +64 3 479 5815 (campus), +64 3 479 5815 (PML)
Mob +64 21 279 5815
Email bob.dagg@otago.ac.nz

  • Scientific Officer / Sediment Core Specialist
  • ^ Top of page

Helen Dunn

Office 310 Castle Street, room 146
Tel +64 3 479 4104
Email marine.science@otago.ac.nz

Amber West

Office 310 Castle Street, room 131
Tel +64 3 479 7585
Email marine.science@otago.ac.nz

  • Administrator Client Services

^ Top of page

Portobello Marine Laboratory and New Zealand Marine Studies Centre reception

Tel +64 3 479 5826
Fax +64 3 479 5844
Email portobello.marinescience@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

New Zealand Marine Studies Centre

New Zealand Marine Studies Centre website

Sally Carson Sally Carson

Office PML, room 213
Tel +64 3 479 5842
Mob +64 21 279 5842
Email sally.carson@otago.ac.nz

John Campbell

Office NZMSC
Tel +64 3 479 5841
Email campbell.john@otago.ac.nz

Adelle O’Neill

Office NZMSC
Tel +64 3 479 5841
Email adelle.oneill@otago.ac.nz

Steve Cutlersteve_cutler

Office PML, room 309
Tel +64 3 479 5843
Mob +64 21 279 5621
Email steve.cutler@otago.ac.nz

Shelley Dixon

Office PML, room 309
Tel +64 3 479 5843
Email shelley.dixon@otago.ac.nz

  • Educator

^ Top of page

Portobello Marine Laboratory

Dr Doug Mackie

Office PML, room 209
Tel +64 3 479 5811
Mob +64 21 279 5811
Email doug.mackie@otago.ac.nz

Linda Groenewegen

Office PML, room 211
Tel +64 3 479 5813
Email linda.groenewegen@otago.ac.nz

Dave Wilson

Office PML, workshop
Tel +64 3 479 5822
Email dave.wilson@otago.ac.nz

  • Workshop Technician

^ Top of page

Vessels

Bill Dickson

Office PML, room 207
Tel +64 3 479 5814
Mob +64 21 283 7735
Email bill.dickson@otago.ac.nz

Mark Elder

Office PML, room 207
Tel +64 3 479 5814
Mob +64 21 275 4772
Email m.elder@otago.ac.nz

  • Crewperson / Relief Skipper / Technician of Polaris II
  • ^ Top of page

Sean Heseltine

Office PML, room 207
Tel +64 3 479 5814
Mob +64 21 279 5814
Email sean.heseltine@otago.ac.nz