Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people

Dean of School

Christina Hulbe

Dean of School and Professor

Location

Surveying Building, 1st floor, Room 130

Telephone

+64 3 479 7613

Email

christina.hulbe@otago.ac.nz

Kaiawhina (Māori and Pacific Islands student support)

Mick Strack

Senior Lecturer

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 110

Telephone

+64 3 479 7603

Email

mick.strack@otago.ac.nz

Academic Staff

Jim Bazsika Profile

Jim Bazsika

Professional Practice Fellow

Areas of Interest

Cadastral, Introductory Surveying

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 126

Telephone

+64 3 479 7594

Email

jim.bazsika@otago.ac.nz

Paul Denys Profile

Paul H. Denys

Senior Lecturer

Areas of Interest

GPS, Geodesy, Earth Deformation, Sea Level Rise

Location

Surveying Building, 1st floor, Room 125

Telephone

+64 3 479 7596

Email

paul.denys@otago.ac.nz

Crystal Filep Headshot_1_5c

Crystal Filep

Lecturer

Areas of Interest

Urban Theory, Urban Design Practices, Urban Landscapes and Contemporary Society, Architecture and Philosophy/Theology, Design and Identity, Creative Research Methods

Location

Surveying Building, 1st floor, Room 111

Telephone

+64 3 479 9010

Email

crystal.filep@otago.ac.nz

David Goodwin Profile

David Goodwin

Senior Lecturer

Areas of Interest

Socially-based land tenure in transition, cadastre, archaeoastronomy, and literary cartography

Location

Surveying Building, 1st floor, Room 121a

Telephone

+64 3 479 6540

Email

david.goodwin@otago.ac.nz

Kelly Gragg Profile

Kelly Gragg

Scientific Officer

Areas of Interest

Software, Data Collection, Data Analysis, Data Management

Location

Surveying Building 2nd Floor, Room 208

Telephone

+64 3 479 7602

Email

kelly.gragg@otago.ac.nz

Richard Hemi Profile

Richard Hemi

Professional Practice Fellow

Areas of Interest

Cadastral Surveying, Land Development Planning, Engineering Surveying

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 121b

Telephone

+64 3 479 7595

Email

richard.hemi@otago.ac.nz

Christina Hulbe Profile

Christina Hulbe

Dean of School and Professor

Areas of Interest

Glaciers and Polar Ice Sheets Modelling

Location

Surveying Building, 1st floor, Room 130

Telephone

+64 3 479 7613

Email

christina.hulbe@otago.ac.nz

Fraser Jopson

Fraser Jopson

Professional Practice Fellow

Areas of Interest

Project Management, Construction Management, Land Development Engineering

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 121c

Telephone

+64 3 479 9008

Email

fraser.jopson@otago.ac.nz

Greg Leonard Profile

Greg Leonard

Senior Lecturer

Areas of Interest

Antarctic Sea Ice, Polar Oceanography, GIS, Environmental Modelling, Civil Engineering

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 119

Telephone

+64 3 479 5075

Email

greg.leonard@otago.ac.nz

Aubrey Miller

Aubrey Miller

Professional Practice Fellow

Areas of Interest

GIS Geospatial Analysis

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 118

Telephone

+64 3 479 5395

Email

aubrey.miller@otago.ac.nz

Tony Moore Profile

Antoni Moore

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

GIS, Geovisualization, Cartography, Spatial Databases, Spatial Analysis, Geographical Modeling

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 128

Telephone

+64 3 479 7589

Email

tony.moore@otago.ac.nz

Robert Odolinski Profile

Robert Odolinski

Senior Lecturer

Areas of Interest

Geodesy, GNSS, RTK

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 127

Telephone

+64 3 479 5401

Email

robert.odolinski@otago.ac.nz

Pascal Sirguey Profile

Pascal Sirguey

Senior Lecturer

Areas of Interest

Remote Sensing, Photogrammetry, Spatial Analysis, GIS, Cryosphere, UAV/RPAS

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 115

Telephone

+64 3 479 7698

Email

pascal.sirguey@otago.ac.nz

Mick Strack Profile-small

Mick Strack

Senior Lecturer

Areas of Interest

Land tenure, Māori land, Customary rights

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 110

Telephone

+64 3 479 7603

Email

mick.strack@otago.ac.nz

Emily Tidey Profile

Emily Tidey

Lecturer

Areas of Interest

Hydrographic Surveying

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 112

Telephone

+64 3 479 7587

Email

emily.tidey@otago.ac.nz

Support Staff

Mike Denham2

Mike Denham

Technical Officer

Location

Surveying Building Ground Floor, Room G06

Telephone

+64 3 479 5026

Email

mike.denham@otago.ac.nz

Ray Mclennan

Ray McLennan

Technical Officer

Location

Surveying Building Ground Floor, Room G06

Telephone

+64 3 479 5110

Email

ray.mclennan@otago.ac.nz

Alastair Neaves Profile

Alastair Neaves

Senior Technical Officer

Location

Surveying Building Ground Floor, Room G05

Telephone

+64 3 479 7590

Email

alastair.neaves@otago.ac.nz

Marg Newall Profile

Marg Newall

School Administrator

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 131

Telephone

+64 3 479 7585

Email

margaret.newall@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Webster profile

Fiona Webster

Secretary

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 131

Telephone

+64 3 479 7585

Email

fiona.webster@otago.ac.nz

Postdoctoral and Research Fellows

Chris Pearson Profile 2018

Chris Pearson

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Areas of Interest

Tectonics, Geodetic Reference Systems

Location

Surveying Building 1st Floor, Room 124

Telephone

+64 3 479 5095

Email

chris.pearson@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professors

John Hannah

Emeritus Professor

Areas of Interest

Geodesy, Sea Level Change, Professional Education

Postgraduate Students