Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Maori/Pacific Island/Indigenous

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Jenny Bryant-Tokalau (Te Tumu, School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Fiji; land; poverty; urbanisation; environmental change; climate change
Work: 64 3 471 6946

Dr Lyn Carter (Te Tumu - School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Maori and Indigenous development; Cultural landscape and identity; Identity politics; Social impact of climate change
Work: 64 3 479 3049

Professor Janine Hayward (Politics)

Treaty of Waitangi; Electoral systems; NZ Constitution; Local government (particularly Treaty related)
Work: 64 3 479 8666

Dr Marie Inder (Division of Sciences)

Pacific Islands students; Student support
Work: 64 3 479 9267 | Mobile: 64 21 279 9267

Dr Anne-Marie Jackson (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Māori physical education and health; Kaupapa Māori research, teaching and supervision; Māori and the environment (water, water safety, waka, ocean, fisheries); Indigenous science; Working with Māori communities
Work: 64 6 479 8378 | Mobile: 64 21 226 2425

Associate Professor Lachy Paterson (Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Treaty of Waitangi /te Tiriti o Waitangi; Maori-Pakeha race relations history; Maori history (social, political and religious) ; Maori-language newspapers (niupepa) ; Maori Christianity; Maori language / te reo Maori; Historical Maori-language texts / He tuhituhinga tawhito; Maori-language Print / textual cultures
Work: 64 3 479 3972 | Home: 64 3 472 8067 | Mobile: 64 21 311 609

Mr Tuari Potiki (Office of the Vice Chancellor )

Maori Development at Otago University; Mana Whenua issues; Local Tikaka/Kawa
Work: 64 3 479 8081 | Mobile: 64 21 310 702

Professor Poia Rewi (Te Tumu, School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Maori performing Arts (kapa haka, oratory); Maori Language; Maori participation in Sport and Physical Activity; Maori culture
Work: 64 3 479 7219 | Home: 64 3 488 5464

Professor Jacinta Ruru (Faculty of Law)

Indigenous Peoples comparative law (including rights to own, govern and manage water, land, marine area, minerals and national parks); Māori land law; Treaty of Waitangi; Family law and Māori; Environmental Law and Māori, Law and landscapes; and Law and geography
Work: 64 3 479 8833

Dr Diane Ruwhiu (Management, Otago Business School)

Indigenous development (specifically, forms of economy and enterprise); Maori enterprise and leadership; Entrepreneurship (entrepreneurial orientation, indigenous, social); innovation (inclusive, social, collective)
Work: 64 3 479 8075

Dr Michelle Schaaf (Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Diaspora; Identity; Pacific; Netball; Gender; Body; Culture; Physical activity; Education
Work: 64 3 479 8805 | Mobile: 64 21 0273 8636

Dr Michael Stevens (History and Art History)

Culture contact and colonisation in nineteenth-century southern New Zealand; Muttonbirding; Kāi Tahu affairs; Indigenous knowledge
Work: 64 3 479 8682

Dr Patrick Vakaoti (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Pacific youth participation; Childhood and youth research; Pacific community development
Work: 64 3 479 3074

Associate Professor Angela Wanhalla (History and Art History)

New Zealand History; Maori history; Gender history; Colonialism; Intermarriage
Work: 64 3 479 8462

Dr Paerau Warbrick (Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Maori Politics; Maori Land Court; Native Land Court jurisprudence; Native Land Court; Treaty of Waitangi; Maori land issues
Work: 64 3 479 3973 | Home: 64 27 226 4369

Dr Jim Williams (Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Kai Tahu history; Kai Tahu dialect; Maori interaction with the natural world ; Maori resource management; Maori attitudes to land and water
Work: 64 3 479 7385

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email