Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Politics at Otago

The Department of Politics was established in 1967 and has a well-established record of teaching and research.

In 2017 we celebrated our 50th anniversary, alongside hosting the annual New Zealand Political Studies (NZPSA) conference. You can see the whole list of events we held on our 50 Years of Politics page.

We have 12 academic staff who are experts in their fields, and all are actively engaged in research that enriches their teaching.

We offer Arts undergraduate degrees for students who want to get the opportunity to explore the key political issues in New Zealand and the world, and the big questions of political theory.

Also on offer are PhD's, MA, and Master of Politics (MPOLS) degrees. Our postgraduate students work on a range of research topics such as:

  • China's rise to great power status
  • New Zealand's energy policy
  • Emotional appeals in election advertising
  • Tension between Maori and Western representation approaches
  • The ethical dimension of the EU's foreign policy
  • The place of identity in contemporary demands for increased self-determination

The department also contributes to the following programmes:

  • Master of International Studies (MIntSt)
  • Major in Philosophy, Politics & Economics (PHPE)
  • University of Otago Foreign Policy School

Media & Outreach

Staff regularly contribute to community events, such as University of the Third Age courses in the South Island.

They are often interviewed on radio and TV and contribute analysis pieces to newspapers.

View staff media contributions

Search Otago's staff expertise database