Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our People in the Department of Primary Health Care and General Practice

Ō mātou tāngata

Head of Department

Dr Lynn McBain 
Head of Department & Associate Professor 

Email lynn.mcbain@otago.ac.nz

Teaching Staff 

Dr Angela Ballantyne
Associate Professor
Email angela.ballantyne@otago.ac.nz

Dr Shaun Counsell
Professional Practice Fellow
Email shaun.counsell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ben Darlow
Senior Lecturer & 5th Year Module Convenor
Email ben.darlow@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Dowell
Professor of Primary Health Care
Email tony.dowell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ben Gray
Senior Lecturer Beyond the Bar & PDE Module Convenor 
Email ben.gray@otago.ac.nz

Lesley Gray
Senior Lecturer Beyond the Bar, UOW CCW Convenor & TI Module Co-Convenor 
Email lesley.gray@otago.ac.nz

Dr Pauline Horrill
Professional Practice Fellow
Email pauline.horrill@otago.ac.nz

Tina Ireland
Professional Practice Fellow
Email tina.ireland@otago.ac.nz

Dr Estelle Jaine
Professional Practice Fellow 
Email estelle.jaine@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jonathan Kennedy
Senior Lecturer, Undergraduate Programme Leader &  4th Year Module Convenor
Email jonathan.kennedy@otago.ac.nz

Eileen McKinlay
Associate Professor & WITI Convenor
Email eileen.mckinlay@otago.ac.nz

Dr Caroline Morris
Senior Lecturer Beyond the Bar & Higher Degrees Programme Leader
Email caroline.morris@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sam Murton
Senior Lecturer & TI Module Co-Convenor
Email samantha.murton@otago.ac.nz

Professor Sue Pullon
Professor of Primary Health Care, Director of the Otago Interprofessional Education (IPE) Centre & Post Graduate Programme Leader
Email sue.pullon@otago.ac.nz

Dr Maria Stubbe
Senior Lecturer Beyond the Bar & Research Leader
Email maria.stubbe@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jenny Visser
Senior Lecturer & Travel Medicine Post Graduate Programme Leader 
Email jenny.visser@otago.ac.nz

Claire Wong
Professional Practice Fellow
Email claire.wong@otago.ac.nz

Research Staff

Sue Garrett
Research Fellow
Email sue.garrett@otago.ac.nz

Jo Hilder
Research fellow
Email jo.hilder@otago.ac.nz

Sonya Morgan
Research Fellow
Email sonya.morgan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sally Rose
Senior Research Fellow
Email sally.rose@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Stanley
Senior Research Fellow & Biostatistician
Email james.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Tester
Research Fellow
Email rachel.tester@otago.ac.nz

Administrative Staff

Olivia Phillipson
Lead Administrator Client Services
Email olivia.phillipson@otago.ac.nz

Elle Butterworth
Administrator Client Services 
Email elle.butterworth@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Curran
Administrator Client Services 
Email fiona.curran@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Garnett
Administrator Client Services 
Email amanda.garnett@otago.ac.nz

Shan Valiyara
Administrator Client Services 
Email shan.valiyara@otago.ac.nz

Tairawhiti Staff

Wellington based:

Sue Pullon
Programme Leader 
Email sue.pullon@otago.ac.nz

Christine Wilson
Programme Manager
Email christine.w@otago.ac.nz

Gisborne based:

Natasha Ashworth
Programme Leader & Professional Practice Fellow
Email natasha.ashworth@otago.ac.nz 

Elizabeth Rose Schwass
Programme Administrator
Email rose.schwass@otago.ac.nz

Honorary Staff

Dr Tom Love (Sapere Research Group)
Honorary Senior Research Fellow