Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Public Health

Ō mātou tāngata

Head of Department, Public Health UOW

Professor Diana Sarfati
Head of Department
Director; Cancer and Chronic Conditions (C3) research group
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE3)
Email diana.sarfati@otago.ac.nz

Beck O'Shaughnessy
EA to Head of Department
Email beck.oshaughnessy@otago.ac.nz

Shirlee Wilton
Departmental Manager
Email shirlee.wilton@otago.ac.nz

Directors of research groups, Public Health UOW 

Professor Michael Baker
Co-Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director; Health Environment & Infection Research Unit (HEIRU)
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Blakely
Director; Health Inequalities Research Programme (HIRP)
Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email tony.blakely@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Edwards
Co-Director ASPIRE2025
Co-Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Email richard.edwards@otago.ac.nz

Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman
Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director; Centre for Sustainable Cities (CSC)
Email philippa.howden-chapman@otago.ac.nz

Bridget Robson
Director; Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare (TRRHAEP)
Associate Dean Māori
Email bridget.robson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Diana Sarfati
Head of Department
Director; Cancer and Chronic Conditions (C3) research group
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email diana.sarfati@otago.ac.nz

Professor Louise Signal
Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Email louise.signal@otago.ac.nz

Professor Nick Wilson
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email nick.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Convenors of teaching programmes, Public Health UOW 

Richard Jaine
Undergraduate convenor
Email richard.jaine@otago.ac.nz

Moira Smith
Postgraduate research teaching convenor (PhD and Masters)
Email moira.smith@otago.ac.nz

William Leung
Postgraduate course director (CPH, DPH & Diploma Health Management)
Email william.leung@otago.ac.nz

Michael Baker
Convenor - Public Health Summer School
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

All staff and students, Public Health UOW

A-F | G-L | M-R | S-Z 

A-F  

Sherif Ammar
PhD Student HEIRU
Email sherif.ammar@otago.ac.nzge

Clare Aspinall
PhD student HHRP
Email caspcl879@student.otago.ac.nz

June Atkinson
Senior Analyst; BODE³
Email june.atkinson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Michael Baker
Co-Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director, Health Environment & Infection Research Unit (HEIRU)
Convenor, Public Health Summer School
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

Jude Ball
PhD Student, Research Fellow (ASPIRE2025)
Email jude.ball@otago.ac.nz

Mike Bedford
PhD student; Asst Research Fellow, He Kainga Oranga
email: mike.bedford@otago.ac.nz

Julie Bennett
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email julie.bennett@otago.ac.nz

Emily Bentley
Research Administrator
Email emily.bentley@otago.ac.nz

Sarah Bierre
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email sarah.bierre@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Blakely
Director; Health Inequalities Research Programme (HIRP)
Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email tony.blakely@otago.ac.nz

Paul Blaschke
Senior Professional Fellow
Email paul.blaschke@otago.ac.nz

Naomi Brewer
Research Fellow, BODE3
Email naomi.brewer@otago.ac.nz

Tim Chambers
Assistant Research Fellow; HePPRU
Email tim.chambers@otago.ac.nz

Elinor Chisholm
Postdoctoral Research Fellow; HHRP
Email elinor.chisholm@otago.ac.nz

Cristina Cleghorn
Senior Research Fellow; BODE³
Email cristina.cleghorn@otago.ac.nz

Hera Cook
Senior Lecturer; Social Science Research Methods and History
Email hera.cook@otago.ac.nz

Donna Cormack
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email donna.cormack@otago.ac.nz

Ruth Cunningham
Senior Research Fellow; C3
Email ruth.cunningham@otago.ac.nz

Amanda D'Souza
Director, Research Fellow; PhD Candidate HePPRU
Email amanda.dsouza@otago.ac.nz

Anna Davies
Research Fellow; BODE³
Email anna.davies@otago.ac.nz

Hilary Day
Research Manager; BODE3
Email hilary.day@otago.ac.nz

Louise Delany
Senior Lecturer
Email louise.delany@otago.ac.nz

Sarah Donovan
Research Fellow
Email sarah.donovan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Edwards
Co-Director; ASPIRE2025
Co-Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Email richard.edwards@otago.ac.nz

Anna Ferguson
Research Assistant; HePPRU
Email anna.ferguson@otago.ac.nz

Geoff Fougere
PhD supervisor
Email geoff.fougere@otago.ac.nz

Brodie Fraser
PhD student HHRP
Email brodie.fraser@postgrad.otago.ac.nz

G-L  

Ryan Gage
Assistant Research Fellow; KidsCam
Email: ryan.gage@otago.ac.nz

Lily Gao
Finance Administrator
Email lily.gao@otago.ac.nz

Sheree Gibb
Senior Research Fellow
Email sheree.gibb@otago.ac.nz

Frances Graham
PhD Student; HEIRU
Email grafr148@student.otago.ac.nz

Libby Grant
Assistant Research Fellow
Email libby.grant@otago.ac.nz

Leah Grout
PhD Student; HEIRU
Email grole996@student.otago.ac.nz

Jason Gurney
Senior Research Fellow; C3
Email jason.gurney@otago.ac.nz

Simon Hales
Research Associate Professor; HEIRU
Email simon.hales@otago.ac.nz

Ricci Harris
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email ricci.harris@otago.ac.nz

Janet Hoek
Co-Director ASPIRE2025
Email janet.hoek@otago.ac.nz

Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman
Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director; Centre for Sustainable Cities (CSC)
Email philippa.howden-chapman@otago.ac.nz

Kerry Hurley
Department and PhD Administrator, Manager Public Health Summer School
Email kerry.hurley@otago.ac.nz

Richard Jaine
Senior Lecturer/Undergraduate Convenor
Email richard.jaine@otago.ac.nz

Jasmine Jameson (Xu)
Research Manager; HHRP, CSC, C3, HePPRU, HEIRU
Email jasmine.xu@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Jones
Research Fellow; BODE3
Email amanda.jones@otago.ac.nz

Michael Keall
Research Associate Professor; HHRP
Email michael.keall@otago.ac.nz

Gay Keating
PhD student; CSC
Email gay.keating@otago.ac.nz

Paula King
PhD Student/HRC Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email paula.king@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Kvalsvig
PhD Student; HEIRU
Email amanda.kvalsvig@otago.ac.nz

Giorgi Kvizhinadze
Research Fellow; BODE³
Email giorgi.kvizhinadze@otago.ac.nz

Keri Lawson-TeAho
Lecturer
Email kerirose.lawsonteaho@otago.ac.nz

William Leung
Lecturer Health Economics; PhD Student
Postgraduate course director (CPH, DPH & DipHealMgt)
Email william.leung@otago.ac.nz

Amber Logan
PhD student: HHRP
Email logam317@student.otago.ac.nz

M-R  

Mary McIntyre
Senior Research Fellow; Te Hereripirie
Email mary.mcintyre@otago.ac.nz

Christina McKerchar
PhD student Kids'Cam
Email christina.mckerchar@otago.ac.nz

Melissa McLeod
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email melissa.mcleod@otago.ac.nz

Anja Mizdrak
Research Fellow; BODE3
Email anja.mizdrak@otago.ac.nz

Losa Moata'ane
PhD Student
Email losa.moataane@otago.ac.nz

Kim Nathan
PhD student; HHRP
Email natki992@student.otago.ac.nz

Nhung Nghiem
Senior Research Fellow; BODE³
Email nhung.nghiem@otago.ac.nz

Jane Oliver
Assistant Research Fellow; HEIRU
Email jane.oliver@otago.ac.nz

Jenny Ombler
Research Fellow; CSC
Email jenny.ombler@otago.ac.nz

Beck O'Shaughnessy
EA to Head of Department
Email beck.oshaughnessy@otago.ac.nz

Sarah-Jane Paine
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email sarah-jane.paine@otago.ac.nz

Debbie Peterson
Senior Research Fellow; C3
Email debbie.peterson@otago.ac.nz

Nevil Pierse
Research Associate Professor; Deputy Director HHRP
Email nevil.pierse@otago.ac.nz

Gordon Purdie

Biostatistician
Email gordon.purdie@otago.ac.nz

Ruruhira Rameka
Administrator/Research Assistant; TRRHAEP
Email ruruhira.rameka@otago.ac.nz

Ed Randal
Research Fellow; PhD student CSC
Email edward.randal@otago.ac.nz

Lara Rangiwhetu
PhD student HHRP
Email lara.rangiwhetu@postgrad.otago.ac.nz

Johanna Reidy
Lecturer Health Systems/Research Fellow
Email johanna.reidy@otago.ac.nz

Graciela Rivera-Munoz
PhD Student/Research Assistant; CSC
Email graciela.rivera-munoz@otago.ac.nz

Oliver Robertson
Assistant Research Fellow; CSC, HHRP
Email oliver.robertson@otago.ac.nz

Bridget Robson
Director; Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare (TRRHAEP)
Associate Dean Māori
Email bridget.robson@otago.ac.nz

Marie Russell
Research Fellow; CSC
Email marie.russell@otago.ac.nz

S-Z  

Professor Diana Sarfati
Head of Department
Director; Cancer and Chronic Conditions (C3) research group
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email diana.sarfati@otago.ac.nz

Caroline Shaw
Senior Lecturer
Email caroline.shaw@otago.ac.nz

Matthew Shaw
PhD Student; HePPRU
Email matthew.shaw@otago.ac.nz

Professor Louise Signal
Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Director; HIA Research Unit
Email louise.signal@otago.ac.nz

Virginia Signal
PhD Student/Assistant Research Fellow; C3
Email virginia.signal@otago.ac.nz

Dalice Sim
Biostatistician
Email dalice.sim@otago.ac.nz

Moira Smith
Senior Research Fellow; HePPRU
Postgraduate Research Convenor
Email moira.smith@otago.ac.nz

Jeannine Stairmand
Lecturer/Research Fellow; HePPRU, C3
Email jeannine.stairmand@otago.ac.nz

James Stanley
Biostatistician/Senior Research Fellow
Email james.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Courtney Steele
Research Assistant; PhD student C3
Email courtney.steele@otago.ac.nz

Maryanne Teariki
Reserach Fellow HHRP
Email maryanne.thompson@otago.ac.nz

Lucy Telfar-Barnard
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email lucy.telfar-barnard@otago.ac.nz

Andrea Teng
Research Fellow; NZCMS/CT & BODE3
Email andrea.teng@otago.ac.nz

George Thomson
Research Associate Professor; HePPRU
Email george.thomson@otago.ac.nz

Louise Thornley
Research Fellow; ASPIRE2025 and He Kainga Oranga
Email louise.thornley@otago.ac.nz

Ramona Tiatia
Pacific Research Fellow; HHRP
Email ramona.tiatia@otago.ac.nz

Frederieke van der Deen
Assistant Research Fellow; BODE³
Email frederieke.vanderdeen@otago.ac.nz

Stella Vickers
PhD student
Email stella.vickers@postgrad.otago.ac.nz

Helen Viggers
Research Fellow; PhD student HHRP
Email helen.viggers@otago.ac.nz

Anaru Waa
Senior Research Fellow
Email andrew.waa@otago.ac.nz

John White
PhD Student; HePPRU
Email whijo379@student.otago.ac.nz

Maddie White
Assistant Research Fellow; CSC, HHRP
Email maddie.white@otago.ac.nz

Professor Nick Wilson
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email nick.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Shirlee Wilton
Departmental Manager
Email shirlee.wilton@otago.ac.nz

Andrew Wood
Postgraduate Programme Coordinator
Email andrew.wood@otago.ac.nz

Fran Wright
Marketing and Web Manager
Email fran.wright@otago.ac.nz

Jamie Yeates
Hāuora Maori Administrator
Email hauoramaori.uow@otago.ac.nz

Jane Zhang
Data Analyst; HHRP
Email jane.zhang@otago.ac.nz

Wei Zhang
Assistant Research Fellow HHRP and PhD student
Email wei.zhang@otago.ac.nz

Honorary Fellows, Public Health UOW

  • Hazel Armstrong
  • Alison Blaiklock
  • Kristie Carter
  • Brian Easton
  • Heather Gifford
  • Santosh Jatrana
  • Jonathan Koea
  • Kristen Lovelock
  • Mary E. McIntyre
  • Stephen Palmer
  • Amber Pearson
  • Frank Pega
  • Ken Richardson