Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Christchurch ceremony celebrates values and success from 2020

Thursday 1 April 2021 3:48pm

chch academic welcome image
Professor Ted Shipton and Dean of the University of Otago, Christchurch Professor David Murdoch.

A long-serving head of department was celebrated along with researchers, educators, staff and students who showed excellence and a commitment to the values of the Christchurch campus during its annual Academic Welcome ceremony.

Professor Ted Shipton was recognised for his leadership and 20-year tenure as head of the Department of Anaesthesia. He retires this week.

The event was also a chance to recognise researchers who have achieved consistently in their output and mentorship over a number of years. This year Associate Professors Anitra Carr and Gabi Dachs, and Professor Tim Woodfield, received a Gold Medal in Research. Associate Professor Dachs is focused on understanding tumours and new ways of treating them as part of the Mackenzie Cancer Research Centre. Associate Professor Carr’s area of expertise is the role of vitamin C in health and disease. Professor Woodfield heads the Christchurch Regenerative Medicine and Tissue Engineering (CReATE) group.

A special award was also given to cardiologist John Elliot for his long service as Trainee Intern convenor.

Professor David Murdoch, Dean of the campus, says values-based awards are given out to students, professional staff, researchers and clinicians who have contributed to the growth and development of campus in line with its cultural values. The campus’ values are integrity, collaboration, social accountability, respect and leadership.

The recipients of the awards were:

Integrity: Amy Henry, Celine Frost, Henry Ritchie, Kenny Chitcholtan and Kim Thomas.

Collaboration: Judy Heslop, Carol Davison, Stef Bozonet, Allison Miller.

Social Accountability: Bronwyn Lennox-Thompson and the March 15 research team.

Respect: Sarah Appleby, Leon Smyth, Margaret Currie, Mat Byers, Scott Hallman, lead administrators Rebekah Higgs, Cathy Mulligan, Diane Ness and their teams.

Leadership: Lisa Stamp, Khoon Lim, Eleanor Burgess, Dali Fan.