Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu


Dean Macaulay imageDirector

Dean Macaulay

Tel 64 3 479 8016
Email dean.macaulay@otago.ac.nz

Dean has multi-national experience in facilities management, strategic procurement and maintenance planning. His extensive experience includes managing large teams and diverse property portfolios in high risk environments.

Dean started his role at the University of Otago in 2018, after working in Melbourne as head of facilities and asset management at United Petroleum. He has long-held a desire to work in the university sector because it offers a wide range of diverse properties and space needs, while asset performance will provide a unique opportunity.


MargaretHendersonPersonal Assistant to the Director

Margaret Henderson

Tel 64 3 479 8055
Email margaret.henderson@otago.ac.nz

Margaret is the main contact for the Director of Property Services and is the first point of contact for enquiries to the divisional office. She arranges all meetings for the Director and Senior Management Team within Property Services and plays a pivotal role in ensuring divisional activities and tasks are run successfully and to timetable.

With her vast knowledge of the University network, she manages or delegates the required tasks and administrative functions for the divisional office, ensuring appropriate levels of support are provided to the Director and staff, and that specific deadlines are met.


PaulBenjaminDepartmental Health & Safety Officer

Paul Benjamin

Tel 64 021 279 8236
Email paul.benjamin@otago.ac.nz

More on Health & Safety 



Finance & Business Support ManagerMatthewAblett

Matthew Ablett

Tel 64 3 479 8260
Email matthew.ablett@otago.ac.nz

More on Finance & Business Support



GenericOperations Manager

Garry Grindley

Tel 64 3 479 5064
Email garry.grindley@otago.ac.nz

More on Operations



MurrayGrayProperty Management Manager

Murray Gray

Tel 64 3 479 3926
Email murray.gray@otago.ac.nz

More on Property Management