Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Undergraduate Continuing Scholarships

Jolene Patuawa-Tuilave Māori Leadership in Law Scholarship

Funds to support a Māori student stuying full-time towards the final year of a double degree, which includes a Bachelor of Laws.

Bee Nilson Award

Funds to support final year honours or paper year master's students studying Human Nutrition, Food Science or Consumer Food Science.

Dunedin Symphony Scholarship for Orchestral Performance

$5,000 to foster the performance careers of exceptionally talented musicians who have demonstrated a strong and clear commitment to an orchestral career.

University of Otago Study Grants for Māori and Pacific Island Students

$3,000 for Māori and indigenous Pacific Island students progressing to their fourth year of study.

Alexander Leith Bagpipe and Drum Scholarship

Scholarship funding to support first year of a Bachelor of Music degree.

Chris Burks Memorial Bursary

$3,000 for a second year resident of Carrington College, who has contributed towards the welfare of others.

David A Grant Memorial Scholarships in Scottish Piping and Scottish Drumming

To assist astudents who have demonstrated outstanding ability in either Scottish piping or Scottish drumming

Deutsche Bank Financial Markets and Investment Banking Scholarship

Up to two scholarships are awarded annually to full-time students in their penultimate year of either a Bachelors degree with Honours or combined Honours in Economics, Finance, Accounting, or Economics and Statistics; or a double degree in Law and Commerce, where the major subject for the Commerce degree is one or more of Economics, Finance, Accounting, or Economics and Statistics.

Students completing their Bachelors degree this year who are intending to proceed to postgraduate (ie PGDipCom or MBus) courses next year in Accounting, Economics or Finance are also encouraged to apply.

$2,500 per year for two years

Donald Scott Memorial Scholarship in Freshwater Ecology

$5,000 to support students enrolling in Postgraduate 4th year or Honours with a focus on New Zealand waterways/river ecology.

Dr Emily Hancock Siedeberg Scholarship

$1,250 for a female student in the fourth year of an MB ChB.

E Rewa Begg Scholarship

$2,000 towards the second year of study in the field of  commerce.

James Renfrew White Bachelor of Medical Science (Honours) Scholarship

$5,000 stipend to support students enrolled in the Bachelor of Medical Science with Honours degree in a surgical discipline. 

Lumino – Bachelor of Oral Health Scholarship

$3,000 to recognise excellent students who are about to commence their final year of the Bachelor of Oral Health Programme.

Manaaki New Zealand Scholarships at the University of Otago

Scholarships to support students from developing countries to study at New Zealand universities.

New Zealand Medical Women's Association Elective Scholarship

Up to the value of $500 for female medical students in the final year of their MB ChB.

Philip Ashton Smithells Memorial Scholarship

$3,000 for a student progressing to their third year of study for an undergraduate bachelor’s degree programme within the School of Physical Education and Exercise Sciences.

Philip Neill Memorial Prize in Music

Awarded annually for excellence in original composition to a past or present student of a university of New Zealand.

Philippa Sweetman Scholarship

$850  for a student going into or in their third or final year of a University of Otago Bachelors degree majoring in one of the principal disciplines of the former Home Science/Consumer and Applied Science Programme i.e: Clothing and Textile Sciences, Social Work, Food Science, or Human Nutrition.

SIX60 Scholarship

The SIX60 Scholarship offers students with an interest in music and performing arts a rent rebate to flat at 660 Castle Street, along with access to a University of Otago recording studio and interaction and mentoring opportunities from the members of the band SIX60.

The Barbara Heslop Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship is to assist students to undertake one year research degrees - BMedSc(Hons) for medical students, BSc(Hons) or BBiomedSc(Hons) - in the disciplines of Pathology or Immunology

The Class of 1979 Undergraduate Medical Scholarship

$3,000 for a student in the second or third year of their MB ChB.

The Elizabeth Jean Trotter Undergraduate (300-level) Scholarship in Biomedical Sciences

Funding to support students who are undertaking a Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences at the University of Otago.

The Miles and Jillian Hursthouse Scholarship

$10,000 to support students undertaking a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MB ChB) who show academic aptitude and financial need.

The Newick and Springford Scholarship

$10,000 for a student in their third, fourth, or fifth year of study towards a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MB ChB) or a Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS).

The Sophia McMillan Crestani Memorial University Scholarship

$4,500 towards living costs for a second-year female student studying any discipline.

The Sophia Michelle McMillan Crestani Memorial Scholarship

$4,500 towards living costs for female students studying 2nd year Mathematics.

Total Surveying Solutions (TSS) Leadership Scholarship

Funding to support students undertaking SURV499.

University of Otago Scholarships, Prestige and Named Prestige Scholarships (awarded for 300-Level academic achievement)

Scholarships are awarded by the University Council on the basis of high academic achievement.

The Salvation Army Marie Fitness Endowment Scholarship

Funds to support young people with demonstrated financial hardship and who are from an under-privileged background to study Dentistry, Medicine or Pharmacy.

Energy Education Trust NZ Undergraduate/Honours Scholarship

$5,000 for students with a specific interest in energy issues.

Freemasons Scholarships

Scholarship funding to support students who contribute to their community.

N G Stewart Scholarship

$1,500 for students with a disability.

Simpson Grierson Law Scholarship

The Simpson Grierson Law Scholarships have been discontinued.

Campbell-White Scholarship

 $6,000 for a student studying full-time towards a degree of Bachelor of Surveying, Bachelor of Applied Science, or Bachelor of Science majoring in Geology, Surveying, or Applied Geology.

The Eamon Cleary Trust Honours Study Scholarship

$3,000 scholarship for students enrolled at the University of Otago in a 400 level paper with an Irish Studies focus