Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Leading Otago academics elected as Royal Society Fellows

Blossom outside Clocktower

Wednesday 17 October 2012 1:55pm

Five University of Otago academics are among the 11 top New Zealand researchers and scholars in basic and applied science and the humanities who are newly elected as Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand.

Announcing the new Fellows, the Society’s Academy Chairperson Professor Le Heron said: “Being elected as a Fellow is an honour given to our top researchers for showing exceptional distinction in research or in the advancement of science, technology or the humanities.”

The new Otago Fellows are:

  • Professor Tony Ballantyne (History), whose work has generated new analytical models for the study of British imperial history and has offered substantial insights into the operation of British imperial culture.
  • Professor Brett Delahunt (Pathology & Molecular Medicine, University of Otago Wellington), who is acknowledged as an international authority in the field of urological pathology including prostate cancer
  • Professor Keith Gordon (Chemistry), who is internationally recognised for his scholarship and scientific achievements in the area of molecular electronic materials, particularly on new materials that can be used in solar cells or as displays.
  • Professor Frank Griffin (Microbiology and Immunology), who has inspired and led the development of diagnostic tests and a vaccine to combat three major bacterial diseases of deer, Tuberculosis, Yersiniosis and Johne’s disease.
  • Professor Tony Kettle (Pathology, University of Otago Christchurch), who is internationally recognised for his research on myeloperoxidase, an enzyme in white blood cells (neutrophils) that produces free radicals and chlorine bleach (hypochlorous acid) to kill micro-organisms.

The Royal Society of New Zealand now has 382 Fellows and 58 Honorary Fellows. Fellows are involved in providing expert advice, promoting best and innovative research practice and disseminating information on the sciences and humanities.

For more information about the Society’s activities, please visit Royal Society.

A list of Otago experts available for media comment is available elsewhere on this website.

Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago, or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.