Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Otago health research supported by lottery grants


Tuesday 16 April 2013 3:25pm

University of Otago researchers have gained $1.86m in new funding from the Lottery Grants Board to pursue research aimed at improving the health status of New Zealanders.

Researchers from across the University’s three main campuses in Dunedin, Christchurch and Wellington have received 34 research and/or equipment grants and three PhD scholarships. A full list appears below.

Nationally, around $4.14m comprising 75 grants was distributed in the Lottery Health Research 2012/13 funding round.

The Otago grants involve a variety of health-related topics ranging from basic biomedical investigations into melanoma genetics to improving school playgrounds to enhance children’s physical activity and health.

Other grants focus on topics that include studying how noroviruses manipulate programmed cell death processes, Christchurch frontline workers’ occupational health, sugars and health risk, and developing diagnostic biomarkers for ME/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

About Lottery Health Research:

Lottery Health Research distributes grants to support:

  • Research into the cause, prevention and treatment of disorders affecting the health of New Zealanders
  • Research which will lead to advances in health and biomedical science for the ultimate benefit of all New Zealanders
  • The development, maintenance and retention of a highly skilled workforce of health and bio-medical researchers in New Zealand.

Lottery Health Research

For more information, contact:

Simon Ancell
Communications Adviser
University of Otago
Tel 03 479 5016

University of Otago Lottery Health grant recipients:

Dr Gillian Abel (Public Health & General Practice, University of Otago, Christchurch)
The 'lived experience' of HIV: ageing, place and social isolation

Professor Wickliffe Abraham (Psychology)
Testing memory in mouse models of neurological disease

Dr Andrew Bahn (Physiology)
Identification of the kynurenine transporter in human astrocytes and its regulation via urate

Dr Biju Balakrishnan (School of Pharmacy)
Enhancing antimicrobial drug delivery in inflamed tissues

Professor Antony Braithwaite (Pathology)
p53 isoforms and melanoma

Dr Andrew Clarkson (Anatomy)
Establishing a large animal model of stroke in sheep

Dr Dawn Coates (Oral Sciences)
Adipose-derived multipotent progenitor cells on titanium surfaces

Professor Andrew Day (Paediatrics, University of Otago, Christchurch)
Chronic gastrointestinal consequences of acute Campylobacter infection

Professor Anthony Dowell (Primary Health Care & General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington)
The morbidity patterns of childhood illness in general practice

Professor Bernadette Drummond (Oral Sciences)
Oral pH monitoring in children with dental erosion

Associate Professor Warwick Duncan (Oral Sciences)
Does anodisation of titanium-zirconium alloy improve anchorage to bone for implanted prosthetic devices?

Dr Kirsty Fairbairn (Human Nutrition)
The experiences and perceptions of registered dieticians delivering dietetic services in NZ primary health care

Professor Mauro Farella (Oral Sciences)
Wireless monitoring of oral pH and Bruxism

Dr Elspeth Gold (Anatomy)
CARESTREAM animal imaging system - Project: Optical imaging of labelled tissues, cells or organs within a living rodent

Dr Claire Heppenstall (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)
Telephone follow-up to reduce adverse outcomes in frail elders

Dr Regis Lamberts (Physiology)
Autonomic dysfunction and surgical cardiovascular complications in diabetes

Dr Rajesh Katare (Physiology)
Targeting the autophagy factor beclin-1 to halt diabetic cardiomyopathy

Dr Lynnette Jones (School of Physical Education)
Circuit resistance training and vascular health in breast cancer survivors

Dr Jennifer Jordan (Psychological Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)
Changing narratives and post-traumatic stress disorder after the Christchurch earthquakes

Dr Kirsten Lovelock (Preventive & Social Medicine)
Occupational health of front line workers in Christchurch

Dr Tracy Melzer (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)
4 year serial MRI and cognition in Parkinson's disease

Ms Inga O'Brien (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)
Self-management support in cancer care

Ms Meredith Peddie (Human Nutrition)
Interrupting prolonged sitting with regular activity: Acute postprandial metabolic effects

Associate Professor Russell Poulter (Biochemistry)
The biosynthesis of cyclic analogues of the HIV regulator Tat

Dr Timothy Prickett (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)
Plasma NTproCNP: a putative marker of vascular risk

Dr Euan Rodger (Pathology)
A New Zealand family holds the key to myelodysplastic syndrome

Dr Daryl Schwenke (Physiology)
DMT Confocal Wire Myograph System - Project: Obesity protects against pulmonary hypertension – understanding the “Obesity Paradox”

Professor John Sullivan (School of Physiotherapy)
Mobility Scooters keeping older New Zealanders on the move

Professor Warren Tate (Biochemistry)
Development of diagnostic biomarkers for Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (ME/CFS)

Dr Sebastien Taurin (Pharmacology & Toxicology)
Oestrogen receptor independent inhibition of tumour growth by raloxifene

Dr Lisa Te Morenga (Human Nutrition)
Sugars and Health Risk

Professor Vernon Ward (Microbiology & Immunology)
Norovirus manipulation of apoptosis

Dr Timothy Woodfield (Orthopaedic Surgery & Musculoskeletal Medicine)
3D BioPlotter shared equipment for biomedical research

Dr Yiwen Zheng (Pharmacology & Toxicology)
Role of GABAB receptors in tinnitus development and treatment

PhD Scholarships:

Miss Victoria Farmer (Medicine)
Improving school playgrounds to enhance physical activity and health in children: the Play Study

Mr Angus Mackay (Biochemistry)
Developing a diagnostic blood test for ME/CFS

Miss Lindsay Robertson (Preventive & Social Medicine)
Regulation of tobacco retailing

A list of Otago experts available for media comment is available elsewhere on this website.

Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago, or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.