Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine

Ō mātou tāngata

Head of Department

Associate Professor Diane Kenwright MHB MB ChB(Auck) FRCPA FNZSP
Email diane.kenwright@otago.ac.nz

Professor

Professor Brett Delahunt ONZM KStJ GCLJ Officer of Order Arts and Sciences (Cambodia) BSc(Hons)(VUW) BMedSc MB ChB MD(Otago) FRSNZ FRCPA FFSc(RCPA) FRCPath FNZSP HonFNZIMLS AFNZIM
(Anatomic Pathology)

Associate Professor

Rebecca Grainger BMedSc(Distn) MBChB(Distn) PhD(Otago) FRACP
(Chemical Pathology)
Email rebecca.grainger@otago.ac.nz

Senior Lecturers

Sara K. Filoche BSc(Hons)(Abery) MSc PhD(Exe)
Email sara.filoche@otago.ac.nz

Dianne Sika-Paotonu C.Q.S. BSc BBMedSc MBMedSc PhD PGCertEdPD PGDipHELT(Well) DPH(Otago) CertAT(AIT)
(Immunology)
Email dianne.sika-paotonu@otago.ac.nz

Michelle Thunders BSc PhD(UCL) PG Cert HE(Westminster) FHEA
(Human Genetics)
Email michelle.thunders@otago.ac.nz

Ayesha Verrall MB ChB(Distn) MBHL(Distn)(Otago) MSc(LSTMH) Dip Trop Med H(Alabama) FRACP
(Microbiology)
Email ayesha.verrall@otago.ac.nz

Professional Practice Fellows

Michelle Balm MB Chb(Otago) FRACP RCPA
(Infectious diseases/Microbiology)

Peter B Bethwaite MB ChB PhD DCH(Otago) FRCPA
(Anatomic Pathology)

Tim Blackmore MB ChB (Otago) Dip Obst (Auck) FRACP FRCPA
(Infectious diseases/Microbiology)

Juliet Elvy FRCPath, MRCP, BMBS, BMedSci
(Clinical Microbiologist)

Reza Farhour MD

Claire French PhD MBChB PGDipForSci

Stephen Hogg MB BS FRACP

Matt Kelly MB ChB (Otago) FRACP

Chris Kim MB ChB(Otago)
(Anatomic Pathology)

Emma McKay BMedSc(Hons) MB ChB(Otago) DipPaed(Auck)
(Anatomic Pathology)

Julia Phillips MB ChB FRACP
(Clinical and Laboratory Haematology)

Nigel Raymond MBChB(Otago) FRACP
(Infectious Diseases Specialist)

Richard Steele MB ChB(Otago) FRCPA
(Immunology)

Melissa Tan MB ChB(Otago)

James Taylor Mb ChB FRACP
(Consultant in Infectious Diseases)

Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer

Robert Weinkove MA MBBS MRCP FRCPATH PhD(Otago)
(Haematology)

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Christopher Sissons BSc MSc(Hons)(VUW) PhD(Auck)

Professional staff

Kim Rooke
Lead Administrator Client Services
Tel +64 4 385 5373
Email kim.rooke@otago.ac.nz

Lynne O’Brien
Client Services Administrator
Tel +64 4 385 5569
Email lynne.obrien@otago.ac.nz

For all general enquiries please email pathology.uow@otago.ac.nz.

Research Assistants

Christopher Smith
Email christopher.smith@otago.ac.nz

Mischa Walton
Email mischa.walton@otago.ac.nz

Research Nurse

Maxine Mitchell
Email maxine.mitchell@otago.ac.nz

Assistant Research Fellow

Victoria Chinn
Email victoria.chinn@otago.ac.nz

Laboratory Scientist

Fenella Rich BSc(Hons) DPH(Disnct)(Otago)
Email fenella.rich@otago.ac.nz

Yee Syuen Low
Email yeesyuen.low@otago.ac.nz

Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Andrew Tie
  • Olivia Bupha-Intr
  • Maxim Bloomfield
  • Rachel Barber
  • Russell Barker
  • Samuel Benison
  • Helen Brasch
  • Huib Buyck
  • Victoria Campion
  • Rachel Caswell-Smith
  • Zoe Dent
  • Michelle Dickson
  • Alyn D’Souza
  • Anup George
  • Stuart Johnson
  • Catherine Koleda
  • Rupa Maitra
  • John McCafferty
  • Vanaja Muthurajah
  • Leeanne Olsen
  • Vladimir Osipov
  • Christoper Pease
  • Peter Roberts
  • Carol Siu
  • David Vincenti
  • Melissa Yssel