Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic Key Dates

Student looking away smiling

Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan 2017 Feb 2017 Mar 2017 Apr 2017 May 2017 Jun 2017 Jul 2017 Aug 2017 Sep 2017 Oct 2017 Nov 2017 Dec 2017

August

Wednesday, 31 August
University of Otago International School classes end
Wednesday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Teacher Education programmes in 2017

^ Top of Page

September

Thursday, 1 September
Applications due for Music Performance papers in 2017
Monday, 5 September
Second semester resumes
Thursday, 8 September
Degree Planning Days: 8 to 14 September
Thursday, 15 September
Applications due for first year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2017
Friday, 16 September
Last day to withdraw from second semester and full year papers (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

October

Saturday, 1 October
Applications due for second year classes in Law and the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2017
Friday, 14 October
Lectures end before second semester examinations
Wednesday, 19 October
Second semester examinations begin
Thursday, 20 October
Quality Forum - Academic Audit
Monday, 24 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Saturday, 12 November
Second semester examinations end
Tuesday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2017

^ Top of Page

December

Thursday, 1 December
Applications due for application to LLB(Hons) programme in 2017
Thursday, 1 December
Returning Students Course Advice Planning Days - Christchurch
Friday, 2 December
Returning Students Course Advice Planning Days - Christchurch
Monday, 5 December
Live streaming of 10, 14, & 17 December 2016 Graduation ceremonies
Monday, 5 December
Returning Students Course Advice Planning Days - Auckland
Tuesday, 6 December
Returning Students Course Advice Planning Days - Auckland
Thursday, 8 December
Returning Students Course Advice Planning Days - Wellington
Saturday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or first semester subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2017
Saturday, 10 December
Applications due for the first year of the Bachelor of Physical Education programme in 2017 (later applications will be considered if places are available)
Saturday, 10 December
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2017
Wednesday, 14 December
Graduation ceremonies
Thursday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval
Saturday, 17 December
Graduation ceremonies
Wednesday, 21 December
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers

^ Top of Page

January 2017

Wednesday, 4 January
University reopens
Sunday, 8 January
Enrolment/Orientation seminar for new international students
Sunday, 8 January
Latest arrival date for new international students studying at Summer School
Monday, 9 January
Summer School classes begin
Friday, 13 January
Summer School fees due
Sunday, 15 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking first semester or full years papers
Monday, 16 January
Last day to add or delete Summer School papers (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

February 2017

Monday, 6 February
Waitangi Day
Tuesday, 7 February
Last day to withdraw from Summer School papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 10 February
Fees due for study beginning in the first semester
Friday, 17 February
Summer School classes end
Saturday, 18 February
Summer School examinations begin
Monday, 20 February
Academic Orientation Week 20-24 February
Monday, 20 February
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students 20-24 February
Monday, 20 February
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in first semester
Monday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 20 February
Convocation Ceremony
Tuesday, 21 February
Campus Tour
Tuesday, 21 February
Campus Tour
Tuesday, 21 February
Campus Tour
Tuesday, 21 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 22 February
Course Advice Day
Wednesday, 22 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 22 February
Support and Services Expo
Wednesday, 22 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 22 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 22 February
Campus Tour
Thursday, 23 February
Summer School examinations end
Thursday, 23 February
Course Advice Days
Friday, 24 February
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking first semester and full year papers (late fee may apply)
Friday, 24 February
Preliminary lectures
Monday, 27 February
Formal lectures begin

^ Top of Page

March 2017

Friday, 3 March
Last day to add first semester or full year papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 17 March
Last day to delete first semester papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)
Friday, 24 March
Last day to delete full year papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

April 2017

Friday, 14 April
Good Friday, mid-semester break begins
Monday, 17 April
Easter Monday
Tuesday, 18 April
Otago Anniversary Day observance (Dunedin)
Monday, 24 April
First semester resumes
Tuesday, 25 April
ANZAC Day

^ Top of Page

May 2017

Friday, 5 May
Last day to withdraw from first semester papers (5pm deadline)
Saturday, 13 May
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 20 May
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

June 2017

Friday, 2 June
Lectures cease before mid-year examinations
Monday, 5 June
Queen's Birthday
Wednesday, 7 June
First semester examinations begin
Thursday, 15 June
Applications due from students taking only second semester papers for a programme subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2017
Wednesday, 21 June
First semester examinations end
Sunday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only second semester papers
Friday, 30 June
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only second semester papers (late fee may apply)

^ Top of Page

July 2017

Monday, 3 July
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 6 July)
Monday, 3 July
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in second semester
Thursday, 6 July
Course Advice Day
Monday, 10 July
Second semester begins
Monday, 10 July
Fees due for second semester only enrolments
Friday, 14 July
Last day to add second semester papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 28 July
Last day to delete second semester papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August 2017

Saturday, 19 August
Graduation ceremony
Saturday, 26 August
Mid-semester break begins
Thursday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Teacher Education programmes in 2018

^ Top of Page

September 2017

Friday, 1 September
Applications due for Music Performance papers in 2018
Monday, 4 September
Second semester resumes
Friday, 15 September
Applications due for first year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2018
Friday, 15 September
Last day to withdraw from second semester and full year papers (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

October 2017

Sunday, 1 October
Applications due for second year classes in Law and the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2018
Friday, 13 October
Lectures end before second semester examinations
Wednesday, 18 October
Second semester examinations begin
Monday, 23 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November 2017

Saturday, 11 November
Second semester examinations end
Wednesday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2018

^ Top of Page

December 2017

Saturday, 9 December
Graduation ceremonies
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2018
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due for the first year of the Bachelor of Physical Education programme in 2018 (later applications will be considered if places are available)
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or first semester subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2018
Wednesday, 13 December
Graduation ceremonies
Friday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval
Saturday, 16 December
Graduation ceremonies
Tuesday, 19 December
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)