University of Otago emblem    Department of Philosophy

Departmental seminar series (2020)

Seminars will take place on Wednesdays in Richardson GS2, from 11:00-12:30.

(Note: in addition to the departmental seminar series, there is a regular postgraduate seminar series.)

26 Feb Carl Mika (Waikato) Aspects of Māori Philosophy
04 Mar Charles Pigden (Otago) Sidgwick, Moore and Supervenience: The Metaphysics of Robust Moral Realism
11 Mar Guillermo Badia (U of Queensland) How do we fix mathematical language if the universe has too many objects?
18 Mar No speaker (postgraduate conference)
25 Mar Casey O'Callaghan (Washington University in St. Louis) TBA
01 Apr Sophie-Grace Chappell (Open University) TBA
08 Apr    
15 Apr No speaker (mid-semester break)  
22 Apr Chloe Wall (Waikato) TBA
29 April    
06 May Fatema Amijee (National University of Singapore) TBA
13 May    
20 May Lisa Ellis (Otago) TBA
27 May Heather Dyke (Otago) Moral Obligations to Future Generations and the Non-Identity Problem
winter break
08 Jul    
15 Jul    
22 Jul William Fish (Massey) TBA
29 Jul    
05 Aug    
12 Aug    
19 Aug Agnes Callard (University of Chicago) TBA
26 Aug No speaker (mid-semester break)
02 Sep Steve Clarke (Charles Sturt University) TBA
09 Sep    
16 Sep Alex Miller (Otago) TBA
23 Sep    
30 Sep    

For archives of past seminars, click here.