Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

OUP authors among winners of the 2017 Prime Minister’s Awards 

Friday, 4 August 2017 3:43pm

pm_awards_2017Two authors published by Otago University Press are among the winners of the 2017 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.
Literary historian and fine arts writer Peter Simpson collected the award for non-fiction, and popular poet and children’s author Paula Green collected the award for poetry.
The other winner is internationally renowned Māori novelist Witi Ihimaera.
Peter Simpson edited and introduced the second volume of the Charles Brasch journals (released this year by Otago University Press) and is completing work on the third volume for release in 2018.
Paula Green is the author of the forthcoming book Wild Honey: Reading New Zealand Women’s Poetry, which will be published by Otago University Press in 2018.
Each will be awarded $60,000 in recognition of their outstanding contribution to New Zealand literature.
Arts Council Chair Michael Moynahan said, “Our congratulations to this year’s recipients who are being recognised for their extraordinary legacy of literary achievement. As leaders in their respective crafts, they have engaged New Zealand readers with their story telling and have inspired other New Zealand writers to build on their literary legacy.”
The Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement were established in 2003. Nominations are assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval.  This year’s selection panel was Rachael King, Nicola Legat, David Eggleton and Briar Grace-Smith.