Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Outputs from Indigenous People and Cancer Symposium 2018

global symposium NZ 650px

This global symposium, held at the University of Otago, Wellington from 19-20 February 2018, brought together people from Australia, New Zealand and Pacific nations to share information, ideas and potential solutions relating to cancer among Indigenous peoples of the region.

Thank you to the contributors, participants and everyone involved in making this such an outstanding event.

Following the symposium, a number of outputs have resulted including:

The powerpoint slides from each symposium presentation are available below.

DAY 1 Presentations

Title Presenter Contact email
Framing cancer in Indigenous Paradigms Bridget Robson bridget.robson@otago.ac.nz
Non Communicable Diseases (NCDs) in the Pacific Island Countries and Territories (PICTs) Paula Vivili paulav@spc.int
Role of infection in cancer in Indigenous and Pacific peoples: H. pylori -casting a long shadow Andrea Teng andrea.teng@otago.ac.nz
Tackling Indigenous Smoking in Australia Tom Calma tomcalma@gmail.com
Screening for Cervical cancer in Samoa Malama Tafuna’i lama.tafunai@otago.ac.nz
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women and cervical cancer prevention Lisa Whop Lisa.Whop@menzies.edu.au
Breast screening among Indigenous women in Australia Sue Moore sue.moore@menzies.edu.au

DAY 2 Presentations

Title Presenter Contact email
Challenges for cancer in the Pacific Island countries Kiki Maoate kiki@healthspecialists.co.nz
The Pacific Child Cancer project Jane Skeen JaneS@adhb.govt.nz
Challenges for Cancer Care in the North Pacific: Imua Kakou Neal Palafox npalafox@hawaii.edu
Current evidence regarding cancer inequities for Māori Diana Sarfati diana.sarfati@otago.ac.nz
Cancer and treatment inequities among Indigenous Australians Sue Moore sue.moore@menzies.edu.au
Kawanatanga Mo Te Mate Pukupuku Māori Nina Scott nscott.waikato@gmail.com
Te Tiriti o Waitangi Teresa Goza teresa_nathaniel@xtra.co.nz
Initiatives in Australia closing disparities in cancer for Indigenous Australians Gail Garvey gail.garvey@menzies.edu.au
Palliative care: how can we do things better for Māori? Tess Moeke-Maxwell t.moeke-maxwell@auckland.ac.nz
Palliative Care inn Samoa –My experience Malama Tafuna’i lama.tafunai@otago.ac.nz
Oceania Indigenous Tobacco Control Symposium Tom Calma tomcalma@gmail.com
Closing Slides Diana Sarfati diana.sarfati@otago.ac.nz

Public lecture recording

View the video recording of the public lecture by Dr Freddie Bray, 'Development and diversity: assessing the future burden of cancer worldwide'.

Thank you

Thank you again to everyone involved with this symposium. For further information please contact the conference organiser, Professor Diana Sarfati on diana.sarfati@otago.ac.nz