Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Theology people

Head of Programme

Revd Associate Professor Christopher Holmes (on RSL until 1 February 2021)
Room 4S6, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 5394
Email christopher.holmes@otago.ac.nz

Academic staff

Associate Professor Tim Cooper (Head, School of Arts)
Room 1C7, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 5760
Email tim.cooper@otago.ac.nz

Revd Dr James Harding (Acting Head of Programme until 31 January 2021)
Room 4S9, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 5392
Email james.harding@otago.ac.nz

Dr Brett Knowles (Teaching Fellow in Church History)
Room 4S5 Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 3144
Email brett.knowles@otago.ac.nz

Dr Katie Marcar (Teaching Fellow in Biblical Languages)
Course adviser for undergraduate students
Room 4S12, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 9789
Email katie.marcar@otago.ac.nz

Dr Don Moffat (Sir Paul Reeves' Lecturer in Biblical Studies)
St John's Theological College, Auckland
Tel +64 9 521 2725
Email don.moffat@otago.ac.nz

Professor Murray Rae (on RSL until 14 May 2021)
Room 4S7, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 5393
Email murray.rae@otago.ac.nz

Dr Andrew Shepherd (Lecturer – Theology and Public Issues)
Wellington Anglican Centre, Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara
Mob +64 27 602 3500
Email andrew.shepherd@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lynne Taylor
Room 4S1, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 5358
Email lynne.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Revd Dr Wayne Te Kaawa (Lecturer in Māori Theology)
Room 4S3, Arts Building
Tel +64 479 6458
Email wayne.tekaawa@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Tombs (Director, Centre for Theology and Public Issues)
Room 4S8, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 8450
Email david.tombs@otago.ac.nz

Professor Paul Trebilco
Course adviser for postgraduate students
Room 4S2, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 8798
Email paul.trebilco@otago.ac.nz

Revd Dr Kevin Ward
Room 4S5, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 3144
Email kevin.ward@otago.ac.nz

Check out our Otago Theology Blog, written by Theology Staff

Administrative staff

Sharon Pine (Administrator, Client Services)

Room 4C13, Arts Building
Tel +64 3 479 8639
Email theology@otago.ac.nz

After hours or urgent queries: please contact AskOtago

Tel 0800 80 80 98
Email university@otago.ac.nz

Postgraduate students

You will find information on our Masters and PhD students' research topics on this page.

Visiting scholars

Each year we welcome visiting academics from around the world.