Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Health Research Excellence Awards

Ngā Tohu Taioreore o te Rangahau Hauora

Celebrating Health Research Excellence Partnerships


The ongoing and unique research partnership between the Dunedin School of Medicine and the Southern District Health Board will be acknowledged at the 2021 combined Dunedin School of Medicine Education and Research Excellence Awards at 5pm on Thursday 16 September 2021 at the Barnett Lecture Theatre and Foyer area, where staff from both organisations will gather to acknowledge researchers and research initiatives.

^ Top of page

2021 Awards

The Health Research Excellence Awards 2021 provide a significant opportunity to recognise the work of emerging and established researchers across a range of research activities. All Dunedin School of Medicine and Southern District Health Board staff who are, or intend to be, involved in research are urged to consider the requests for applications.

Applications close 5 pm 30 July 2021 and will be administered by the HRS.

Awards will be presented at the Dunedin School of Medicine Education and Research Excellence Awards Ceremony on Thursday 16 September 2021 at 5pm at the Barnett Lecture Theatre to which all staff are cordially invited.

Please do not hesitate to contact Health Research South with any queries or clarification concerning the awards or the award ceremony.


^ Top of page

2020 Awards

Professor Rathan Subramaniam, Dunedin School of Medicine and Chris Fleming, Southern District Health Board together with the Health Research South Board would like to congratulate the following award winners:

Dunedin School of Medicine Awards

Dean’s Medal for Research Excellence

  • Professor Sarah Derrett (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Southland Research Award

  • Mr Pierre Navarre (Orthopaedics, Southland Hospital, Southern DHB)

Research Publication Awards

  • Mei-Ling Blank (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Best Published Paper by a Master’s or PhD Student

  • Dr Sarah Donald (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Research Support Person Award

  • Elizabeth (Liz) Goodin (Women’s and Children’s Health)

Gil Barbezat Summer Studentship Prize

  • Luke Nie (Bioethics)

Southern District Health Board Awards

Best Collaboration Award


  • Kristina Aluzaite
  • Dr Ben Brockway
  • Associate Professor Yoram Barak
  • Dr Trudy Sullivan
  • Professor Michael Schultz
  • Dr Nick Cutfield
  • Dr Brent Hyslop

Other important research role:

  • Emma Grant
  • Julie Hunter
  • Holly Adam
  • Jenni Duncan (clinical staff)

Ward receptionists:

  • Soneeka Pratap
  • Kulie Legg

Supported by the rest of 6ATR clinical and unit service manager:

  • Helen Murphy

Dunedin Medical Campus:

  • Harry Wu
  • Josh Read

Neurosciences students:

  • Urshita Jain
  • Jaysha Tippins

External collaborators:

  • Associate Professor Guy Warman (University of Auckland) Bay of Plenty DHB clinical and Research staff enabling multi-site comparison

Dunedin School of Medicine Departmental Awards

General Practice and Rural Health Excellence in Research

  • Professor Tim Stokes

Medicine Excellence in Research

  • Melanie Millier

Women’s and Children’s Excellence in Research Support

  • Shirley Jones

Pathology Excellence in Research

  • Dr Euan Rodger

Bioethics Centre Excellence in Research

  • Professor Jing-Bao Nie

Preventive and Social Medicine Excellence in Research Support

  • Dave Barson
  • Brandon de Graff

Surgical Sciences Excellence in Research Support

  • Fran Munro

Psychological Medicine Excellence in Research

  • Dr Maria Kleinstaeuber

^ Top of page

2019 Awards

^ Top of page

Further information

For further information on these awards, please email:

^ Top of page