Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Medicine

Ō mātou tāngata

Head of Department

Professor Jean Hay-Smith (Acting HoD until 22 July 2022)
Professor of Rehabilitation
Tel +64 3 474 7007
Email jean.hay-smith@otago.ac.nz

Professor Anna Ranta (on Research and Study Leave until 22 July 2022)
Professor of Neurology
Tel +64 4 806 2581
Email anna.ranta@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Deputy Head of Department

Professor Jeremy Krebs
Professor of Medicine
Tel +64 4 918 5894
Email jeremy.krebs@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professor Emeritus

Professor Emeritus Carl Burgess

^ Top of page

Professors

Julian Crane
Professor of Epidemiology
Tel +64 4 918 5258
Email julian.crane@otago.ac.nz

Mark Weatherall
Professor of Medicine
Tel +64 4 918 4817
Email mark.weatherall@otago.ac.nz

Alister Neill
Professor of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine
Tel +64 4 918 5618
Email alister.neill@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Adjunct Professor

Richard Beasley
Respiratory Medicine
Tel +64 4 805 0230
Email richard.beasley@mrinz.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Associate Professors

Angela Campbell
WellSleep
Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email angela.campbell@otago.ac.nz

William Taylor
Tel +64 4 918 4801
Email will.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Andrew Harrison
Tel +64 4 918 5593
Email andrew.harrison@otago.ac.nz

Rebecca Grainger
Tel +64 4 918 4031
Email rebecca.grainger@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Clinical Associate Professors

Dr Sinead Donnelly
Internal Medicine
Email sinead.donnelly@otago.ac.nz

Dr Darren Hooks
Internal Medicine
Email darren.hooks@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Honorary Professor

Dr Sarah Dean

Dr Michael Haney
Occupational and Aviation Medicine

^ Top of page

Honorary Research Associate Professor

Rob Siebers
Tel +64 4 918 6838
Email rob.siebers@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Lecturers

Dr Elliot Bell
Rehabilitation Teaching and Research Unit
Tel +64 4 918 4894
Email elliot.bell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Fiona Graham
Rehabilitation Teaching and Research Unit
Tel +64 3 337 1317
Email fi.graham@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rob Griffiths
Occupational and Aviation Medicine
Tel +64 4 918 5592
Email rob.griffiths@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rosemary Hall
Email rosemary.hall@otago.ac.nz

Dr Stephen Inns
Tel +64 4 918 6848
Email stephen.inns@otago.ac.nz

Dr Julie Myers
Tel +64 4 918 4629
Email julie.myers@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike Tweed
Tel +64 4 918 5456
Email mike.tweed@otago.ac.nz

Peter Fortes
Occupational and Aviation Medicine
Email peter.fortes@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Lecturer

Dr Rachelle Martin
Rehabilitation Teaching and Research Unit
Mob +64 21 223 3362
Email rachelle.martin@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Research Fellows

Dr Tristram Ingham
Wellington Asthma Research Group
Tel +64 4 918 6842
Email tristram.ingham@otago.ac.nz

Bernadette Jones
Tel +64 4 918 6845
Email bernadette.jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Caroline Shorter
Tel +64 4 918 6714
Email caroline.shorter@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Dr Meika Foster

^ Top of page

Research Fellows

Phillipa Barnes
Tel +64 4 918 6837
Email phillipa.barnes@otago.ac.nz

Christine Barthow
Tel +64 4 918 6237
Email christine.barthow@otago.ac.nz

Dr Paddy Whitfield
Endocrinology
Email patricia.whitfield@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professional Practice Fellow

Kin Loke
Occupational and Aviation Medicine Unit
Mob +64 21 0830 6142
Email swee.kin.loke@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Assistant Research Fellows

Dr Claire Honeywill
Tel +64 4 918 6856
Email claire.honeywill@otago.ac.nz

Janice Kang
Tel +64 4 918 6883
Email janice.kang@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Hood
Tel +64 4 918 6843
Email fiona.hood@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professional staff

Olivia Phillipson
Lead Client Services Administrator
Tel +64 21 279 1230
Email olivia.phillipson@otago.ac.nz

Courney Urlich
Client Services Administrator, Departmental Administration
Email courtney.urlich@otago.ac.nz

Sophie Petelaud
Client Services Administrator
5th Year Undergraduate Programme
6th Year/Trainee Interns Undergraduate Programme
Tel +64 4 918 5594
Email med5.uow@otago.ac.nzmed6.uow@otago.ac.nz

Patrizia De Veyra
Client Services Administrator
4th Year Undergraduate Programme
Tel +64 4 918 6923
Email med4.uow@otago.ac.nz

Susan Baikie
Client Services Administrator
Occupational and Aviation Medicine Unit
Rehabilitation Teaching and Research Unit
Tel +64 4 918 5591
Email OAMU@otago.ac.nz, rtru@otago.ac.nz

Hazel Phillips
Client Services Administrator
WellSleep Centre
Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email wellsleep@otago.ac.nz

Hongmei Wei
Client Services Administrator, Wellsleep
Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email wellsleep@otago.ac.nz

Cris Alip
Finance Associate
Tel +64 4 918 6899
Email cris.alip@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Dr Andrew Aitken, Cardiology
  • Dr Chris Anderson, Internal
  • Dr Russell Anscombe, Cardiology
  • Dr Leila Arnold, Renal
  • Dr Anup George,  Haematology
  • Dr George Bax, General Medicine
  • Dr David Bourke, Neurology
  • Dr Chris Cameron, Clinical Pharmacology
  • Dr Carolyn Clark, Renal
  • Russell Clarke, Aviation Medicine
  • Dr Brian Corley, Endocrinology
  • Dr Dorothy Dinesh, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Keith Dyson, Cardiology
  • Dr Tim Gilmore, Aviation
  • Dr David Hamilton, Oncology
  • Dr Paul Healy, Rheumatology
  • Dr Rowena Howard, Endocrinology
  • Dr Nicholas Humphries, Radiology
  • Dr Tupu Ioanne-Cleverley, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Douglas Iupati, Oncology
  • Dr Carol Johnson, Radiology Oncology
  • Dr Matthew Kelly, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Katia Liang Lung Chong, Physician
  • Dr Philip Matheson, Renal Medicine
  • Dr Philip Matsis, Cardiology
  • Dr Matthew Kelly, General Medicine
  • Dr Nichola Naidoo, Oncology
  • Dr Brendan Ng, Geriatrics
  • Dr Kyle Perrin, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Susan Plunkett, Cardiology
  • Dr Grant Pidgeon, Renal Medicine
  • Dr Anil Ranchord, Cardiology
  • Dr Bruce Raymond, General Medicine
  • Dr David Robiony-Rogers, Respiratory
  • Dr Ian Rosemergy, Neurology
  • Dr Alexander Sasse, Cardiology
  • Dr Mark Simmonds, Cardiology
  • Dr Tom Thompson, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Thomas Thomson, Internal Medicine
  • Dr David Tripp, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Cindy Towns, Pharmacology
  • Dr Matthew Webber, Cardiology
  • Dr John Wyeth, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Bruce Raymond, General Medicine
  • Dr Brian Corley, Endocrinology
  • Dr Nicola Smith, Respiratory
  • Dr Stefan Sasse, Cardiology
  • Dr Maran Kumarasamy, Endocrinology
  • Dr Tom Mules, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Evan Jolliffe, Neurology
  • Dr Caroline Chembo, Renal
  • Dr Jennifer Taylor, Neurology
  • Dr David Okonji, Oncology
  • Dr Satish Hulikunte, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Marianne Falconer, Stroke Physician
  • Dr Timothy Matthews, Geriatrics
  • Dr Andrew Linton, Geriatrics
  • Dr Maas Mollenhauer, Neurology
  • Dr Khadiga Mohammed, Oncology
  • Dr Emma McMenamin, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Maartje Lyons, Aviation Medicine
  • Dr Manjula Ricciardi, Geriatric and Stroke Medicine
  • Dr Pedro Broggi, Geriatrics
  • Dr Eric Ji, Oncology
  • Dr John Chalkley, Aviation Medicine
  • Dr Shahistha Naidoo, Radiation Oncology
  • Dr Lily Nightingale, Occupational Medicine
  • Dr Martin Punter, Neurology
  • Gareth Richards
  • Victoria McGarrigal
  • Dr Jeremy Fyson, Internal Medicine
  • Jen Thompson
  • Dr Robert Hackett, Internal Medicine

Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Dr Nomy Ahmed, Aviation Medicine
  • Dr Sisira Jayathissa, General Medicine
  • Dr Nigel Stace, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Richard Moore, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Chris Duffy, Anaesthesiology
  • Barbara Grout
  • Dr Andrew Burns, Infectious Diseases
  • Dr Miles Williams, Cardiology
  • Dr Martyn Horsfall, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Niels Dugan, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Philip Bypass, General Medicine
  • Dr Karim Mahawish, Geriatric and Stroke Medicine
  • Dr Manoj Mishra, Endocrinology
  • Dr Aik Haw Tan, General Medicine
  • Dr Delamy Keall, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Marian Kolarsky, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Justin Travers, Respitory
  • Dr Ian Gwynne-Robson, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Gordon Maxwell, General Medicine
  • Dr Mary Andoga, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Bernd Kraus, Geriatrics
  • Dr Mohib Merchant, General Medicine
  • Dr Nigel Raymond, General Medicine and Infectious Diseases
  • Dr Purwa Joshi, Neurology
  • Dr Marion Leighton, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Chris Cedarwall, Gastroenterology
  • Dr John Delahunt, Endocrinology
  • Dr Ben Griffiths, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Stuart Mossman, Neurology
  • Dr Richard Stein, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Arjun Sugumaran, Gastroenterology

^ Top of page

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

  • Calista Fung

Senior Clinical Physiologist

  • Helen Hills
  • Deidre Sheppard

Sleep Technologist

  • Dr Karyn O'Keeffe

Clinical Physiologists

  • Michi Imazu
  • Deidre Sheppard
  • Maarten Ruiter
  • James Miller
  • Belinda Foote
  • Ryan Sixtus
  • Abby Johnson

Sleep Technician

  • Morag Wright-McNaughton
  • Royanna Aldridge

Research Assistant

  • Oriwa Sword
  • Emna Ben Hassine
  • Wayne Keenan
  • Lena Sutherland
  • Annie Yohannan

Our academic building is temporarily closed for seismic reasons but our top class teaching, studying and research programmes remain in full swing.

Keep an eye on our website for updates or connect with us on: Twitter @OtagoWellington