Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Terms of Reference

Within the context of distance education, which includes formally approved Distance Learning papers and programmes as well as the systems, processes and practices integral to all 'virtual' models of teaching and learning, the Terms of Reference of the Distance Learning Advisory Committee are:

  • To advise the Senate on policy and strategy relating to Distance Learning;
  • To assist the Director, Distance Learning to ensure that Distance Learning operates in accordance with policy and to provide guidance for the ongoing development of Distance Learning;
  • To promote the University of Otago as a centre for excellence in Distance Learning,
  • To promote Distance Learning in Divisions and Departments, in accordance with the Strategic Direction for the University approved by Council;
  • To promote Distance Learning as a means to further the University's commitment to internationalisation;
  • To recommend guidelines and provide advice to those responsible for the administration and technological support of Distance Learning, particularly on the academic dimensions of these facets of Distance Teaching;
  • To consider any other matters relating to Distance Learning and Teaching referred to it.


Composition of the CommitteeMemberExpiry date (if applicable)
Dean of Learning and Teaching (Convener)Professor Tim CooperEx-officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of CommerceDr Sarah CarrEx-officio (appointed by the PVC)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Health Sciences (Dunedin)Professor David McBrideEx-officio (appointed by the PVC)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Health Sciences (Northern)Associate Professor Rob GriffithsEx-officio (appointed by the PVC)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of HumanitiesDr James HardingEx-officio (appointed by the PVC)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of SciencesAssociate Professor Andrew TrotmanEx-officio (appointed by the PVC)
Director (or nominee), InternationalMegan SmithEx-officio (appointed by the Director)
Director (or nominee), Student ExperienceDaniel MacshaneEx-officio
Senior Operations Services RepresentativeCherie McConville (Head of Client Services)Ex-officio
Director, Distance LearningDr Sarah SteinEx-officio
Director (or nominee), Information Technology ServicesJeffrey OrmandyEx-officio (appointed by the Director)
University Librarian (or nominee)Jacinda BoivinEx-officio
Head of Department (or nominee), HEDCAssociate Professor Joyce KohEx-officio (appointed by the Head, HEDC)
Nominee of OUSACyrus Yam (International Students' Representative)December 2023
Co-opted MembersMemberExpiry date (if applicable)
Previous Chair, Distance Learning Reference GroupProfessor Paul TrebilcoEx-officio
Director, Centre for Distance Education and Learning Technologies (CDELT)Dr Keryn PrattEx-officio

The Committee has the power to co-opt as required.

Serviced by: Academic Committees and Services, Michelle Bennie

Back to top