Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Sciences Kaiāwhina Network

Māori science student support

Along with the support from the Māori Sciences at Otago team we are fortunate to have an extended Māori science student support group known as the Sciences Kaiāwhina Network. This rōpū is made up of staff from our science departments who provide course advice, who can connect you with academics or paper coordinators within the department, connect you with senior students, support Māori development and a friendly face to visit in your department. If you want to connect with a kaiāwhina in your department check out the links below.

Department Contact person Phone Email
Anatomy Brad Hurren
Rebecca Bird
+64 3 471 6277
+64 3 471 6277
bradley.hurren@otago.ac.nz
rebecca.bird@otago.ac.nz
Biochemistry Sharleen Rae-Whitcombe
Megan Leask
+64 3 479 7083
+64 3 479 4167
sharleen.rae-whitcombe@otago.ac.nz
megan.leask@otago.ac.nz
Botany Janice Lord +64 3 479 5131 janice.lord@otago.ac.nz
Chemistry Eng W. Tan (Tan) +64 3 479 7926 ewtan@chemistry.otago.ac.nz
Computer Science Steven Mills +64 3 479 8501 steven@cs.otago.ac.nz
Ecology Katja Schweikert
Anna Wood

+64 3 479 6164
katja.schweikert@botany.otago.ac.nz
anna.wood@otago.ac.nz
Food Science Miranda Mirosa
Sarah Johnson
+64 3 479 7953
+64 3 479 7544
miranda.mirosa@otago.ac.nz
sarah.johnson@otago.ac.nz
Genetics Gillian Mackay +64 3 479 7937 gillian.mackay@otago.ac.nz
Geography Michelle Thompson-Fawcett
Ben Varkalis
+64 3 479 8762
+64 3 479 9241
mtf@geography.otago.ac.nz
btv@geography.otago.ac.nz
Geology Andrew Gorman
Sophie Briggs
Christian Ohneiser
+64 3 479 7516

+64 3 479 7350
andrew.gorman@otago.ac.nz
sophie.briggs@otago.ac.nz
christian.ohneiser@otago.ac.nz
Human Nutrition Sheila Skeaff
Mary Spiers
Haidee Ryan
+64 3 479 7944
+64 3 471 6278
sheila.skeaff@otago.ac.nz
mary.spiers@otago.ac.nz
haidee.ryan@otago.ac.nz
Marine Science Miles Lamare +64 3 479 7463 miles.lamare@otago.ac.nz
Mathematics
and Statistics
Phillip Wilcox +64 3 479 7771 phillip.wilcox@otago.ac.nz
Microbiology
and Immunology
Megan Hall megan.hall@otago.ac.nz
Pharmacology
and Toxicology
Sarah Baird +64 3 479 7261 s.baird@otago.ac.nz
Physical Education Margie Lazar
Danny Poa
+64 3 479 5263
+64 3 479 9113
marguerita.lazar@otago.ac.nz
danny.poa@otago.ac.nz
Physics Terry Scott +64 3 479 7741 terry.scott@otago.ac.nz
Physiology Toni-Ann Alsop
Mike Gill
+64 3 479 5773
+64 3 479 5988
toni-ann.alsop@otago.ac.nz
mike.gill@otago.ac.nz
Psychology Sarahmarie Kuroko
Gareth Treharne
Elizabeth Schaughency
Rachel Zajac
Jules Gross

+64 3 479 7630
+64 3 479 5864
+64 3 479 3988
+64 3 479 8843
kaiawhina@psy.otago.ac.nz
gtreharne@psy.otago.ac.nz
schaughe@psy.otago.ac.nz
rachelz@psy.otago.ac.nz
jules@psy.otago.ac.nz
Centre for
Science Communication
Steve Ting +64 3 479 5676 steve.ting@otago.ac.nz
Subject Librarians
for Sciences
Lynne Knapp
Bronwyn Clarke
+64 3 479 7410
+64 3 479 7486
lynne.knapp@otago.ac.nz
bronwyn.clarke@otago.ac.nz
Surveying Christine Hulbe
James Berghen
Mick Strack
+64 3 479 7613

+64 3 479 7603
christina.hulbe@otago.ac.nz
james.berghan@otago.ac.nz
mick.strack@otago.ac.nz
Zoology Alison Cree +64 3 479 7482 alison.cree@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page