Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

The International Office at the University of Otago is located in the north end of the Clocktower building.

Enter through the main entrance on the Leith River side of the building and ask the staff at reception for directions.

Enquiries

Future student enquiries

Enquire now
OR
Chat with our students

Other enquiries

Email international@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7000

Office address

International Office
Clocktower Building
University of Otago
Leith Street
Dunedin 9016
New Zealand

View our location on Google Maps.

Need directions to the International Office at Otago?

Please enter your starting address:

Our people

Office of the Director International

Email director.international@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7629

The Director International is responsible for the overall direction of International Office and for overseeing the implementation of the University's international development strategies and linkages with institutions world-wide.

Jason CushenJason Cushen

Director International

Vicki van RooyenVicki van Rooyen image

Executive Assistant to the Director International

Inbound Programmes Co-ordinator

Position vacant

Please direct enquiries about Inbound Programmes to:
Email inbound.programmes@otago.ac.nz

Kellie Bain

International Visits Specialist
Email kellie.bain@otago.ac.nz

International Marketing and Recruitment

Email international.marketing@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7000

The International Marketing and Recruitment team promotes and develops the international profile of the University and contributes to the internationalisation of the University by managing:

  • Marketing strategy and recruitment of international students from a diverse range of countries, across all levels and subjects of study
  • Strategic international partner relationship management, including Business Development opportunities (e.g. articulation agreements, Study Abroad partnerships, scholarship organisations, international education agents)
  • Integrated marketing and communication strategy for international students, including seminars, exhibitions and events; student ambassador programme; social/ digital campaigns; content and publications

Megan Smith 2020 imageMegan Smith

Manager, International Marketing and Recruitment
Email megan.smith@otago.ac.nz
Room G09

Hannah NguyenHannah Nguyen

Team Leader – International Marketing
Email hannah.nguyen@otago.ac.nz
Room G10

Sarah Ewing 2023 imageSarah Ewing

Regional Market Manager – Europe and South-East Asia
(Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, and Brunei)
Email sarah.ewing@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

teri higginsTeri Higgins

Regional Market Manager - Americas (on maternity leave until November 2024)
Room 1.50

Tam LeTam Le

Regional Market Manager – South-East Asia, Africa, and Pacific Islands
(Vietnam, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar, and Philippines)
Email tam.le@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

Victoria McEnieryVictoria McEniery

Regional Market Manager – South Asia, Middle East and onshore New Zealand
Email victoria.mceniery@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

Alba Suarez GarciaAlba Suarez Garcia

Regional Market Manager – Americas
Email alba.suarez@otago.ac.nz

Joyce ZhangJoyce Zhang

Market Manager – Greater China and South Korea
Email china.rep@otago.ac.nz

Jasmine Chu 2021 imageJasmine Chu

Business Development Manager – Pathway and English Language Centre
Email jasmine.chu@otago.ac.nz

Kylie PatersonKylie Paterson

International Marketing Co-ordinator
Email kylie.paterson@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

Meg Hellyer 2022 imageMeg Hellyer

International Marketing Co-ordinator
Email meg.hellyer@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

Meg Kennelly

International Marketing Co-ordinator

Sophia TaingSophia Taing

International Marketing Co-ordinator
Email sophia.taing@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

Phillipa KeaneyPhilippa Keaney

International Student Recruitment Co-ordinator
Email philippa.keaney@otago.ac.nz

Rakesh BanerjeeRakesh Banerjee

International Student Recruitment Co-ordinator
Email rakesh.banerjee@otago.ac.nz

Iris Ye

International Student Recruitment Co-ordinator

International Admissions

Prospective student enquiries

Enquire now

Current students, students with offers, and Otago staff

Email international.admissions@otago.ac.nz

International Student Services

The International Student Services team provides extra support to meet the specific needs of the University's international students and enable successful student experiences.

Services and support include:

  • Enrolment and orientation support for all international students
  • Student visa information and support
  • Insurance and US Financial Aid (eligible students only)
  • Drop-in sessions and appointments with International Student Advisers
  • Engagement activities and community events
  • Welfare support and pastoral care
  • Manaaki New Zealand Scholarships

For after-hours emergency international student support: contact the Proctor's Office / Campus Watch on 479 5000

Danielle Yamamoto KerrDanielle Yamamoto Kerr

Manager International Student Services
Email danielle.yamamotokerr@otago.ac.nz
Room G07

International Student Support

In-person, virtual and email support for all New Zealand-based and online international students.

Student Support
Email international-support@otago.ac.nz

Simone FreemanSimone Freeman

Team Leader International Student Support
Email simone.freeman@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

Chelsea McRaeChelsea McRae profile photo.

International Student Adviser
Email chelsea.mcrae@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

Sam MehrtensSam Mehrtens image

International Student Adviser
Email sam.mehrtens@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

Donna ScottDonna Scott

International Student Adviser
Email donna.scott@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

Claire SlocombeClaire Slocombe

International Student Adviser
Email claire.slocombe@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

Jill Spencer profile photo.Jill Spencer

International Student Adviser
Email jill.spencer@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

Student Visa and Compliance Services

Key contacts (all international students):

Student Visa
Email student.visa@otago.ac.nz

Insurance
Email international.insurance@otago.ac.nz

US Financial
Email us.financial.aid@otago.ac.nz

Anna MacLachlanAnna McLachlan

International Compliance and USFA Specialist

Kathy HalliwellKathy Halliwell

Student Visa and International Compliance Specialist
Room G01

Dinah Dunavan

International Compliance Services Officer
Room G01

International Mobility and Partnerships

The International Mobility and Partnerships team facilitates inbound and outbound student mobility by:

  • Enabling Otago students to study overseas (Otago Global Student Exchange).
  • Connecting with students from partner institutions and facilitating their application to study at Otago on exchange.
  • Managing relationships with international exchange partner institutions.
  • Providing advice on matters relating to international partnerships, including proposals for new partnerships.

Celia CortelettiCelia Corteletti

Team Leader International Mobility and Partnerships
Email celia.corteletti@otago.ac.nz
Room G05

Anno Hoek-SimsAnna Hoek-Sims

Exchange Adviser: Asia-Pacific, Europe and Scandinavia
Email anna.hoek-sims@otago.ac.nz
Room G06

Louisa SamsonLouisa Samson profile photo.

Exchange Adviser: Australia, Americas, UK and Ireland
Email louisa.samson@otago.ac.nz
Room G06

Chriss Hamilton image 2021Chriss Hamilton

International Partnerships Co-ordinator
(Matariki Network of Universities; New Zealand Centre at Peking University; Otago activity of the Auckland Confucius Institute; other international partnerships)
Email international.partnerships@otago.ac.nz
Room G06
Usual hours of work: Mon–Fri, 9am–1pm

International Programmes Development Team

The International Programmes Development Team supports Academic divisions and departments to design and develop new (or adapted) offshore pathway and articulation programmes for international students.

Ron Mitchell

International Programmes Development Manager
Room 2.01 Black/Sale House, 100 St David Street
Tel +64 3 479 9156
Email ron.mitchell@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Clucas imageRachel Clucas

International Programmes Development Adviser
Room 2.03 Black/Sale House, 100 St David Street
Tel +64 3 479 5949
Email rachel.clucas@otago.ac.nz

Ben Levy imageBen Levy

International Programmes Development Adviser
Email ben.levy@otago.ac.nz

Back to top