Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Public Health

Ō mātou tāngata

Head of Department, Public Health UOW

Professor Louise Signal
Head of Department
Email louise.signal@otago.ac.nz

Shan Valiyara
Lead Administrator Client Services
Email shan.valiyara@otago.ac.nz

Andrew Wood
EA to HoD; Administrator Client Services
Email andrew.wood@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Directors of research groups, Public Health UOW 

Professor Michael Baker
Co-Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director; Health Environment and Infection Research Unit (HEIRU)
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Edwards
Co-Director ASPIRE2025
Co-Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Email richard.edwards@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jason Gurney
Director; Cancer and Chronic Conditions (C3) research group
Email jason.gurney@otago.ac.nz

Professor Janet Hoek
Co-Director ASPIRE2025
Email janet.hoek@otago.ac.nz

Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman
Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director; Centre for Sustainable Cities (CSC)
Email philippa.howden-chapman@otago.ac.nz

Bridget Robson
Director; Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare (TRRHAEP)
Associate Dean Māori
Email bridget.robson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Louise Signal
Head of Department
Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Email louise.signal@otago.ac.nz

Professor Nick Wilson
Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email nick.wilson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Convenors of teaching programmes, Public Health UOW 

Amanda D'Souza
Undergraduate convenor
Email amanda.dsouza@otago.ac.nz

Emma Osborne
Postgraduate research teaching convenor (PhD)
Email emma.osborne@otago.ac.nz

William Leung
Postgraduate course director (CPH, DPH & Diploma Health Management)
Email william.leung@otago.ac.nz

Michael Baker
Convenor - Public Health Summer School
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

All staff and students, Public Health UOW

A-F | G-L | M-R | S-Z 

A-F  

Azreen Ali
Administrator Client Services
Email azreen.ali@otago.ac.nz

Sherif Ammar
PhD student; HEIRU
Email sherif.ammar@otago.ac.nz

Clare Aspinall
PhD student; HHRP
Email caspcl879@student.otago.ac.nz

June Atkinson
Senior Analyst; BODE³
Email june.atkinson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Michael Baker
Co-Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director, Health Environment & Infection Research Unit (HEIRU)
Convenor, Public Health Summer School
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

Keresi Rokorua Bako
PhD student; HePPRU
Email bakke870@student.otago.ac.nz

Nazahiah Bakri
PhD student; HePPRU
Email nazahiah.bakri@otago.ac.nz

Jude Ball
Research Fellow (ASPIRE2025)
Email jude.ball@otago.ac.nz

Julie Bennett
Senior Research Fellow; HHRP
Email julie.bennett@otago.ac.nz

Sarah Bierre
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email sarah.bierre@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Carter
Research Programme Administrator BODE
Email rachel.carter@otago.ac.nz

Tim Chambers
Senior Research Fellow; HEIRU
Email tim.chambers@otago.ac.nz

Shashi Chandra
PhD student; HePPRU
Email chash132@student.otago.ac.nz

Elinor Chisholm
Senior Research Fellow; HHRP
Email elinor.chisholm@otago.ac.nz

Saera Chun
Assistant Research Fellow; HHRP
Email saera.chun@otago.ac.nz

Cristina Cleghorn
Senior Research Fellow; BODE³
Email cristina.cleghorn@otago.ac.nz

Hera Cook
Senior Lecturer; Social Science Research Methods and History
Email hera.cook@otago.ac.nz

Donna Cormack
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email donna.cormack@otago.ac.nz

Ruth Cunningham
Senior Research Fellow; C3
Email ruth.cunningham@otago.ac.nz

Amanda D'Souza
Director, Research Fellow; PhD Candidate HePPRU
Email amanda.dsouza@otago.ac.nz

Anna Davies
Research Fellow; BODE³
Email anna.davies@otago.ac.nz

Louise Delany
Senior Lecturer
Email louise.delany@otago.ac.nz

Sarah Donovan
Research Fellow
Email sarah.donovan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Edwards
Co-Director; ASPIRE2025
Co-Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Email richard.edwards@otago.ac.nz

Andrea Farquharson
Research Programme Administrator
He Kainga Oranga – Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
New Zealand Centre for Sustainable Cities (CSC)
Email andrea.farquharson@otago.ac.nz

Anna Ferguson
Research Assistant; HePPRU
Email anna.ferguson@otago.ac.nz

Geoff Fougere
PhD supervisor
Email geoff.fougere@otago.ac.nz

Brodie Fraser
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email brodie.fraser@postgrad.otago.ac.nz

Abigail Freeland
Assistant Research Fellow EleMent
Email abigail.freeland@otago.ac.nz

Caroline Fyfe
PhD student; HHRP
Email caroline.fyfe@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

G-L  

Ryan Gage
Research Fellow; KidsCam
Email: ryan.gage@otago.ac.nz

Sheree Gibb
Senior Research Fellow
Email sheree.gibb@otago.ac.nz

Frances Graham
PhD Student; HEIRU
Email grafr148@student.otago.ac.nz

Libby Grant
Assistant Research Fellow
Email libby.grant@otago.ac.nz

Jason Gurney
Director; C3
Email jason.gurney@otago.ac.nz

Simon Hales
Research Professor; HEIRU
Email simon.hales@otago.ac.nz

Herni Haron
Finance Associate
Email herni.haron@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 4 918 6052

Ricci Harris
Research Associate Professor; TRRHAEP
Email ricci.harris@otago.ac.nz

Janet Hoek
Co-Director ASPIRE2025
Email janet.hoek@otago.ac.nz

Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman
Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director; Centre for Sustainable Cities (CSC)
Email philippa.howden-chapman@otago.ac.nz

Kerry Hurley
Administrator Client Services
Email kerry.hurley@otago.ac.nz

Salina Iupati
PhD Student
Email iosa1679@student.otago.ac.nz

Jasmine Jameson (Xu)
Research Manager; HHRP, CSC
Email jasmine.xu@otago.ac.nz

Ellie Johnson
Research Fellow; ITC
Email ellie.johnson@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Jones
Senior Research Fellow; BODE3
Email amanda.jones@otago.ac.nz

Michael Keall
Research Associate Professor; HHRP
Email michael.keall@otago.ac.nz

Gay Keating
PhD student; CSC
Email Gay.keating@postgrad.otago.ac.nz

Paula King
PhD Student/HRC Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email paula.king@otago.ac.nz

Silke Kuehl
Research Fellow; EleMent
Email silke.kuehl@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Kvalsvig
Co-Director, HEIRU
Email amanda.kvalsvig@otago.ac.nz

Keri Lawson-Te Aho
Senior Lecturer
Email kerirose.lawsonteaho@otago.ac.nz

William Leung
Senior Lecturer Health Economics; PhD Student
Postgraduate course director (CPH, DPH & DipHealMgt)
Email william.leung@otago.ac.nz

Amber Logan
PhD student; HHRP
Email logam317@student.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

M-R  

Krishtika Mala
PhD student; HEIRU
Email malkr511@student.otago.ac.nz

Mary McIntyre
Senior Research Fellow; Te Hereripirie
Email mary.mcintyre@otago.ac.nz

Christina McKerchar
PhD student Kids'Cam
Email christina.mckerchar@otago.ac.nz

Melissa McLeod
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email melissa.mcleod@otago.ac.nz

Sharla McTavish
PhD student; HERIU
Email mctsh850@student.otago.ac.nz

Anja Mizdrak
Senior Research Fellow; BODE3
Email anja.mizdrak@otago.ac.nz

Kate Morgaine
Senior Lecturer; HePPRU
Email kate.morgaine@otago.ac.nz

Kate Murphy
Programme Manager
Email kate.murphy@otago.ac.nz

Kim Nathan
PhD student; HHRP
Email natki992@student.otago.ac.nz

Nhung Nghiem
Senior Research Fellow; BODE³
Email nhung.nghiem@otago.ac.nz

Jenny Ombler
Research Fellow; CSC
Email jenny.ombler@otago.ac.nz

Emma Osborne
Lecturer; Postgraduate Convenor (PhD)
Email emma.osborne@otago.ac.nz

Kimberley O'Sullivan
Senior Research Fellow; HHRP
Email  kimberley.osullivan@otago.ac.nz

Sarah-Jane Paine
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email sarah-jane.paine@otago.ac.nz

Debbie Peterson
Senior Research Fellow; C3
Email debbie.peterson@otago.ac.nz

Frederieke Petrović-van der Deen
Assistant Research Fellow
Email Frederieke.petrovicvanderdeen@otago.ac.nz

Nevil Pierse
Research Associate Professor; Deputy Director HHRP
Email nevil.pierse@otago.ac.nz

Eloise Pollard
PhD student; HePPRU
Email polel879@student.otago.ac.nz

Gordon Purdie
Biostatistician
Email gordon.purdie@otago.ac.nz

Ed Randal
Research Fellow; PhD student CSC
Email edward.randal@otago.ac.nz

Johanna Reidy
Lecturer Health Systems/Research Fellow
Email johanna.reidy@otago.ac.nz

Nelly Rentta
Research Fellow; HERIU
Email  neilenuonelly.rentta@otago.ac.nz

Oliver Robertson
Assistant Research Fellow; CSC, HHRP
Email oliver.robertson@otago.ac.nz

Bridget Robson
Director; Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare (TRRHAEP)
Associate Dean Māori
Email bridget.robson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

S-Z  

Caroline Shaw
Associate Professor
Email caroline.shaw@otago.ac.nz

Matthew Shaw
PhD student; HePPRU
Email matthew.shaw@otago.ac.nz

Professor Louise Signal
Head of Department
Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Director; HIA Research Unit
Email louise.signal@otago.ac.nz

Virginia Signal
Research Fellow; C3
Email virginia.signal@otago.ac.nz

Moira Smith
Senior Research Fellow; HePPRU
Postgraduate Research Convenor
Email moira.smith@otago.ac.nz

Jeannine Stairmand
Lecturer/Research Fellow; HePPRU, C3
Email jeannine.stairmand@otago.ac.nz

James Stanley
Biostatistician/Research Associate Professor
Email james.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Courtney Steele
Research Assistant; PhD student C3
Email courtney.steele@otago.ac.nz

Jennifer Summers
Senior Research Fellow; BODE3
Email jennifer.summers@otago.ac.nz

Natalie Talamaivao
Foxley Fellow Eru Pomare
Email natalie.talamaivao@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Taylor
Research Manager, HEIRU
Email fiona.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Grace Teah
PhD student
Email grace.teah@postgrad.otago.ac.nz

Lani Teddy
Research Manager; BODE3
Email lani.teddy@otago.ac.nz

Lucy Telfar-Barnard
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email lucy.telfar-barnard@otago.ac.nz

Kendra Telfer
Research Fellow BODE3
Email kendra.telfer@otago.ac.nz

Andrea Teng
Senior Research Fellow; Big Data Research Group
Email andrea.teng@otago.ac.nz

George Thomson
Research Associate Professor; HePPRU
Email george.thomson@otago.ac.nz

Shan Valiyara
Lead Administrator Client Services
Email shan.valiyara@otago.ac.nz

Helen Viggers
Research Fellow; PhD student HHRP
Email helen.viggers@otago.ac.nz

Anaru Waa
Senior Research Fellow
Email andrew.waa@otago.ac.nz

Professor Nick Wilson
Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email nick.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Andrew Wood
EA to HoD; Administrator Client Services
Email andrew.wood@otago.ac.nz

Jane Zhang
Data Analyst; HHRP
Email jane.zhang@otago.ac.nz

Wei Zhang
Assistant Research Fellow HHRP and PhD student
Email wei.zhang@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Honorary Fellows, Public Health UOW

  • Hazel Armstrong
  • Alison Blaiklock
  • Brian Easton
  • Heather Gifford
  • Santosh Jatrana
  • Jonathan Koea
  • Kristen Lovelock
  • Stephen Palmer
  • Amber Pearson
  • Frank Pega
  • Marie Russell
  • Clare Salmond
  • Diana Sarfati
  • Sione Tupou Tu’itahi
  • ^ Top of page