Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

School of Physiotherapy, Northern Centre (Wellington)

Overview

Bachelor of Physiotherapy (BPhty) students spend the fourth year of their degree working full-time hours in a variety of clinical environments. Over the course of the year the students undertake four 6-week clinical blocks and one 6-week research block.

The Northern Centre also includes students completing the Bachelor of Physiotherapy with Honours (BPhty(Hons)). Over the year these Honours students also complete clinical blocks and research but with a varied timetable from thebBachelor’s programme.

The Northern Centre serves as teaching base for fourth-year students completing their clinical education and experience in the Wellington, Hutt Valley, Wairarapa, Palmerston North, Whanganui, and Hawke’s Bay regions. These clinical environments are within a district health board or a community-based setting.

After students successfully complete their clinical year, they are eligible to apply for registration to practice anonymously as physiotherapists in New Zealand.

The Northern Centre is also part of the Centre for Health, Activity, and Rehabilitation Research; and is involved in leading and supporting externally funded research.

Our academic staff support and mentor PhD and masters’ students.

^ Top of page

Our people

Wellington

Liz Kemp
Northern Centre Coordinator
Tel +64 4 385 5420
Email liz.kemp@otago.ac.nz

Dr Meredith Perry
Senior Lecturer / Associate Dean of Postgraduate Studies
Tel +64 4 385 5357
Email meredith.perry@otago.ac.nz

Dr Hemakumar Devan
Postdoctoral Fellow
Tel +64 4 385 5566
Email hemakumar.devan@otago.ac.nz

Daniel Seller
Email daniel.seller@otago.ac.nz

Ryan Rodger
Email ryan.rodger@otago.ac.nz

Ruth Bevan
Email Ruth.Bevan@otago.ac.nz

Hawke’s Bay

Jacqui Plater
Email jacqui.plater@otago.ac.nz

Palmerston North

Rebekah Higgs (Parental Leave)
Email r.higgs@otago.ac.nz

Whanganui

Rachael Gallagher (currently also Palmerston North)
Email rachael.gallagher@otago.ac.nz

Wairarapa

Katy McClean
Email katy.katkin@hotmail.co.uk

^ Top of page

Contact us

General inquiries

Tel +64 4 385 5420
Email liz.kemp@otago.ac.nz

Postal address

School of Physiotherapy, Northern Centre (Wellington)
University of Otago, Wellington
PO Box 7343
Newtown
Wellington 6242
New Zealand

Physical address

School of Physiotherapy, Northern Centre (Wellington)
University of Otago, Wellington
23A Mein Street
Newtown
Wellington 6021
New Zealand

^ Top of page

Related links

^ Top of page