Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

News and events

Friends of the Hocken Collection award winner announced

Wednesday, 4 March 2020 2:54pm

Dr Jonathan West, author of The Face of Nature: An Environmental History of the Otago Peninsula (Otago University Press), has been named the Friends of the Hocken Collection Award winner for 2020.
The award of $10,000 is to assist towards the writing of Mirrors of the Land, a major history of New Zealand lakes.

^ Top of Page

2019 Landfall essay competition joint winners profound and persuasive

Tuesday, 1 October 2019 11:34am

Wellington writer Tobias Buck and London based New Zealand writer Nina Mingya Powles are the joint winners of the 2019 Landfall Essay Prize. Each receive $1500 and a year’s subscription to Landfall. The winning entries will be published in Landfall 238, available in November 2019. Some 64 anonymous entries were received in this year’s competition, down on last year’s 91.

^ Top of Page

Top prize for Hudson & Halls book

Wednesday, 15 May 2019 12:28pm

Hudson & Halls: The food of love by Joanne Drayton won the Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-fiction at the 2019 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

^ Top of Page

Winner of 2019 Young Writers' Essay Competition announced

Monday, 6 May 2019 4:55pm

Landfall, New Zealand’s leading journal of arts and literature, is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2019 Charles Brasch Young Writers’ Essay Competition is seventeen-year-old Jack McConnell, whose essay is titled ‘The Taniwha, Moderation of Our Human Pursuits’.