Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Otago Innovation News

New Chief Executive Officer of Otago Innovation Ltd Announced

Dave C profile Pic 2018Otago Innovation's Board Chair John Ward announces David Christensen as the new CEO. David brings 20+ years of commercial experience to the role. He has been working in the broad area of University technology commercialisation since 2004.

David (also known as Dave) has been with Otago Innovation since 2007, first as a commercialisation manager then moving on to lead the commercialisation team. He then took up the role of General Manager (2016 – 2018) while continuing his management of various projects and spinout company directorships. As an Otago Alumni, David’s involvement with the University of Otago stems back to 2000.

For the University of Otago news link with full story click here!

$60 Proof of Concept grant won by a Revolutionary imaging technology

Amita Deb and Niels KjaergaardDr Amita Deb and Associate Professor Niels Kjaergaard both of the Physics department have won this years Proof of Concept Grant.

Their ground breaking imaging project would allow photos and videos to be taken through solid objects. The proposal, by Dr Deb and Assoc. Prof Niels Kjaergaard would make this possible through the pair's specially developed sensor.

Dr Deb, an Otago Research Fellow who received his PhD in atomic and laser physics from Oxford University, says normal photography involves a camera shutter opening and exposing the camera's sensor to light. However, this does not work when you've got a barrier that is opaque to light in the way.
Dr Deb says the proposal has many applications from military to healthcare, and could revolutionise imaging.

Click this link to view the full Uni news story!

This is the second time someone from outside the Division of Health Sciences has won the Proof of Concept grant in the competition's 12 year history, and the first time anyone from the Division of Sciences has won.

What makes this achievement even more exciting, is that the second ranked project was also submitted by researchers from the Physics department. Dr Sam Lowrey and Associate Professor Zhifa Sun's proposal aims to improve efficiency of heat exchanger units in domestic and industrial settings.