Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Symposium honours research students' year

Friday, 13 October 2017

Hons group_small
Honours students for 2017, with School Dean, Prof. Carlo Marra, Bhamini Rangnekar, Divya Jogia, Anja Mulder, Sonja Bimler, Sebastian Goldsmith, Yuk Hin Shiu, Connor Columbus, Laura Dowd, Priyanki Gandhi, with Programme Coordinator, Dr Shyamal Das.

The Honours students celebrated their research experience at a Symposium on Thursday 5 October, presenting their research to the School community.

Projects ranged from "What coat shall I wear to the Brain? A study of nanoparticle protein adsorption in biological fluids", to "Impact of expanded roles for pharmacists on healthcare inequalities".  Symposium flyer

Congratulations to Sebastian Goldsmith, who took out best oral presentation for his project "Designing a parental formulation of the nootropic drug aniracetam using 2-hydroxypropl-B-cyclodextrin. Sebastian was supervised by Dr Arlene McDowell. Sebastian was presented with a certificate and trophy by the Dean, Prof. Carlo Marra.

The judges, Prof. Steve Duffull, A/Prof. Joel Tyndall and Dr James Green found it difficult distinguishing from the top three, and in the end a joint equal second was awarded to both Laura Dowd and Bhamini Rangnekar.

Laura Dowd presented "Is there a role for paracetamol in the treatment of patent ductus arteriosus" after being supervised by A/Prof. Natalie Medlicott; while Bhamini Rangnekar presented "Formulation and analytical method development for an inhalable triple combination powder containing bedaquiline, moxifloxacin and pyrazinamide to treat multi-drug resistant tuberculosis" having been supervised by Dr Shyamal Das.

Congratulations to all participants, where research excelled, and all presentations showed the work that both the students and supervisors accomplished during the year.  It is hoped that this will encourage research as a career path for some of the group in the future.

The new cohort of Honours students start their research experience from 1 November 2017.

SGoldsmith_smallOral presentation winner Sebastian Goldsmith receiving his certificate from school Dean, Prof. Carlo Marra.