Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

PE Alumni recognised in the Queen's 90th Birthday Honours List 2016

Wednesday 15 June 2016 2:17pm

Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit

Thomas (Tom) Hullena, DipSpSt 1999, MNZM
For services to education

Mr Tom Hullena is a highly acclaimed Principal with more than 30 years of dedicated service to education, including four years as a lecturer, research and teacher-educator at Victoria University.

In 2015 Mr Hullena retired as Principal of Makoura College, a low decile school in Masterton which in 2008 was destined for closure due to a range of performance and financial issues.

Appointed as Principal of the College in 2009 he led the school through a period of transformational change involving significant philosophical, cultural and structural innovation.

This has resulted in a student-centred approach to learning where the needs and interests of students drive the curriculum and the development of a school culture based on the concepts of care, inclusion, effective relationships, high expectations, and personal and social responsibility.

Makoura College is now a highly successful and collaborative school.

The school was the winner of the 2014 Prime Ministers Education Excellence Award, the Atakura Award for ‘Excellence in Leading’.


Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit

Graham Stewart Young, DipPhEd 1967, MNZM
For services to education

Mr Graham Young was Principal of Tauranga Boys’ College from 1985 through to 2008 and has since been Educational Leadership and Management Advisor at the University of Waikato.

Mr Young introduced a number of new concepts to the school, including having advanced students take university courses whilst still at school.

He was a driving force behind the construction of the Whare Wananga at the College as a place to learn Māori language and culture. He has served on many national education bodies, including the Secondary Principals’ Lead Group and the Ministry of Education Reference Group.

He has been President of the Secondary Principals’ Association New Zealand.

He is currently Secondary Director of the National Aspiring Principals Programme, facilitator of a number of Principals Professional Learning Groups, a member of the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council, and Advisor and Facilitator for the Bay of Plenty Principals’ Association.

He was a ministerial appointment to the Board of NZQA during its formative years.

Mr Young has contributed to the wider Tauranga community through his involvement in steering groups to establish the Tauranga Branch of Foundation Alcohol and Drug Education, the Life Education Trust in Tauranga, and driving the steering committee to launch the Bay of Plenty Sports Foundation and consequently serving as a Trustee.