University of Otago emblem    Philosophy

PhD placement

Students who completed philosophy PhDs since 2006 (in some cases jointly supervised with another discipline):

2021 Chloe Wall Advisor, School of Graduate Research, University of Waikato
2019 Charles Gibson Senior Administrator, Information Maintenance, Timetable Services, Otago
2018 André R. Sant'Anna Postdoc, Center of Philosophy of Memory, Université Grenoble Alpes; website
2017 Jon Keyzer Senior Policy Analyst, Ministry of Primary Industries
2017 Unsal Cimen Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Mus Alparslan University, Turkey
2017 Manuel Lechthaler Student Teacher, University of Strathclyde; website
2017 Tiddy Smith Adjunct professor, Universitas Indonesia; website
2017 Ali Hosseinkhani researcher at IPM (Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences), Iran
2016 Guillermo Badia lecturer, University of Queensland; previously postdoc, Johannes Kepler Uni
2015 Hannah Clark-Younger R & D Software Engineer, Soul Machines
2015 Daniel Wee lecturer, Universiti Brunei Darussalam
2015 Kirsten Walsh lecturer, University of Exeter
2014 Paul Broadbent software developer
2014 Hannah Burgess journals publishing assistant, Wiley
2014 Juan Gomez lecturer, Universidad Sergio Arboleda; English teacher, Richmond School (Bogota)
2013 Sarah Grant project editor, Epigeum
2012 Jonathan Jong research fellow and deputy director, Brain, Belief, and Behaviour Research, Coventry University
2008 Mary Butler senior lecturer (occupational therapy), University of Otago
2007 Greg Dawes professor (phil and religion), University of Otago
2007 Glenn Peoples data analyst, Inland Revenue Department
2006 Lynley Anderson associate professor (bioethics), University of Otago
2006 Peter Ogle unknown
2006 Sanjay Thakur ranger, Department of Conservation
2006 Scott Williamson lawyer

MA placement

Students who completed philosophy MAs since 2006:

2020 Finn Butler Administrator, Student Administration, University of Otago
2020 Briony Blackmore PhD programme, University of Otago
2019 Zach Swindlehurst PhD program, Australian National University
2018 Chris Lernpass PhD program, Australian National University
2017 Britta Clark PhD student in Philosophy at Harvard
2017 Sam Pensler PhD student in Philosophy at UCLA
2017 Mike McLeod Professional musician and licensee of The Captain Cook
2016 Duncan Wilson
2016 Trees Beckett Policy Analyst, Ministry of Social Development
2016 Caitlin Fitchett PhD student, Harvard University
2016 Mark Specht Energy Analyst, Oakland California
2014 Charles Gibson PhD student, Otago
2013 James Darcy PhD student, University of Virginia
2013 Lucy Weston-Taylor Database and Research Administrator, Nikau Foundation
2011 Bessie Olsen PhD student, University of Victoria, Wellington
2010 Andrew Donnelly policy analyst, Ministry of Education / PhD University of Sydney 2014
2010 Macintosh Stewart Information Technology Services, Otago / previously assistant professor, Fiji National University / PhD University of Sydney 2014)
2010 Cristy Yonetani trainee teacher, New Zealand Graduate School of Education
2009 Matthew George independent film-maker
2008 Kelvin McQueen assistant professor, Chapman University; previously postdoc at Tel Aviv University / PhD Australian National University 2013
2007 Duncan Eddy local activist
2007 Marco Fahmi library e-services manager, Queensland University of Technology
2007 Emily Jennings EFL teacher, Korea
2007 Holly Lawford-Smith lecturer, University of Melbourne / previously at University of Sheffield / PhD Australian National University
2007 Raamy Majeed lecturer, University of Auckland / previously postdoc at Cambridge, Open University / PhD University of Sydney 2012
2006 Charles Boulton senior policy officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade
2006 Euan Cochrane digital preservation manager, Yale University
2006 Taryn Knox PhD student in bioethics, Otago
2006 Ian Lawson Bard College Berlin / PhD University of Sydney 2015
2006 Dan Sears MA student in TESL at University of Washington
2006 Steven Sue senior policy advisor, Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment