Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Research theme members

Our research theme members are spread across the whole of New Zealand. The core group of academic staff and postgraduate students are located at the University of Otago but we work in collaboration with other New Zealand universities as well as governmental agencies such as NIWA.

Academic and Technical Staff

Kim Currie - Scientist, NIWA Research Centre for Oceanography

  • CO2 chemistry of seawater using time series

Chris Hepburn – Lecturer, Marine Science

  • Kelp forest ecosystems and sub-tidal reefs

Linn Hoffmann - Lecturer, Botany

  • Effects of climate change on phytoplankton eco-physiology

Keith Hunter – Professor, Chemistry and Pro-Vice Chancellor, Sciences

  • Marine carbonate chemistry

Miles Lamare – Senior Lecturer, Marine Science

  • Physiological response of marine invertebrates to reduced seawater pH and hypercapnia

Cliff Law - Principal Scientist, NIWA Ocean and Atmosphere Group

  • Interactions of ocean biota and atmospheric chemistry

Christina McGraw –Senior Lecturer, Chemistry

  • Marine sensors and laboratory instrumentation

Malcolm Reid – Scientific Officer, Chemistry

  • Apparatus and techniques for measurement of pCO2 and pH in seawater

Abigail Smith - Associate Professor, Marine Science, and Head of Department

  • Geochemistry of shells, carbonate dissolution, biomineralisation

Postgraduate students

  • Ro Allen - PhD Candidate, Botany
  • Johanna Brinkman – MSc Candidate, Marine Science
  • Nadjejda Espinel - PhD Candidate, Marine Science
  • Anna Kluibenschedl - PhD Candidate, Marine Science
  • Morgan Meyers – PhD Candidate, Botany
  • Bryce Peebles, PhD Candidate, Marine Science
  • Francie Rudminat - PhD Candidate, Botany
  • Kate Sparks – PhD Candidate, Marine Science
  • Esther Stuck -- MSc Candidate, Marine Science
  • Rebecca Zitoun – PhD Candidate, Chemistry