Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Key Dates Archive

Student looking away smiling

Jul 2017 Aug 2017 Sep 2017 Oct 2017 Nov 2017 Dec 2017 Jan Feb Mar

July 2017

Thursday, 6 July
Course Advice Day - Thursday 6 July
Monday, 10 July
Division of Sciences and Health Sciences Course Advice Days - Union Hall
Tuesday, 11 July
Division of Sciences and Health Sciences Course Advice Days - Union Hall

^ Top of Page

August 2017

Monday, 14 August
Live streaming of Saturday 19 August 2017 Graduation ceremony

^ Top of Page

September 2017

Friday, 1 September
Applications due for Music Performance papers in 2018
Monday, 4 September
Second semester resumes
Monday, 11 September
14th Annual Open Peace Lecture
Friday, 15 September
Applications due for first year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2018
Friday, 15 September
Last day to withdraw from second semester and full year papers (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

October 2017

Sunday, 1 October
Applications due for second year classes in Law and the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2018
Friday, 13 October
Lectures end before second semester examinations
Wednesday, 18 October
Second semester examinations begin
Monday, 23 October
Labour Day
Friday, 27 October
Quality Forum - Evaluation of Teaching

^ Top of Page

November 2017

Monday, 6 November
Quality Forum - Evaluation of Teaching
Monday, 6 November
Quality Forum - Evaluation of Teaching
Saturday, 11 November
Second semester examinations end
Wednesday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2018

^ Top of Page

December 2017

Saturday, 9 December
Graduation ceremonies
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or first semester subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2018
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due for the first year of the Bachelor of Physical Education programme in 2018 (later applications will be considered if places are available)
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2018
Wednesday, 13 December
Graduation ceremonies
Friday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval
Saturday, 16 December
Graduation ceremonies
Tuesday, 19 December
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)

^ Top of Page

January

Wednesday, 3 January
University reopens
Sunday, 7 January
Latest arrival date for new international students studying at Summer School
Sunday, 7 January
Enrolment/Orientation seminar for new international students
Monday, 8 January
Summer School classes begin
Friday, 12 January
Summer School fees due
Monday, 15 January
Last day to add or delete Summer School papers (5pm deadline)
Monday, 15 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking first semester or full years papers

^ Top of Page

February

Monday, 5 February
Last day to withdraw from Summer School papers (5pm deadline)
Tuesday, 6 February
Waitangi Day
Saturday, 10 February
Fees due for study beginning in the first semester
Friday, 16 February
Summer School classes end
Friday, 16 February
Pre-O Week locals welcome
Friday, 16 February
Locals Pre-Orientation Welcome
Saturday, 17 February
Summer School examinations begin
Monday, 19 February
Academic Orientation Week commences (until 23 February)
Monday, 19 February
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 23 February)
Monday, 19 February
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in first semester
Monday, 19 February
Māori Welcome - Pōwhiri, Puketeraki Marae, Karitāne
Monday, 19 February
eTransition
Monday, 19 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 19 February
Support and Services Expo
Monday, 19 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Monday, 19 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 19 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 19 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Monday, 19 February
New international students - Social media awareness and kiwiana
Monday, 19 February
Locals pre-Convocation Ceremony meetup
Monday, 19 February
Convocation Ceremony - Academic welcome for first year students
Tuesday, 20 February
eTransition
Tuesday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Tuesday, 20 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Tuesday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Tuesday, 20 February
University Colleges' Sports Day
Wednesday, 21 February
Course advice for first-year Humanities students (including Law)
Wednesday, 21 February
Course advice for first-year Commerce students
Wednesday, 21 February
New international students Official Welcome and Expo
Wednesday, 21 February
Course Advice Day
Wednesday, 21 February
Course advice for first-year Health Sciences First Year students
Wednesday, 21 February
Course advice for BBioMedSc students
Wednesday, 21 February
Course advice for first-year Sciences students
Wednesday, 21 February
eTransition
Wednesday, 21 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 21 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Wednesday, 21 February
Planning your Bachelor of Arts (BA) programme
Wednesday, 21 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 21 February
Introduction to LAWS 101: Pathway to the Profession
Wednesday, 21 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 21 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Wednesday, 21 February
New international students - Secrets to academic success
Thursday, 22 February
Summer School examinations end
Thursday, 22 February
Course advice for first-year Humanities students (including Law)
Thursday, 22 February
Course advice for BBioMedSc students
Thursday, 22 February
Course advice for first-year Health Sciences First Year students
Thursday, 22 February
Course advice for first-year Commerce students
Thursday, 22 February
Course Advice Day
Thursday, 22 February
Course advice for first-year Sciences students
Thursday, 22 February
eTransition
Thursday, 22 February
OUSA Clubs Day
Thursday, 22 February
Introduction to LAWS 101: Pathway to the Profession
Thursday, 22 February
Planning your Bachelor of Arts (BA) programme
Thursday, 22 February
O Week Locals welcome and BBQ
Thursday, 22 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Thursday, 22 February
Māori Welcome - Hāngī
Thursday, 22 February
New international students - Staying safe and well
Thursday, 22 February
New international students - Safety in New Zealand's great outdoors
Thursday, 22 February
University of Otago Pacific Welcome
Friday, 23 February
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking first semester and full year papers (late fee may apply)
Friday, 23 February
Academic Orientation Week ends
Friday, 23 February
Preliminary lectures for first semester and full year papers
Friday, 23 February
Course advice for BBioMedSc students
Sunday, 25 February
OUSA International Food Festival
Monday, 26 February
Formal lectures begin

^ Top of Page

March

Thursday, 1 March
UniStart
Friday, 2 March
Last day to add first semester or full year papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 16 March
Last day to delete first semester papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)
Friday, 23 March
Last day to delete full year papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)
Friday, 30 March
Good Friday and mid-semester break begins