Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Te Poutama Māori Research

Māori academics are involved in research spanning all three of the University’s campuses (Dunedin, Wellington, Christchurch) and all Divisions (Humanities, Sciences, Health Sciences, Commerce/ Otago Business School). Many collaborate with Māori and non-Māori communities.

Poutama Ara Rau

Launched in early 2016, Poutama Ara Rau is a flagship Te Poutama Māori research programme lead by Māori academics at Otago.

Poutama Ara Rau has been successfully recognised as a new University of Otago Research Theme.

The research theme is focused on increasing the international reputation for Otago’s research excellence in ako (Māori learning and teaching) grounded in mātauranga Māori (Māori knowledge) and Māori pedagogies.

Poutama Ara Rau is a multidisciplinary research collaboration that will develop and encourage translational Māori research embedded in theory and methods for application across research, supervision and teaching; offer unique opportunities for Otago’s staff and students; and build on significant disciplinary-specific Māori successes in ako at Otago to create new knowledge in curricula, leadership and innovation strategically aligned with national strategies and positioned for external funding possibilities.

University of Otago Māori research units

Māori academics at Otago are leading several Māori focused research units. For example, see the stunning work being done at:

Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga New Zealand's Māori Centre of Research Excellence

Many of Otago's Māori academics have had a long association with Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga.

In 2016, the co-chair of Te Poutama Māori, Associate Professor Jacinta Ruru, will join Associate Professor Tracey McIntosh from The University of Auckland as co-director of Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga. Dr Emma Wyeth, from the Department of Preventive and Social Medicine and Director of Te Rōpu Rangahau Hauora Māori o Ngāi Tahu (Ngāi Tahu Māori Health Research Unit) will be appointed co-deputy director in 2016.

See the University of Otago media release 'Otago key partner in Māori Centre of Research Excellence'.

National Science Challenges

Some of our Māori academics at Otago are involved in several of the National Science Challenges. For example:

  • Dr Phillip Wilcox (Otago’s Department of Mathematics and Statistics), is currently Kaihautū Māori for the “Real-Time Biological Heritage Assessment” Programme in the Biological Heritage National Science Challenge which includes contributing to the Science Leadership Group of this Challenge
  • Dr Katharina Ruckstuhl is a member of the Senior Management Team of the Science for Technological Innovation Science Challenge and is co-leading Portfolio 1 ‘Building New Zealand’s Innovation Capacity’ along with Professor Sally Davenport of the University of Victoria Wellington. The team includes Te Poutama Māori members Dr Diane Ruwhiu, Professor Paul Tapsell and Associate Professor Merata Kawharu.
  • Professor Jacinta Ruru (Otago’s Faculty of Law) is Co-Principal Investigator with Dr Phil Lyver (Landcare Research and Project Leader) and Dr Sanna Malinen (Department of Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship, University of Canterbury) on a project entitled ‘Customary approaches and practices for optimising cultural and ecological resilience’ in the Biological Heritage National Science Challenge.

Research Grants

Here are some opportunities for internally and externally funded Māori research.