Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

‘Our people.Our place.’ embraced in recent Division of Science Excellence Awards

Tuesday 8 December 2020 10:38am

2020 Divisional Awards Group Photo
Left to right: Professor Craig Rodger (on behalf of Luke Reynolds), Dr Jörg Hennig, Dr Christopher Stevens, Professor Jörg Frauendiener, Dr Florian Beyer, Professor Richard Barker, Dr Chanel Phillips, Professor Steve Dawson, Dr Harald Schwefel, Professor Harlene Hayne, Professor Martin Sellbom, Dr Bridie Allan, Dr Mei Peng, Dr David McMorran and Dr Doug Mackie.

The Division of Sciences recently held its biennial Excellence Awards. The range of awards acknowledge the great work across different areas of university life including research, teaching, community engagement, and professional staff support.

Congratulations to all nominees who have worked extremely hard in difficult circumstances this year, and, in particular, to the recipients of each award. The 10 awards reflect the breadth of work undertaken in the Sciences across the Departments, Schools and programmes.

2020 Awards image
The 2020 award.

The 2020 awards coincide with the new positioning of ‘Our people.Our place.’ for the Division, and the physical award was uniquely designed to recognise this. It was designed and constructed as a collaborative effort with thanks to the following: design by Cara Duffy (Sciences Marketing Adviser); the ‘glass mountain’ inside a glass vessel (Anne Ryan, Glassblowing unit); the water sitting on the base of the vessel underneath the mountain (Dr Dave McMorran, Chemistry); and the ‘waka’ (Steven Abernethy, Property Services) fits around the outside of the vessel giving the impression it is floating on top of the water element.

The full of Excellence Award recipients can be found here.