Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

CHARR: Our team

The Centre for Health, Activity and Rehabilitation Research (CHARR) is the research centre for the School of Physiotherapy at Otago.

We are committed to equity, striving for a culture of collaboration, and seeking our research to be interprofessional, interdisciplinary and impactful.


Centre for Health, Activity and Rehabilitation Research staff

CHARR staff group photo image

Visit Our people to meet our researchers.

Meet our research students:

^ Top of page

CHARR research support team

CHARR research is supported by three professional staff members who are employed by the School of Physiotherapy and work as a team with the Director of CHARR.

Cathy Chapple, Director of CHARR

Cathy is the academic member responsible for enabling overall research growth and development.

Donna Keen, Research Co-ordinator

Donna provides strategic support for research in the School, supporting staff and students and working to develop links with community members and external collaborators.

David Jackson, Research Officer

David assists all members of the academic staff by providing research, technical and administrative support in the development and management of projects.

Allan Carman, Research Technician

Allan provides technical support for our research laboratories and specialist equipment.

^ Top of page

CHARR publications

2017 CHARR research activity

2016 CHARR research activity

2015 CHARR research activity

2014 CHARR research activity

2013 CHARR research activity

^ Top of page

Research facilities

Balance and Vestibular research facility

Research carried out in this facility system contributes to the areas of falls prevention, physical activity for neurological and musculoskeletal conditions, and in the better understanding of both the risk factors and rehabilitation strategies for injuries such as concussion and occupational health related conditions. The facility provides a clinical service and contributes to teaching at an undergraduate and postgraduate level.
For more information about the facility:

Balance and Vestibular research facility

^ Top of page

Advisory board

CHARR research is supported by an international advisory board.

Members of the International Advisory Board are recognised research leaders in the profession. They are appointed for a 5 year term. During the time of appointment board members help to support the researchers and graduate students within the Centre.

International advisory board members

^ Top of page


International visitor series 2021

^ Top of page

Further information

Follow us on Twitter @otagoCHARR