Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Teaching team

Overview

Our teaching team members come from different corners of the world, just as our students do, enriching the international diversity of the programme. Lecturers on the Otago MBA are drawn from three areas – the University, other reputable global business schools, and consultants or business practitioners. They are carefully selected for both academic excellence and strong practical experience in running successful businesses.

At the Otago MBA, we take the quality of our programme very seriously. We invite feedback from students at the completion of each course ensuring that teaching content is well delivered and useful. All courses go through rigorous approval and review process to ensure that they are of the highest standards and meet expectations for a world class MBA programme.

^ Top of page

Teaching team profiles

Rick Audas ImageDr Richard Audas

Lecturer
Women's and Children's Health, Dunedin School of Medicine
rick.audas@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 505 Economics

Tao Bai image 2021 186Dr Tao Bai

Lecturer in International Business
University of Queensland
tao.bai@otago.ac.nz

  • CMBA 512 International Business

Headshot Piet Beukman 2020 1xAssociate Professor Piet Beukman

Previous Director of the Engineering Management Programme
University of Canterbury
piet.beukman@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 509 Strategic Planning
  • BMBA 511 Operational Excellence

Sergio BiggemanAssociate Professor Sergio Biggemann

Associate Professor
Department of Marketing, Otago Business School
sergio.biggemann@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 502 Marketing

Man Hung Alvin Cheng imageAlvin Cheng

Chartered Accountant
Certified Practising Accountant (CPA)
alvin.cheng@otago.ac.nz

  • CMBA 507 Accounting

Kris CooperKristen Cooper

Managing Director
Kaycee Projects Ltd
kristen.cooper@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 503 Organisational Leadership

Tobias Demker imageTobias Demker

Managing Director and Senior Consultant
LTC Consulting AB, Sweden and Shellman ltd, China
tobi.demker@otago.ac.nz

  • CMBA 506 Human Resource Management

Kristie Fogarty imageKristie Fogarty

Senior Project Manager
Millpond Ltd

Trainer
Falcon Training
kristie.fogarty@otago.ac.nz

  • BUSI 540 Business Project

Tony Garry image 2021Associate Professor Tony Garry

MBA Academic Leader, University of Otago
tony.garry@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 502 Marketing
  • BMBA 509 Strategic Planning

Richard Higham image 2021Richard Higham

Director
New Ventures Programme
richard.higham@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 509 Strategic Planning for International Markets

Dr W K Leung imageW K Leung

Associate Professor in finance
University of Nottingham, Ningbo, China
wk.leung@otago.ac.nz

  • CMBA508 Finance

Dr Hong Liu imageHong Liu

Founding Director
China Business Centre, Manchester Business School
hong.liu@otago.ac.nz

  • CMBA513 Strategy Implementation

Clare MalthusClare Malthus

Instructor
Disputes Tribunal Referee
clare.malthus@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 501 Business Law

Sarah Peng imageHuijuan (Sarah) Peng

Teaching Fellow
Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University
sarah.peng@otago.ac.nz

  • CMBA 501 Business Law

Headshot Mike Roberts 2020 1xMike Roberts

Principal Trainer
Falcon Training
mike.roberts@otago.ac.nz

  • BUSI 540 Business Project

Gregor SchmaltzGregor Schmalz

Visiting Lecturer
University of Otago
gregor.schmalz@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 512 International Business
  • BMBA 513 Strategy Implementation

Tan Boon Seng imageBoon Seng Tan

Affiliate Faculty
University of Otago
boon.seng.tan@otago.ac.nz

  • CMBA 509 Strategic Planning
  • CMBA 511 Operational Excellence

Barry Timmings imageBarry Timmings

Director
Timmings Partners Ltd
barry.timmings@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 507 Accounting
  • BMBA 508 Finance

Vicky VarlamovaViktoriya (Vicky) Varlamova

Senior HR / OD Consultant
Grata Persona
viktoriya.varlamova@otago.ac.nz

  • BMBA 503 Organisational Leadership

Julianne Wu imageDr Julianne Wu

Venture Mentoring Services Ltd
Director
julianne.wu@otago.ac.n

  • CMBA 505 Economics
  • BMBA 505 Economics

Raymond Xia imageRaymond Xia

Lecturer, DBA, Otago Business School
Academic Leader International, Otago Business School
raymond.xia@otago.ac.nz

  • CMBA 502 Marketing

Lynn Yin 186px 2020Dr Juelin (Lynn) Yin

Associate Professor of Management, Sun Yat-sen University
julianne.wu@otago.ac.nz

  • CMBA 510 Leading Sustainable Enterprises

Christine Yip image 186Christine Yip

Director
Business Improvement Advisor and author of Power Up
C WHY International Ltd
christine.yip@otago.ac.nz

  • BUSI 540 Professional Consulting Engagement