Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Implementation FAQs

Browse the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) from staff about the SSR implementation phase.

To view SSR review phase FAQs, please visit the SSR archive section of this website.

Management of Change

  1. What are the six possible scenarios for positions in a Management of Change?

    1. No change: where it is proposed that the persons' position and reporting lines remain unchanged.

    2. Minor change: where there is a proposed change to a position's duties, reporting line and/or terms and conditions of employment that are not sufficient to require a change process.

    3. Many to few: when current roles continue unchanged, but there are fewer of them, a selection process is undertaken. This determines from the current staff in the role (many) which individuals will remain in the roles (few). This selection process is limited to the staff currently doing this role.

    4. Combination: it is possible to have a combination of two and three.

    5. Significant change: where a person's position is proposed to be changed so significantly that it effectively no longer exists.

    6. Affected: where a person's position is proposed to be completely disestablished.

  2. Will I continue to work in my current department?

    Some staff will continue to work in their current departments, others may not. We are asking staff to indicate their preference for their primary workplace location as we are aware that some staff would prefer to remain with their current colleagues; others would like to work in a different area and others are not overly concerned either way.

  3. If I am redeployed to a position at a lower level than my current role, will I receive salary protection?

    Yes. Salary can be preserved by the employee agreeing to one of the following ways:

    Option 1: A lump sum to make up for the loss of basic pay for the 24 months immediately following redeployment. The lump sum will not be abated by any subsequent salary increase; or

    Option 2: An on-going allowance for the 24 months immediately following redeployment equivalent to the difference between the present salary (including superannuation) and the new salary. The allowance will be abated by any subsequent salary increase for the new position during the 24 month period; or

    Option 3: When employees who have approval to retire within 5 years are appointed to a position carrying a lower salary, such employees will retain their present grade and salary unabated and their salary will be increased in line with any subsequent salary increases. This difference cannot be cashed up.
    During the SSR Management of change this option will be available to staff who wish to retire within five years who do not already have approval to retire. The decision to retire, including a retirement date, would be documented in the letter sent to staff offering redeployment to a position at a lower level.

  4. When will new positions be advertised?

    We anticipate new roles will be advertised from the middle of June 2018.

  5. If I am confirmed into a role, or accept redeployment to a lower level role, can I apply for new positions that will be advertised?

    Yes. There will be a number of new positions advertised and staff should not hesitate to apply for any positions that are of interest to them and/or would provide them with career development opportunities. The University expects a certain level of turnover of roles with a change process of this size.

When would the new roles come into effect?

There are different dates for the new roles to come into effect as follows:

  • Finance Advisory from 18 June 2018
  • Administration from 24 September 2018
  • Student Administration from 3 September 2018

Specific information is provided in writing to individuals.

  1. If I am confirmed into role at my current level, will I stay on the same salary step?

    Yes you would.

  2. How do I get up to speed if I am appointed to a new position – will there be training?

    Absolutely training will be provided. We will ensure that people appointed to roles are able to succeed and staff will be supported to make successful transitions to new roles. While periods of transition can be challenging, the right attitudes, a shared desire to make things work, and support for staff including targeted training, coaching and individual support will give us every opportunity to succeed.

  3. When is my reporting line changing?

    Many professional staff will have a change of reporting line as a result of structural changes and the time for this to occur will vary according to each group. As the transition to the new organisation structure is being phased in over a number of months, changes of reporting lines will not result in immediate change to the day to day activities of many staff. The letters that were distributed during the management of change process will have the reporting line change date for individuals.

  4. What is happening with the PDR process?

    The PDR for the 2018/2019 will operate as outlined in the current PDR policy (PDR) . It is important that staff have the opportunity for their performance to be reviewed and where appropriate, to be considered for a salary increase. The process has been adapted to accommodate the organisational changes particularly the changes in reporting lines and roles. The PDR process will be divided into two distinct parts:

    1.          1. Review of performance for 2017/18 and
    2.          2. Objective setting for the 2018/19 period

    The formal PDR meeting(s)/review (Part 1) will occur between 1 August and 31 October 2018. The when and how will depend on the situation of each staff member. If the manager is unchanged then they will complete parts 1 and 2.

    Where a staff member has a new manager, part 1 will be completed by the previous manager. Part 2 completed by the new manager, although this may be delayed depending on appointment dates. It is expected that managers will work together on the PDR to ensure PDRs are completed appropriately for every staff member.

  5. ^ Top of page

Jobs

  1. Where can I find job listings?

    While some vacancies will be promoted in the regular SSR Project Update newsletter that is emailed to all staff, for a full list of all vacancies, please visit the Current Vacancies section of the HR website.

  2. When can I view organisation charts?

    Organisation charts will be published to an appropriate level following each of the Staff Information Sessions. Until we have consulted with staff potentially impacted by the changes, we cannot release organisation charts, as this would pre-empt the necessary formal communication with those individuals.

  3. Will there be part-time positions available?

    We anticipate that there will be part-time positions available. As is currently the case, individual managers will be responsible for determining the best mix of full and part-time positions in their areas in order to meet business requirements.

  4. Can I apply for multiple jobs?

    You are able to apply for more than one position. We advise that you look at all the job descriptions online, and apply for jobs that look interesting to you or fit in with your career aspirations.

  5. Can I keep my existing flexible/part-time hours?

    If you have been confirmed in your position, your current employment conditions, including hours of work, remain unchanged.

    If you would like to change your hours of work this should be discussed with your current manager or during the recruitment process. Managers are responsible for staffing their structure, taking into account the needs of staff and operational requirements.

    ^ Top of page

Voluntary Redundancy

  1. Is there a stand down period for staff who receive redundancy, but who then want to apply for another role at the University of Otago?

    No, there is no stand down period. When an individual expresses interest in voluntary redundancy, they typically do this to leave the University of Otago to pursue other options. Staff who do wish to continue working at the University, will have an increased likelihood of being able to do so as the number of staff willing to take voluntary redundancies increases.

  2. ^ Top of page

Redeployment

  1. What does 'redeployment' mean?

    Redeployment is the process of appointing staff to alternative roles, thereby continuing their employment, when their current position has been disestablished.

    The University will notify affected staff of the existence of redeployment opportunities, and staff can apply for as many of these as they choose.

    More information about redeployment at the University of Otago is detailed in employment agreements, Appendix C - Management of Change. 

  2. How does salary preservation work?

    If you are redeployed to a role at a lower level you will receive an allowance for two years to make up the difference to your current salary. If your redeployment takes effect after 1 July 2018 you would also receive any increase negotiated this year, applied from 1 July 2018.

    The allowance would then abate with any across the board increases applied in subsequent years – most likely 1 July 2019 and 1 July 2020. So in practice your salary will go up but the allowance would decrease by the same amount for two years. At the end of two years the allowance stops and your salary remains at the top of the level with any across the board increases being applied thereafter.

^ Top of page