Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Education Development and Staff Support Unit

Te Tari Whakawhanake Mātauranga me te Tautoko Kaimahi

The Otago Medical School's Education Development and Staff Support Unit (EDSSU) contributes to curriculum evolution and management, coordinates course evaluation, and has a primary focus on supporting staff to develop in their role as educators. This includes supporting medical education research

EDSSU Director, Joy Rudland (centre) with Education Advisers Jon Cornwall (Early Learning in Medicine) and Anthony Ali (University of Otago, Christchurch); Tehmina Gladman (University of Otago, Wellington); and Megan Anakin (Otago Medical School).


Joy Rudland

Based in Wellington, Joy has led medical education development and support at Otago since 2003. The primary focus of the unit is developing educational expertise within medical teaching staff; it also supports interprofessional and other clinical educational development. This is delivered by a network of Education Units across the campuses.

Education Units

Medical education research

Web Medical education research at Otago Medical School

^ Top of page