Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the rural postgraduate programme

Ō mātou tāngata

Academic staff

Associate Professor Garry Nixon

Head of Rural Section, Associate Dean Rural
Dunstan Hospital
PO Box 30 Clyde 9341
New Zealand
Email garry.nixon@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rory Miller

Director Rural Postgraduate Programme, Senior Lecturer
Paper co-convenor
GENA 724 The Context of Rural Healthcare
Rural Doctor, Whangamata
Email rory.miller@otago.ac.nz

Dr Katharina Blattner

Senior Lecturer, Pacific Liaison
Paper co-convenor
Hokianga Health, Rawene, Northland
Email katharina.blattner@otago.ac.nz

Dr Susan Burslem

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 724 The Context of Rural Healthcare
Rural Doctor, Raglan
Email susan.burslem@otago.ac.nz

Dr Marc Gutenstein

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 723 Trauma and Emergencies in Rural Settings
ED Consultant, Nelson 
Email marc.gutenstein@otago.ac.nz 

Dr Jonathon Wills

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 723 Trauma and Emergencies in Rural Settings
Dunstan Hospital, Clyde, Central Otago
Email jonathon.wills@otago.ac.nz

Dr Dave Dixon

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA723 Trauma and Emergencies in Rural Settings
Queenstown
Email dave.dixon@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mark Smith

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 728 Cardiorespiratory Medicine in Rural Settings
Dunstan Hospital, Clyde, Central Otago
Email markos_smithos@hotmail.com

Dr Steve Withington

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 729 Medical Specialties in Rural Settings
Ashburton Hospital, Ashburton
Email steve.withington@cdhb.health.nz

Dr Yan Wong

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper Co-convenor
GENA 725 Reflections in Rural Clinical Practice
Rural GP
Email yan.wong@otago.ac.nz

Dr Pete Kyriakoudis

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 726 Obstetrics and Paediatrics in Rural Settings
Queenstown
Email peter.kyriakoudis@otago.ac.nz

Dr Nina Stupples

Senior Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 726 Obstetrics and Paediatrics in Rural Settings
Buller Health, Westport, Westland
Email stupples.nina@gmail.com

Dr Richard Clinghan

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 727 Surgical Specialties in Rural Settings
GP, Lincoln Medical Centre
Christchurch
Email richard.clinghan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Philippa Cross

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 729 Surgical Specialties in Rural Settings
Email philippa.cross@otago.ac.nz

Jack Haywood

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 725 Reflections in Rural Clinical Practice
Rural Dr Westcoast
Email jack.haywood@otago.ac.nz

Katherine Orme

Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA 728 Cardiorespiratory Medicine in Rural Settings
Rural Dr Clyde
Email katherine.orme@otago.ac.nz

Wendy Finnie

Paper co-convenor, PGCertCPU
GENA 717 Generalist Medical Echocardiography
Echocardiographer, Otago
Email wendy.finnie@otago.ac.nz

Jo McCann

Paper co-convenor, PGCertCPU
GENA 718 Generalist Medical Ultrasound
Senior Sonographer, Hamilton
Email jo.mccann@otago.ac.nz

Ellen Woodcock

Lecturer, PGCertCPU
GENA 717 Generalist Medical Echocardiography
Echocardiographer, Christchurch
Email ellen.woodcock@otago.ac.nz

Dr Matthew Born

Senior Lecturer
Lecturer PGCertCPU
4th / 5th Year Rural Health Co-ordinator
Dunstan Hospital, Clyde, Central Otago
Email matt.born@otago.ac.nz

Programme administrators

Leigh-Ann Moir

Dunstan Hospital, Clyde, Central Otago
Tel +64 3 440 4345
Mob +64 21 279 0038
Email rural.postgrad@otago.ac.nz