University of Otago Medical School

Student Staff (Liaison) Committee

Terms of Reference

Purpose / Whāinga

The Student-Staff (Liaison) Committee helps to assimilate and provide student feedback, and facilitates collaborative discussion to improve the MB ChB programme overall and for the specific location (Dunedin School of Medicine/ University of Otago, Christchurch/ University of Otago, Wellington/ Early Learning in Medicine).

Relationships / Hononga

The Student Staff Committee reports, directly or indirectly, to the Dean/Associate Dean for each location and the student body.

The committee liaises as required with the Dean/Associate Deans and their offices/units and with the School's Curriculum Sub-Committee.

The committee has authority to solicit and represent student views on the MB ChB programme and its delivery, and to report back to students.

Functions and tasks / Mahi

- 1. Monitor the relevant component of the MB ChB programme through receiving and considering reports and other information from students, staff, and OMS and its committees as relevant/appropriate.
- 2. Provide a safe forum for students to comment on the MB ChB programme and their experiences.
- 3. Be the principal formal means of addressing student concerns by
 - receiving positive and negative feedback regarding the curriculum, facilities, resources, and the performance of teachers
 - clarifying programme-related issues, including facilities and teaching
 - communicating concerns to the appropriate channel, including the escalation of persistent issues
 - when appropriate implementing a suitable action plan for each concern.
- 4. Communicate the discussions on concerns and plaudits raised by the students to the
 - local Curriculum Sub-Committee/Associate Dean Medical Education on curriculum design matters

- Head/s of Department and/or Module Convener/s where appropriate
- Dean or an appropriate nominee on non-curricular matters including resources, student support or the campus environment
- back to the students as appropriate.
- 5. Provide a conduit for Otago Medical School and the campus to request student input on administrative matters that affect them.

Membership / Whakaurunga

There should be a balance of students and staff on the committee, which may co-opt members to fill casual vacancies, or additional members. Membership will comprise some combination as listed below, with specific composition varying according to school.

Students (campus variations as indicated):

Campus president, Otago University Medical Students Association

ELM: OUMSA education representative; elected student educational representatives (three for each year)

ALM: student representatives, appointed after OUMSA executive elections, two-four for each year)

ALM: student representatives, other programmes (UOW)

Staff (campus variations as indicated):

Associate Dean Medical Education

Associate Dean Undergraduate Student Affairs

Education Adviser

ALM: Four academic staff members elected for a term of three years, with renewal subject to agreement of the Committee and the Dean (UOC).

ALM: One member of the professional staff, elected for a period of three years (UOC)

ALM: regional Associate Deans (UOW)

ELM: conveners of modules relevant to meeting

ELM: Assessment Convener

Invited members (welcome but not expected to attend all meetings, to receive all documents but not counted in quorum)

Dean of School

The Head of each School and ELM will appoint a convener for the committee, or delegate the appointment to the committee.

Working methods / Huarahi whakatutuki

The committee will meet as often as mutually acceptable, but at least three times each year, outside vacation and examination times. The first meeting will take place in March/April, after the new student executive has been elected.

Quorum will be the convener or nominee, two staff members and three student members. Any member unable to attend a meeting may send a nominee.

The committee will be supported by the Education Unit administrator.

Appendix 1 Membership January 2018 / Rārangi Kaiwhakauru

Each committee to maintain its own list.

Early Learning in Medicine				
Name	Committee membership status	Date appointed		
Associate Professor Grant Butt	Associate Dean and Director, Early			
	Learning in Medicine			
Associate Professor Ivan Sammut	Associate Dean Medical Education			
	School of Biomedical Sciences			
Dr Jon Cornwall	Education Adviser			
Tony Zaharic	ELM Assessment Convenor			
	Programme module conveners as			
	required			
	Relevant module conveners as			
	required			
	Campus president Otago University			
	Medical Students' Association			
	(convener)			
	Student representatives			

Dunedin School of Medicine				
Name	Committee membership status	Date appointed		
Dr Steve Gallagher	e-Learning Facilitator (co-convener)			
Associate Professor Ralph Pinnock	Associate Dean Medical Education			
Dr Penny Eames	Associate Dean Student Affairs			
Dr Megan Anakin	Education Adviser			
	Dean			
	Student representative (co-convener)			
	Student representatives			

University of Otago, Christchurch			
Name	Committee membership status	Date appointed	
Anthony Ali	Education Adviser (convener)		
Professor Lutz Beckert	Associate Dean Medical Education		
Dr Tania Huria	Associate Dean Student Affairs		
	Academic staff members		
	Professional staff member		
	Christchurch Medical Students'		
	Association president		
	Student representatives		
Invited member			
Professor David Murdoch	Dean, University of Otago, Christchurg	ch	

University of Otago, Wellington			
Name	Committee membership status	Date appointed	
Dr Mark Huthwaite	Associate Dean Student Affairs (convener)		
Associate Professor Rebecca Grainger	Associate Dean Medical Education		
Dr Tehmina Gladman	Education Adviser		
Dr Roopinder Gill, Dr Nathalie de Vries, Dr Ross Freebairn	Regional Associate Deans		
	Wellington Medical Students' Association President		
	Student representatives		
	Student representatives, other programmes		
Invited member		·	
Professor William Levack	Dean University of Otago Wellington		

^{*}Note: for the purposes of these Terms of Reference, ELM has an equivalent status to each of the ALM schools.