Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Co-Search research activity

Co-Search is a a research collaboration that aims to guide an effective and equitable pandemic response in Aotearoa New Zealand, and to learn how resilience and future responses can be improved.

Contact Co-Search:
Email virginia.signal@otago.ac.nz
Email fiona.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Co-Search Logo 186

Co-Search research goals

The goals of our research are to:

  1. Describe the pandemic and its population health impacts in New Zealand and the Pacific
  2. Evaluate the response to help shape and improve its effectiveness and equity
  3. Contribute to long-term improvements in New Zealand’s ability to manage pandemic threats
  4. Identify health, equity and sustainability benefits arising from a well-designed recovery
  5. ^ Top of page

Supporting the COVID-19 public health response

Big data / modelling

Data team at work image by Ryan Willoughby, ESR New ZealandAim: To use an individual-based network model of contagion to simulate the effects of interventions
Lead: Shaun Hendy
Email shaun.hendy@auckland.ac.nz

Border management and Pacific countries

Aeroplanes on tarmac image by Luke Pilkinton-Ching, University of Otago, WellingtonAim: To document and evaluate the effectiveness of border controls and the NZ Response to COVID-19 in the Pacific
Leads: Lucy Telfar Barnard and Viliami Puloka
Email lucy.telfar-barnard@otago.ac.nz or viliami.puloka@otago.ac.nz

Pandemic epidemiology

Leaflet in letterbox image by Luke Pilkinton-Ching, University of Otago WellingtonAim: To generate a comprehensive epidemiological description of the pandemic, and its impacts and inequalities
Lead: Michael Baker
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

Pandemic response planning

health worker conducting covid testing image by Luke Pilkinton-Ching, University of Otago WellingtonAim: To assess the effectiveness of pandemic response planning in NZ
Lead: David Johnston
Email d.m.johnston@massey.ac.nz

Physical distancing and masking

Social distancing at home image by Luke Pilkinton-Ching, University of Otago WellingtonAim: To understand responses to physical distancing and self-isolation
Lead: Lesley Gray
Email lesley.gray@otago.ac.nz

Systems research

Researchers viewing data image by Ryan Willoughby ESRAim: To develop a systemic understanding of community response and impact to guide response adaptations
Lead: Mat Walton
Email mathew.walton@esr.cri.nz

^ Top of page

Understanding COVID-19 population impacts and shaping community responses

Lived experience

Woman at train station image by Luke Pilkinton-Ching, University of Otago WellingtonAim: To understand lived experience of the pandemic and response measures
Lead: Louise Signal
Email louise.signal@otago.ac.nz

Māori-led pandemic responses

Women preparing food parcels, Image by Luke Pilkinton-Ching, University of Otago WellingtonAim: To evaluate a Marae-based pandemic response and reflect on lessons for the future
Lead: Cheryl Davies
Email cheryl@kokiri-hauora.org.nz

Population impacts

People at a bus stop image by Luke Pilkinton-Ching, University of Otago Wellington Aim: To assess the impact of both the pandemic and pandemic response on population well-being, with a particular focus on equity impacts
Lead: Amanda Kvalsvig
Email amanda.kvalsvig@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Visually documenting the COVID-19 pandemic and communicating research findings

Images and media

Motorway into Wellington City image by Luke Pilkinton-Ching, University of Otago WellingtonAim: To provide Multimedia support and a visual description of the COVID-19 pandemic and response
Lead: Luke Pilkinton-Ching
Email luke.pilkinton-ching@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page