Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people

Staff and students

Head of programme

Professor Chris Brickell
Sexuality, gay studies, masculinity, histories of adolescence

Academic staff

Associate Professor Melanie Beres
Sexual consent; sexuality; sexual violence; qualitative research methods

Professor Chris Brickell
Sexuality, gay studies, masculinity, histories of adolescence

Professor Hugh Campbell
Rural sociology; agriculture; food; neoliberalism; governance

Associate Professor Annabel Cooper
Cultural politics and history of gender; place, memory and identity; film and media; screen narratives of the New Zealand Wars

Associate Professor Marcelle Dawson Chair - School of Social Sciences Postgraduate Committee and  Humanities International Exchange Adviser
Social movements and popular protest; alternative futures; decolonial studies; social identities

Associate Professor Anita Gibbs
FASD (Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder); adoption and fostering; disability; social work research

Dr Fairleigh Gilmour
Sex work governance; race, gender and class in media representations of crime; the intersections of crime, addiction and mental health

Dr Bryndl Hohmann-Marriott 
Family demography; childbearing; quantitative research methods

Dr Lesley Procter

Dr Natalie Smith

Dr Rebecca Stringer  Chair - Postgraduate Committee
The social construction of victimhood; feminist theory and politics; Nietzsche – life and works

Associate Professor Martin Tolich
Research ethics; vulnerable families; qualitative research

Dr Patrick Vakaoti
Youth participation; street-frequenting youth; pacific social and community work

Dr Yuki Watanabe
Gender in popular media; masculinity and femininity of Japan

Administrative staff

Bronwyn Craig Administrator Client Services

Natasha George Administrator Client Services

Helen O'Sullivan Administrator Client Services

PhD students

Mariam Abdul-Dayyem
Peyton Bond
Mei Qing (Joanna) Chin
Jin Yi (Louisa) Choe
Simon Clay
Suddhabrata Deb Roy
Katelyn Ferguson
Kirsten Gibson
Stephen Glassey
Sandhiya Gounder
Hannah Herchenbach
Joshua James
Cassandra Joseph
Supriya Koipurathu Rajappan
Rudi Kresna
Adriu Naduva
Angella Ndaka
Romulo Jr. Nieva
Nishanthi Perera
Laura Schilperoort
Tahere Siisiialafia
Kayla Stewart
Abbigale Virens

Masters students

Helen Bollinger
Trixie Croad
Charlotte Bruce Kells
Kirsten Koch
Rachel Shaw
Laura Starling


A list of our graduates with links to their masters' and doctoral theses