Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Sun striking the Clocktower

Terms of Reference

  • To consider nominations for honorary degrees and make recommendations to the Senate and Council.
  • To issue invitations after recommendations from the Committee have been approved by the Senate and the University Council.


  • The Chancellor (Convener)
  • The Pro-Chancellor
  • The Vice-Chancellor
  • A Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Two lay members of the University Council
  • One member of the Senate from each of the Academic Divisions

Further information

Enquiries about the award of University of Otago Honorary Degrees should be directed to the Secretary to the Council.


Back to top