Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic Key Dates

Student looking away smiling

January February March April May June July August September October November December

January

Friday, 3 January - University reopens for 2014

Friday, 3 January - Due date for return of Summer School Course Confirmation forms by post

Monday, 6 January - Summer School Course Confirmation and start of classes

Monday, 6 January - Academic Week 2 Begins

Monday, 6 January - International Student Welcome & Information Session

Friday, 10 January - Summer School Fees due

Monday, 13 January - Last day to add or delete Summer School papers

Monday, 13 January - Academic Week 3 Begins

Wednesday, 15 January - Due Date for applying for Returning Students taking only first semester or full year papers

Monday, 20 January - Academic Week 4 Begins

Monday, 27 January - Academic Week 5 Begins

^ Top of Page

February

Saturday, 1 February - Last day for Course Approval for Distance Learning students

Monday, 3 February - Academic Week 6 Begins

Monday, 3 February - Last day to withdraw from Summer School papers

Monday, 10 February - Fees due for study beginning in the first semester

Monday, 10 February - Academic Week 7 Begins

Friday, 14 February - Summer School classes end

Friday, 14 February - First Semester Course Approval

Saturday, 15 February - Summer School 2014 Examinations begin

Monday, 17 February - Academic Week 8 Begins

Thursday, 20 February - Summer School 2014 Examinations end

Friday, 21 February - Preliminary classes are held for full year and first semester papers

Monday, 24 February - Applications open for May 2014 graduation ceremonies

Monday, 24 February - Academic Week 9 Begins

Monday, 24 February - Formal lectures begin for full year and first semester papers

Friday, 28 February - Last day to add first semester or full year papers

^ Top of Page

March

Monday, 3 March - Academic Week 10 Begins

Monday, 3 March - 2014 Improvement Grants

Tuesday, 4 March - Quality Forum - LOCALS Peer Programme

Sunday, 9 March - Applications close for May 2014 graduation ceremonies

Monday, 10 March - Academic Week 11 Begins

Friday, 14 March - Last day to delete first semester papers with refund of fees

Monday, 17 March - Academic Week 12 Begins

Monday, 17 March - 2014 Music Programme - We Will Remember Them - Ravel and Vaughan Williams

Friday, 21 March - Last day to delete full year papers with refund of fees

Monday, 24 March - Academic Week 13 Begins

Friday, 28 March - 2014 Faith Thinking - Conflict, Community & Church Growth - Studies in Paul's letter to the Galatians

Monday, 31 March - Academic Week 14 Begins

^ Top of Page

April

Wednesday, 2 April - Walk this Way: Shoes in Fashion Seminar

Monday, 7 April - Academic Week 15 Begins

Friday, 11 April - 2014 Faith Thinking - Christianity among New Zealanders from Samuel Marsden to Destiny Church

Monday, 14 April - Academic Week 16 Begins

Friday, 18 April - Good Friday

Friday, 18 April - Mid-semester one break begins

Monday, 21 April - Academic Week 17 Begins

Monday, 21 April - Easter Monday

Tuesday, 22 April - Otago Anniversary Day observed (Dunedin)

Friday, 25 April - Anzac Day

Friday, 25 April - OUSA Anzac Day service

Monday, 28 April - Academic Week 18 Begins

Monday, 28 April - First semester resumes

Monday, 28 April - 2014 Faith Thinking - Bonhoeffer - A 20th Century Theological Giant

^ Top of Page

May

Friday, 2 May - Last day to withdraw from first semester papers

Saturday, 3 May - Live Streaming of Graduation Ceremonies

Monday, 5 May - Academic Week 19 Begins

Monday, 12 May - Academic Week 20 Begins

Monday, 19 May - Academic Week 21 Begins

Monday, 26 May - Academic Week 22 Begins

Monday, 26 May - 2014 Music Programme - Bella Hristova - Violin Concerto World Premiere - Anthony Ritchie and Sibelius

Friday, 30 May - First semester lectures end

^ Top of Page

June

Monday, 2 June - Queen's Birthday

Monday, 2 June - Academic Week 23 Begins

Wednesday, 4 June - Mid-year examination period begins

Monday, 9 June - Academic Week 24 Begins

Sunday, 15 June - Due date for second semester applications

Monday, 16 June - Academic Week 25 Begins

Wednesday, 18 June - Mid-year examinations end

Monday, 23 June - Academic Week 26 Begins

Monday, 30 June - Academic Week 27 Begins

^ Top of Page

July

Friday, 4 July - Second Semester Course Advising

Monday, 7 July - Second semester begins

Monday, 7 July - Academic Week 28 Begins

Thursday, 10 July - Fees due for second semester only enrolments

Friday, 11 July - Last day to add second semester papers

Monday, 14 July - Academic Week 29 Begins

Monday, 21 July - Academic Week 30 Begins

Friday, 25 July - Last day to delete second semester papers with refund of fees

Monday, 28 July - Academic Week 31 Begins

^ Top of Page

August

Monday, 4 August - Academic Week 32 Begins

Monday, 11 August - Academic Week 33 Begins

Friday, 15 August - Applications close for Bachelor of Physical Education in 2015

Monday, 18 August - Academic Week 34 Begins

Monday, 25 August - Applications close for admission to Teacher Education programmes in 2015

Monday, 25 August - Academic Week 35 Begins

Monday, 25 August - Mid-semester two break begins

^ Top of Page

September

Monday, 1 September - Academic Week 36 Begins

Monday, 1 September - Applications close for admission to Music Performance papers in 2015

Monday, 1 September - Second semester resumes

Monday, 8 September - Academic Week 37 Begins

Friday, 12 September - Last day to withdraw from second semester and full year papers

Monday, 15 September - Academic Week 38 Begins

Monday, 15 September - Applications close for admission to professional Health Sciences programmes in 2015

Monday, 15 September - Applications close for admission to Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy in 2015

Monday, 22 September - Academic Week 39 Begins

Monday, 29 September - Academic Week 40 Begins

^ Top of Page

October

Wednesday, 1 October - Applications due for second year Law and third stage Social Work in 2015

Monday, 6 October - Academic Week 41 Begins

Friday, 10 October - Lectures end prior to second semester examinations

Monday, 13 October - Academic Week 42 Begins

Wednesday, 15 October - Semester Two 2014 Examinations begin

Monday, 20 October - Academic Week 43 Begins

Monday, 27 October - Labour Day

Monday, 27 October - Academic Week 44 Begins

^ Top of Page

November

Monday, 3 November - Academic Week 45 Begins

Saturday, 8 November - Semester Two 2014 Examinations end

Monday, 10 November - Academic Week 46 Begins

Saturday, 15 November - Applications close for second year classes in Surveying in 2015

Monday, 17 November - Academic Week 47 Begins

Monday, 24 November - Academic Week 48 Begins

^ Top of Page

December

Monday, 1 December - Academic Week 49 Begins

Monday, 8 December - Academic Week 50 Begins

Monday, 15 December - Academic Week 51 Begins

Monday, 22 December - Academic Week 52 Begins

Thursday, 25 December - Christmas Day

Friday, 26 December - Boxing Day