Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity & Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)

Ō mātou tāngata


University of Otago, Wellington

Bode3 group photo May 2019
From Left to right: Cristina Cleghorn, Anja Mizdrak, Kendra Telfer, Lani Teddy, Nick Wilson, Courtney Steele, Anna Davies, Amanda Jones, Muhammad Irfan (Photo in May 2019)
Insert: Tony Blakely, Nhung Nghiem, June Atkinson

Other organisations

  • Professor Cliona Ni Mhurchu (BODE3 Executive Team)

Current Students 

Former Students & Post-docs


  • Ministry of Health - Burden of Disease Study
  • University of Melbourne (where Professor Blakely has a professorial position and there are shared interests in league table development; the Python platform for modelling; tobacco modelling; and cardiovascular disease modelling)
  • University of Auckland – particularly with dietary interventions (Professor Cliona Ni Mhurchu is on the BODE3 Executive)
  • ASPIRE 2025 who conduct research around NZ’s Smokefree 2025 Goal (Prof Wilson is a member of ASPIRE)
  • Oxford University, UK – for model comparisons, cardiovascular disease modelling and ongoing collaborations with Prof Philip Clarke, Associate Professor Pete Scarborough and Dr Linda Cobiac
  • Hāpai te Hauora – particularly in terms of Hāpai’s National Tobacco Control Advocacy Service (BODE3 has a MoU with Hāpai)
  • DHBs with shared specific projects: Counties Manuka DHB, Waitemata DHB
  • PHARMAC – given shared interest in diabetes modelling
  • Cancer Council of New South Wales, Australia – with a shared interest in tobacco control modelling (via Professor Karen Canfell)
  • University of Queensland, Australia – with a shared interest in e-cigarette modelling (via Associate Professor Coral Gartner)
  • Associate Professor Haxby Abbott - University of Otago (for a joint HRC Project involving economic analyses of improved osteoarthritis management)

Programme Advisory Group Members 

  • Ashley Bloomfield
  • John Childs
  • Peter Crampton
  • Bronwyn Croxson
  • Richard Edwards
  • Jackie Fawcett
  • Peter Guthrie
  • Kevin Moffatt
  • Jan Pearson
  • Bridie Richardson
  • Bridget Robson
  • Andrew Simpson
  • Vladimir Stevanovic
  • Ricarda Vandervorst
  • Deborah Woodley

Our academic building is temporarily closed for seismic reasons but our top class teaching, studying and research programmes remain in full swing.

Keep an eye on our website for updates or connect with us on: Twitter @OtagoWellington