Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Co-Search people lists members of our research collaboration who are guiding an effective and fair COVID-19 pandemic response in Aotearoa New Zesaland.

Contact Co-Search:
Email virginia.signal@otago.ac.nz
Email fiona.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Co-Search Logo 186

Co-Search management group

Professor Michael Baker

Michael Baker imageMichael is a leading infectious diseases and pandemic expert. He is the Director of Co-Search and leads the epidemiology arm of the programme.
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Dr Amanda Kvalsvig

Amanda Kvalsvig imageAmanda is a public health epidemiologist and is the lead researcher on Co-Search, with a particular focus on impacts and inequities of the pandemic and the response.
Email amanda.kvalsvig@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professor Nick Wilson

Nick Wilson imageNick is a medical doctor who subsequently specialised as a public health physician and then moved into university-based research. Nick is actively involved in advising on the Covid-19 response.
Email nick.wilson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Dr Virginia Signal

Virginia Signal imageVirginia is a public health researcher and is the programme manager for Co-Search.
Email virginia.signal@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Fiona Taylor

Fiona Taylor imageFiona is the Research Programme Administrator for Co-Search.
Email fiona.taylor@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Co-investigators, University of Otago

Dr Andy Anglemyer

Andy is an epidemiologist who is undertaking an epidemiology-focused description of the pandemic response.
Email andrew.anglemyer@otago.ac.nz

Abbey Cartmell

Abbey is a medical student researcher who is investigating the lived experience of the pandemic and lockdown.
Email abigail.cartmell@gmail.com

Dr Tim Chambers

Tim is a public health researcher who will investigate opportunities arising from a well-designed recovery.
Email tim.chambers@otago.ac.nz

Kimberley Choi

Kimberley is a medical student researcher who is investigating the lived experience of the pandemic and lockdown.
Email choki971@student.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Susanna Every-Palmer

Susanna is an academic psychiatrist who is investigating impacts of the pandemic and its response on mental health and well-being.
Email susanna.every-palmer@otago.ac.nz

Namratha Giridharan

Namratha is a medical student researcher who is investigating the lived experience of the pandemic and lockdown.
Email girna145@student.otago.ac.nz

Lesley Gray

Lesley is a public health risk communication expert. She is leading an HRC project that focuses on physical distancing.
Email lesley.gray@otago.ac.nz

Luke Pilkinton-Ching

Luke is a videographer / photographer who is provide a visual description of the COVID-19 pandemic and response.
Email luke.pilkinton-ching@otago.ac.nz

Dr Viliami Puloka

Viliami is a Pacific Health expert who is leading research on pandemic management in the Pacific region.
Email viliami.puloka@otago.ac.nz

Professor Louise Signal

Louise is a public health expert who is leading the lived experience stream and supporting the Co-Search’s student researchers.
Email louise.signal@otago.ac.nz

Jeannine Stairmand

Jeannine is a public health researcher who is evaluating a recent major Marae-based pandemic response.
Email jeannine.stairmand@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor James Stanley

James is a public health biostatistician who is supporting the analyses of COVID-19 survey data.
Email james.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jennifer Summers

Jennifer is a public health researcher with an interest in current and historical pandemics.
Email jennifer.summers@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lucy Telfar Barnard

Lucy is a public health researcher; her focus is on pandemic management at the borders and in the Pacific region.
Email lucy.telfar-barnard@otago.ac.nz

Carmen Timu-Parata

Carmen is a nurse researcher who is evaluating a recent major Marae-based pandemic response.
Email carmen.timu-parata@otago.ac.nz

Jane Zhang

Jane is a data analyst who is supporting the Co-Search quantitative analyses.
Email jane.zhang@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Environmental Science and Research (ESR)

ESR Social Systems webpage

Mathew Walton

Mat is leading a project that takes a systems approach to understanding the pandemic response.
Email mathew.walton@esr.cri.nz

Sudesh Sharma

Sudesh is investigating the pandemic response using a systems approach.
Email sudesh.sharma@esr.cri.nz

^ Top of page

Joint Centre for Disaster Research co-investigators, Massey University

Joint Centre for Disaster Research website

Dr Julia Becker

Julia is a disaster management expert who is investigating the pandemic response.
Email j.becker@massey.ac.nz

Professor David Johnston

David is leading research to assess key aspects of the pandemic response in NZ, drawing on public health, social science, emergency response management and leadership, governance and policy research.
Email d.m.johnston@massey.ac.nz

John Hopkins

John is a public lawyer specialising in disaster law who is investigating the pandemic response.
Email w.j.hopkins@canterbury.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Takiri Mai Te Ata Whanau Ora Collective co-investigators

Takiri Mai Te Ata Whanau Ora Collective website

Cheryl Davies

Cheryl is leading research on Māori-led pandemic responses with a particular focus on evaluating a recent major Marae-based pandemic response.
Email cheryl@kokiri-hauora.org.nz

^ Top of page

Te Pūnaha Matatini co-investigators, University of Auckland

Te Pūnaha Matatini website

Emily Harvey

Emily is working with Shaun and Dion on the network modelling and analysis.
Email emily@me.co.nz

Shaun Hendy

Shaun is Director of Te Pūnaha Matatini and is leading network modelling work to simulate the effects of interventions and big data to visualise the effects of the pandemic.
Email shaun.hendy@auckland.ac.nz

Fraser Morgan

Fraser is working with Shaun and Dion on the network modelling and analysis.
Email morganf@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dion O'Neale

Dion is a principal investigator at Te Pūnaha Matatini who is using a network model to investigate the pandemic response and simulate the effects of different interventions.
Email d.oneale@auckland.ac.nz

^ Top of page


Our academic building is temporarily closed for seismic reasons but our top class teaching, studying and research programmes remain in full swing.

Keep an eye on our website for updates or connect with us on: Twitter @OtagoWellington