Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Christchurch Campus hosts awards for research excellence and values

Monday 10 April 2017 12:50pm

The 2017 winners of Christchurch Campus's Gold Research Medals (clockwise from left) Associate Professor Joe Boden, Professor Lisa Stamp and Professor Andrew Day.

A gastroenterologist, rheumatologist and longitudinal researcher were awarded the Christchurch campus’s top research honour at a ceremony to welcome new staff and students held last month.

The Gold Research Medal is awarded annually to those who demonstrate leadership in research excellence.

This year rheumatologist Professor Lisa Stamp, gastroenterologist Professor Andrew Day, and the Deputy Director of the Christchurch Longitudinal Study, Associate Professor Joe Boden, were awarded medals.

Rheumatologist Professor Stamp’s research is focused on improving the welfare of patients through research into the painful and crippling disorders, rheumatoid arthritis and gout.

Professor Day is Head of the Paediatric Department at the University’s Christchurch campus and conducts research on Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Coeliac Disease and Crohn’s Disease in children to improve treatments and patients’ quality of life.

Associate Professor Boden is Deputy Director of the Christchurch Health and Development Study, which has tracked the progress of more than 1000 children born in Christchurch during the 1970s and influenced Government social policy. He has a particular interest in the life outcomes associated with substance use and abuse, and specific conditions in early life that foster aggression, violence and mental health disorders.

The ceremony is a welcome to new staff and students, and for the first time awards for values such as collaboration, leadership, integrity and community impact were made to staff members and Canterbury DHB members. This acknowledges that factors in addition to academic excellence are important to the success of the campus and those who are part of it.