Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

National excellence of Otago University teachers recognised


Wednesday 9 August 2017 4:05pm

TTEA 2017 Prof Ruth Fitzgerald
Hon Paul Goldsmith, Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment congratulates Associate Professor Ruth Fitzgerald

The sustained contributions of three leading University of Otago staff were recognised in the annual national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards held last night.

The Awards, hosted annually at Parliament, celebrate New Zealand’s finest tertiary teachers as recognised by their organisations, colleagues, learners and broader communities. One-quarter of the 12 national Sustained Excellence Award recipients were from the University of Otago.

In congratulating the Otago winners, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Vernon Squire (Academic) noted that these recipients were the latest in a long line of staff from the University to be recognised in these awards.

TTEA2017 Dr Brad Hurren
Hon Paul Goldsmith congratulates Dr Brad Hurren

“These new honours mean that now 29 Otago teachers across a wide range of disciplines have been recognised for their sustained excellence since the awards were established in 2002.

“This has included Otago teachers who went further to win seven Prime Minister’s Supreme Awards – the most of any tertiary institution in the country.”

Professor Squire says he is delighted by the success of the Otago academics in the latest awards.

“Their showing reflects our ongoing dedication to remaining at the forefront of New Zealand universities in teaching – and excellent, inspiring teachers are key to this goal," he says.

TTEA 2017 Haruko Stuart
Hon Paul Goldsmith congratulates Haruko Stuart

Otago’s 2017 recipients of sustained excellence awards are: 

  • Dr Ruth Fitzgerald - Associate Professor (Department of Anthropology and Archaeology) – citation
  • Dr Brad Hurren - Teaching Fellow (Department of Anatomy) - citation
  • Haruko Stuart - Teaching Fellow in Japanese (Department of Languages and Cultures) - citation

The Otago winners received the University’s own teaching excellence awards earlier this year.

A list of Otago experts available for media comment is available elsewhere on this website.

Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago, or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.