Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people


Professor Hugh Campbell Head of Department
Rural sociology; agriculture; food; neoliberalism; governance
Chair in Sociology

Associate Professor Chris Brickell Deputy Head of Department

Pam Jemmett Department Manager

Helen O'Sullivan Administrator

Jocelyn Diedrichs Postgraduate Administrator, Administrator for Children's Issues Centre

Bronwyn Craig Administrative Assistant

Academic staff

Gender Studies Staff:

Associate Professor Chris Brickell Gender Studies Co-ordinator
Sexuality, gay studies, masculinity, histories of adolescence

Associate Professor Annabel Cooper
Cultural politics and history of gender; place, memory and identity; film and media; screen narratives of the New Zealand Wars

Dr Fairleigh Gilmour
Crime/gender and the media; feminist criminology; sex work governance

Dr Rebecca Stringer  Criminology Programme Co-ordinator
The social construction of victimhood; feminist theory and politics; Nietzsche – life and works

Dr Yuki Watanabe
Teaching Fellow
Gender in popular media; masculinity and femininity of Japan

Social Work Staff:

Associate Professor Nicola Atwool

Professor Amanda Barusch
Chair in Social Work

Anaru Eketone
Maori economic and social development; Kaupapa Maori

Dr Emily Keddell  Social Work Programme Co-ordinator
Child welfare; inequalities; social policy; decision-making; multiple ethnicities

Elizabeth Liddell 
Professional Practice Fellow

Dr Patrick Vakaoti
Youth participation; street-frequenting youth; pacific social and community work

Dr Peter Walker
Community development; animals and social work; social service organisations

Shayne Walker Chair - Teaching & Learning Committee

Suzi Wereta
Teaching Fellow

Fieldwork Team

Liz McCafferty Fieldwork Team Leader

Susan Wason

Sociology Staff:

Dr Melanie Beres
Sexual consent; sexuality; sexual violence; qualitative research methods

Dr Marcelle Dawson Chair - Postgraduate Committee and International Advisor
Social movements and popular protest; grassroots politics; social identities; South Africa

Associate Professor Anita Gibbs
Adoption; FASD (Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder); auto-ethnography; social work research

Dr Bryndl Hohmann-Marriott Sociology Programme Co-ordinator
Family demography; childbearing; quantitative research methods

Dr Katharine Legun
Environmental sociology; agri-food; economic institutions; science and technology

Dr Lesley Procter

Dr Natalie Smith
Teaching Fellow

Associate Professor Martin Tolich
Research ethics; vulnerable families; qualitative research

Children's Issues Centre Staff:

(see also Children's Issues Centre website)

Associate Professor Nicola Taylor Director
Family law; parental separation; children’s views

Dr Megan Gollop
Children; families; socio-legal research; parental separation; parenting; digital media

^ Top of Page

Honorary Staff

Associate Professor Stephanie Wahab
Honorary Research Associate Professor

^ Top of Page